8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We really liked these. Even with equal amounts of whole wheat pastry flour and white flour, they were light and fluffy. Perfect sweetness and a lovely hint of spice. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Christmas September 14, 2011

Ours came out a little dry but still a good taste for low fat muffins. Thanks for this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty October 29, 2009

Delicious pear muffins. I used only all-purpose flour, skim milk, and a sprinkle of brown sugar on top. Baked 18 minutes (at high altitude) and they are terrific.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christiedkj September 03, 2009

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe. This in one of my go-to recipes at the school. I have made many variations (different kinds of fruit) and they all turned out. Also used rice milk too. I hope you don't mind, but I am adding it to my work cookbook (with credit to you), so if I am not at work someone can make these muffins for the kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tasb August 30, 2009

These muffins were great! I added a few tablespoons of brown sugar to the mixture as well and only used all-purpose flour ( I didn't have wheat flour). Then before I baked them, I sprinkled ground flax seeds and brown sugar on top. They were really great. Thank you Kree!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sumatra March 19, 2009

I "veganized" this recipe by using soymilk and an egg replacer mix. I decided to leave out the ginger, add some vanilla, and fold in walnuts with the pear. It turned out great! I know I kind of massacred the original recipe, but it was great start to go on. Oh yeah, I also used a whole wheat pastry flour and whole grain spelt flour combination instead of what it called for. Yummy and pretty healthy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prairiedog77us December 06, 2008

I used three tiny pears (mashed with a fork), cardamom instead of nutmeg, and played with the flour a bit. 1 cup cake and pastry (trying to use it up), 1/2 cup all purpose, and 1/2 cup whole wheat. These are very good. They get crisp outside, but inside they are tender and fluffy like clouds. A good basic muffin that would make an excellent springboard for your imagination. Next time I will try adding a bit of molasses and maybe some ground flax seed or nuts but they are very nice as-is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DancesInGarden September 24, 2006

These were delicious and easy to whip up...just so happened I had a pear that needed to be used. I reversed the proportions of all-purpose and whole wheat flour and they were still moist and light. Even my 7th grader likes them for breakfast! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooks&bakes in upstate October 14, 2005
Low Fat Pear Muffins