13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

When I made this recipe up, I was not too sure about it....it was very broth-y, BUT when I let it "set up" it was JUST RIGHT !
I used it in an Antipasto-Style Penne recipe last night and I could not have been more pleased !
Thank you for sharing this one ! I know I will use it over and over and over !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lesliecoy February 02, 2012

Used this recipe to make Shrimp Pesto Pasta. It is such a good low fat alternative to traditional pesto sauce. Lots of flavor without all of the oil. I agree with the other reviewers to add a little less broth so it will be thicker. Next time we're trying it on pizza.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmbew September 13, 2011

I roasted the garlic and toasted the pine nuts. I also used less broth- just added it in until I was happy with the consistency. My whole family loved this over cauliflower and requested it again tonight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzybee October 30, 2007

Made this for dinner tonight - it was very tasty! I added a bit more garlic (we love it) and also toasted the pine nuts before hand. It was a tad watery for my pupose (pouring over roasted potatoes), but I'm sure it would be the perfect consistancy for use over pasta since pasta always seems to soak up so much of the pesto. I'll be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merron-iru kami June 17, 2007

Excellent low fat pesto! I added a 1/8 teaspoon of grated lemon peel to add a little depth to the sauce and pinch of red pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andreafortunoff April 07, 2013

I used this recipe to make Chicken Pesto. It was wonderful. Thank you very much for this great tasting low-fat version of my favorite sauce. My trainer will approve.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJ #6 February 10, 2013

This recipe is AMAZING. I am a huge fan of pesto sauce and this BY FAR is the best ever. I don't even notice its low fat because the taste is incredible. I am pouring it into an ice cube tray - makes 6 cubes - and for lunch, I plop two cubes into my meal - a portion size of protein, veggie, and carb - and everything just tastes better....its so fantastic. Thank you for this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjax5 August 19, 2012

Great flavor! I think next time I may use a little less broth but other than that - GREAT and I WILL be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xClarax July 27, 2011

Yum! I've never had fresh pesto sauce before so I'm not sure what I was shooting for but it is tasty! Here's what I changed: We don't have pine nuts where I live but I saw in other recipes that you can use sunflower seeds instead....which I did. I used the broth from bullion and added lemon pepper salt. This will be great over chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Expat Cook January 11, 2010

I thought this was a great alternative to the full fat version! I added more garlic and salt & pepper to add more of a punch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef amfox August 04, 2009
Low Fat Pesto Sauce