Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Fat Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Fat Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2013

      Found this while searching for a healthy treat for my sweet-tooth lovin' hubby. He needs to watch his sodium, fat and cholesterol so adapted as follows: Used all whole wheat flour, cut the salt down to a pinch, added 1-2 T. ground flax (blended in with butter and sugar), used 1/2 cup brown sugar plus 1 T. honey (no white sugar), used cinnamon applesauce (no sugar added kind), and added 1/2 cup chocolate chips, 1/2 cup craisins, and a little bit of roasted pepitas (because they were already mixed with the craisins!). These cookies are moist, flavorful, filling and hubby says he likes them better than the real thing! I recommend adjusting sugars/honey depending on how sweet you like yours... This will be a new favorite in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Great recipe, loved it. I made some modifications which came out close to this but could have used a tad more sugar. I wanted to make Congo Bars but forgot I lacked the proper pan so I fired the whole shabang into a pie plate and made a pie of sorts. Also used 1/2 wheat and added a bit of wheat germ. So, I changed this quite a bit but the foundation was great. Thanks, this is a keeper, I'll go straight 'by the book' next time :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Love this recipe. It's light and not heavy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2014

      These cookies are great: easy to prepare and bake, delicious, low fat (kinda)! I am no chef or baker by any means. However, I have a sweet tooth and can always eat a cookie or chocolate. So, I have been on a quest to find the perfect lower fat, lower calorie, chocolate chip, oatmeal cookie. After trying 3 others, I have decided this one is the best. I used whole wheat flour and added a cup of chopped walnuts. I also put the ball of dough in the freezer for 30 minutes before baking. (Got that tip from another recipe.) The next time, I won't add as much white sugar; somewhat sweet for even my sweet tooth. But, this is by far the best recipe for oatmeal, chocolate chip cookies I have seen, followed, and eaten! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

      Loved it! Left out the salt cause there's already salt in the butter. Also used half Irish oatmeal because I ran out of the other. Will make these from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      Awesome chewy cookies! I modified it so it would be healthier. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and also used less sugar, about 1/4 cup each, but they were still perfect. I also used only 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (semi-sweet) and added about 1/4 cup golden raisins. Delicious! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      Unbelievable!! These cookies are such a wonderful surprise. I followed the recommendations of others and use 1/3 cup apple sauce and used yogurt instead of butter. I also added a bit of wheat germ. Simply wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      Awesome! I used a half cup chocolate chips/half cup butterscotch chips. 12 minutes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      My husband is at the store now buying another round of staples so that we can make our fourth batch of these great cookies! I find that you can use all wheat flour and Splenda sugar products and still get an awesome and low-fat dessert. If you find your cookie dough is too dry, double up on the applesauce and drizzle a bit of EVOO. These are really filling and a great "in-between meals snack" when you probably need an energy boost too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      These are really good %u2013 I used chopped dates and walnuts in instead of chocolate chips the first time and that worked well too. They are really soft when first out of the oven and need to cool completely to firm up before you move them around, or else they fall apart easily. I used brown sugar/splenda blend for the brown sugar, regular white sugar, and used up some egg beaters for the egg. Also half w/w flour and half all purpose flour. No one would think you'd used so little fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      This is a really great recipe that you can also change up. I used half whole wheat flour and half regular flour because I just wanted to use up the rest of the whole wheat. I didn't have applesauce, so I used some organic yogurt that I had. I used 2 tblsp of vegetable oil instead of butter. I added coconut, pecan pieces, white and milk chocolate pieces. They came out super good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      These are some of the best cookies I have ever eaten! They were so soft and chewy and perfect with the chocolate chips. Thank you so much - I will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Just pulled cookies out of oven: made some alterations: used 1 tsp of cinnamon: 1/4 c. of Agave Nectar & 1/4 cup wht. sugar: 1/3 c. of Apple/Carrot baby food, Increased flour to 1 1/4 c. They turned out awesome! This was the first time to use Agave, im totally pleased with the result!!! Yummmy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      I JUST got done baking these and wanted to get on here immediately to leave my review! These are SOOO good! I used 1/2 cup white flour and 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour, and increased the applesauce to 1/3 cup. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. These are very, very delicious. I ate two immediately and am sure I will be eating more after dinner. You'd never guess that these only had 2 T of butter and no oil. Thanks for posting this recipe, these cookies are delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      These cookies are delicious! Like other reviewers, I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour, and I cut the white sugar to 1/3 cup. I used mini-chocolate chips, which I think suited this cookie perfectly. As I was making these, the dough seemed really dry, and I had to wet my hands and the tablespoon in order to form cookie dough balls on the baking pan without having the dough stick to my hands. However, the cookies turned out perfectly! They are a little on the drier side, but I prefer cookies that way. :) The hint of cinnamon really makes this cookie special!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      I was looking for just this list of ing. for a low fat cookie recipe, and I found this one. I did make a few changes, by using half wheat flour and using stevia in place of the white sugar and using half the chocolate chips. They came out wonderful and my wife loved them too! Yes men can bake also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      My husband thought these were better than the cookies that call for 1 cup of butter/shortening. Very tasty, chewy. You just have to watch out how many you eat, because you could easily eat too many and consume the same amount of calories/fat grams. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Great recipe! I used whole wheat flour instead and i left out the 1/2 cup of white sugar. The sweetness was perftect. No need for more sugar than that because you have the chocolate chips in these cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      My 2-1/2 year old and I just finished baking these. I gave him one and he rated it as an Mmmmmm ;) As for them not being low fat, I think most of the fat is coming from the chocolate chips. They certainly are lowER fat with only 2 T of butter instead of a cup. I used raisins instead of chocolate chips because that is what I had and my kiddo loves raisins. I also used just a touch of Pam because I didn't have any parchment paper. They are maybe a little on the extra sweet side, although I did use raisins so maybe that is why. These taste great though and I will make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      I'm only giving these three stars because they are not low fat. With nearly 4g of fat per cookie and 2g of saturated fat, just three of these bad boys are enough to bust any diet. Great cookies, not so great for the thighs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Fat Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (34 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.7
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    27%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 10.2 mg
    3%
    Sodium 103.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    51%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes