Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Fat Pesto Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Fat Pesto Sauce

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2012

      When I made this recipe up, I was not too sure about it....it was very broth-y, BUT when I let it "set up" it was JUST RIGHT !
      I used it in an Antipasto-Style Penne recipe last night and I could not have been more pleased !
      Thank you for sharing this one ! I know I will use it over and over and over !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      Used this recipe to make Shrimp Pesto Pasta. It is such a good low fat alternative to traditional pesto sauce. Lots of flavor without all of the oil. I agree with the other reviewers to add a little less broth so it will be thicker. Next time we're trying it on pizza.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      I roasted the garlic and toasted the pine nuts. I also used less broth- just added it in until I was happy with the consistency. My whole family loved this over cauliflower and requested it again tonight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      Made this for dinner tonight - it was very tasty! I added a bit more garlic (we love it) and also toasted the pine nuts before hand. It was a tad watery for my pupose (pouring over roasted potatoes), but I'm sure it would be the perfect consistancy for use over pasta since pasta always seems to soak up so much of the pesto. I'll be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      Excellent low fat pesto! I added a 1/8 teaspoon of grated lemon peel to add a little depth to the sauce and pinch of red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      I used this recipe to make Chicken Pesto. It was wonderful. Thank you very much for this great tasting low-fat version of my favorite sauce. My trainer will approve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      This recipe is AMAZING. I am a huge fan of pesto sauce and this BY FAR is the best ever. I don't even notice its low fat because the taste is incredible. I am pouring it into an ice cube tray - makes 6 cubes - and for lunch, I plop two cubes into my meal - a portion size of protein, veggie, and carb - and everything just tastes better....its so fantastic. Thank you for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      Great flavor! I think next time I may use a little less broth but other than that - GREAT and I WILL be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Yum! I've never had fresh pesto sauce before so I'm not sure what I was shooting for but it is tasty! Here's what I changed: We don't have pine nuts where I live but I saw in other recipes that you can use sunflower seeds instead....which I did. I used the broth from bullion and added lemon pepper salt. This will be great over chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      I thought this was a great alternative to the full fat version! I added more garlic and salt & pepper to add more of a punch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Made this today with whole wheat pasta. It was great. I added some pepper and cilantro too. Tasted great without all that oil. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Love this! I was looking for a low-fat pesto sauce and tried this. It is great and no one missed the olive oil. We used to top a pan seared red snapper fillet and we broiled both together briefly. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      This recipe was AWESOME!! I served it over some whole wheat ravioli and it was just perfect! I doubled the garlic, though, because my husband and I LOOOOVE garlic. I like Izzybee's review, mentioning serving it over cauliflower--I'll definitely need to try it that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Fat Pesto Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.5
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    66%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 7.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 252.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites