15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was just what Iwas looking for. I didnt add any sugar or Splenda as I was trying to keep the carbs down, I used a Marzetti Napa Valley Pasta sauce which was fantastic, Dreamfields lasagna noodles, and cottage cheese instead of Ricotta. I also doubled the meat and cheese, and used 3 eggs. Fabulous!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Misty JMK December 01, 2008

This was a pretty good recipe. My only complaint is that 1 tbsp nutmeg seemed too strong, and was the dominant flavor in the entire dish. I would cut back on the nutmeg. That being said, I will use this recipe again as a base and make small adjustments on the ingredients based on my preferences.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shane.manning June 24, 2009

My family enjoyed this, but as we are carnivores, we used 2 lbs ground turkey to make a serving for 6. How you can use only 1 pound for 12 people is beyond me, really. I did not use Splenda and I just threw some fresh uncooked spinach over the cheese layer and it worked fine. A really nice lasagna for a change of pace.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mborwick May 07, 2008

This was an AWESOME recipe! The only things I changed: took out the nutmeg/green peppers. Substituted fresh garlic versus the powder. I simmered my sauce in a crockpot for 2-3 hours before adding in the meat. Everyone who ate it, loved it! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nella_fede October 05, 2010

I had never had ground turkey before, but it was fabulous! My store didn't have whole wheat lasagna noodles but it still turned out great! The spinach was a great addition! My roommate and my parents loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
broke student February 28, 2010

I made this with regular ground beef instead of turkey because of a sale. I also used no salt added tomato sauce to keep down the sodium. Hubby gave it a thumbs up and said he didn't expect the lasagna to taste that good. He liked it so much that he even ate leftovers for breakfast and he usually skips breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Azucena Overman February 12, 2009

This was very tastey and time consuming. I chose to make homemade tomato sauce. I made a couple mods, used no splenda just sugar (almost 2 T.), used Barilla No Boiling Required lasagne noodles. I don't like using frozen spinach so I bought a 5 oz container of fresh baby spinach and tore it into small pieces, and lastly, I used 4 eggs instead of egg substitute. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alkaloidqueen August 28, 2008

Excellent recipe! All the ingredients were in my kitchen... well, the ones I used from the recipe were. I never follow a recipe to the letter. I love finding meals that traditionally cause heart-attacks get a make-over, are delicious and easy to make! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Devon S March 02, 2008

I really enjoyed this lasagna. I could not find fat free ricotta cheese so I used low fat. I used 2 egg whites in place of the 1 cup of egg substitute. I did not add the Splenda and the recipe turned out just great. I put my thawed spinach in a paper towel and squeezed it until it was completely dry because I did not want the spinach to make the lasagna soupy. Anyone who is watching their calories should make this! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherismiley February 16, 2008

I liked this recipe, but I would change some things next time I make it. One, I would cut out the Splenda and just use real sugar to remove the acidity. The Splenda taste overpowered the dish and I had to salt like crazy to mask it. Secondly, the meat sauce doesn't need to simmer for a whole hour. 30 minutes should be enough. This was a hit with 3/4s of my family - my Dad doesn't like spinach and wouldn't eat it. His loss though, we all thought it was pretty good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fortysevens February 08, 2008
Low Fat Lower Carb Turkey Lasagna ( Whole Wheat Lasagna Noodles)