Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Fat Oat Bran Apricot Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Fat Oat Bran Apricot Muffins

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2002

      I was intrigued by the fact that there was no flour in the recipe, and because of that, they're very soft and bit crumbly, but that doesn't matter the slightest bit because all the fruit flavours mingle together beautifully to make really tasty muffins! I halved the recipe and omitted the apricots and egg substitute, which I didn't have. I also used orange juice and regular milk. This tastes great for breakfast along with a steaming cup of coffee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2003

      Thanks for this excellent recipe! I have been making these muffins a lot, and each time they come out perfectly. The batter is moist and so is very easy to handle (no overmixing!!), and the muffins are really tasty despite the low sugar content. I love the taste of oatbran, but porridge was all I could do about it. This recipe offers a great alternative! And thanks again for giving me hope out of the other disappointing muffin recipes ^^

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      I made this as directed with an egg and again with many substitutions including instant oatmeal and wheat flour. Both times it came out fine, moist. It is an extremely flexible recipe, but beware that the substitutions affect the flavor balance making it only ok sometimes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      These are very good low fat bran muffins! I used applesauce instead of fruit juice and blueberries instead of banana, apple and apricots (though I do want to try it as written as well!!) And I used two egg whites instead of the egg substitute. If I make them again, I may experiement with fat free yogurt for some of the mil to help make them less crumbly. But the banana might do that too. However, they are quite delicious and filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      These muffins were good for only 2 WW points, but not really my taste. I used prune juice and a pear instead of the apple. If you like bran muffins, these may be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      Yes, these were moist, but I thought they had no identity... Not really banana muffins, neither really apple muffins, nor apricot...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      A healthy muffin that makes a great breakfast! Moist and fruity, I also liked that it was made from all oat bran, no flour. I used OJ, otherwise as stated. Froze the leftovers and have been heating them up for breakfast. I'll make these again and again! Thanks, LDJ, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2004

      I substituted freely with the recipe, using chocolate chips in one batch and cranberries in another instead of apricots, soy milk instead of real milk, and apple sauce just because it was handier. Very moist and fruity muffin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2004

      I used a sugar substitute for this recipe, raisins in place of apricots (didn't have any) and blue berries instead of Banana(High sugar). And it became totally non-fat, no sugar and for all on diet it's great news! It tasted really really good too! I'm gonna bake this very frequently. Thanks a million for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      This is a terrific recipe. Over the past couple of weeks, I have tried many different bran muffin recipes and have concluded that this one was the best. This is definitely a keeper. My own variations were small. I added 4 single packets of Splenda to ensure sweetness, though it probably didn't need it. As a fruit juice, I used orange juice. Instead of dried apricots, I used an equivalent amount of dried apples, since I had recently dehydrated them myself. For the small grated apple in the recipe, I used a Granny Smith apple. The recipe allows much latitude on juices and fruit one can use. Since we're on a low-carb diet, we will use only this bran muffin recipe from now on. It is definitely a 5-Star Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2003

      This is a keeper! I used 1/4 cup of splenda instead of brown sugar and my grandbaby's pear juice for the fruit juice. Yummy! These are going on a camping trip with my husband, son and son-in-law. These are the best oat bran muffins I've fixed and I've been fixing them for 13 years. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2002

      How can something so good for you be so tasty> these will be a morning regular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      Wonderful!! These were a great big hit!! And good for you too, what else could you want? Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2002

      I made these for my 4-year-old yesterday, and she asked for them again today!! I couldn't get to the kitchen fast enough because they were excellent and healthy to boot! Thanks for a great kid-friendly, healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Fat Oat Bran Apricot Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (856 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 112.8
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    30%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 112.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fruit juice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites