Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Fat Low Sugar Chocolate Apple Snack Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Fat Low Sugar Chocolate Apple Snack Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2010

      This cake has a very nice consistency: Its moist and soft on the inside with a lovely crunchy top. I baked mine as muffins and that worked out very well. The taste was quite nice but I didnt really care for the cocoa powder, cause I felt it made the cake a bit bitter. I think next time I will leave it out and add some more spices to the cake.
      THANK YOU for sharing this guiltfree treat with us, Kasha.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      Excellent snack cake! It was very moist and packed a lot of flavor! I too used Splenda as the sweetener and, based on previous reviews, I upped the 'sugar' content to 3/4 of a cup and found that just right. It was so easy to make, the ingredients were all on-hand and without the sugar and fat, I definitely will make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Good points - quick to make, low sugar (made for diabetic uncle) and good texture. Not so good - based on earlier comments, I increased the sweetener to 1 cup (I used Splenda instead of sugar.), but still thought it just wasn't sweet enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Super for when you NEED chocolate cake but can't afford the calories! I ran two Gala apples through my food processors and used the puree in place of the apples and applesauce (about 1-1/4 cups total). Didn't peel the apples. Came out moist and yummy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      For a healthy cake, this was really good. very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      This was awesome! Even my boyfriend who is getting tired of my constantly making "healthy" stuff kept eating this cake! When I took some to a friends house he got mad that I was taking his cake away. I tinkered a little did not have white flour so used buckwheat flour and one tablespoon of vital wheat gluten instead and did not feel like peeling an apple so replaced it with 3/4c of homemade applesauce. This will be making a regular apprence in our house. Thanks Luv 2 bake I will be checking out your other recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      I tried yesterday and it tasted bland and horrible. If I were you I would not try this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      A good start for a recipe. I didn't care for the apple part, but think that maraschino cherries would make a nice addition and maybe some nuts. I think the chocolate cake is great for being lighter I would just try different mix ins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      I made this as muffins/cupcakes, also increasing the amount of cocoa. I like them as a healthy chocolate treat, but there could be more flavour to them and they are not sweet enough for everyone. (I also didn't peel the apple and don't think that made much difference)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      Made this to satisfy DH's cake craving. It was so quick and easy, and didn't completely crash my diet. Thanks for this healthier alternative--we enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Maybe I just have a sweet tooth, or maybe I did something wrong, but the cake part was just not sweet enough for me at all... it kind of just tasted like cocoa and flour. I'm not sure why, I really followed the directions and ingredients exactly, so it just may be my preferences. BUT.. even still, the cake part was very very moist and dense, which I loved. Maybe next time I will try adding in some splenda or sugar with the flour mixture to make it taste sweeter, like a cake/brownie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      I ommitted the cocoa and only baked it for 25 minutes and it was AWESOME!!! This will definitely be a quick and easy go to recipe in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      I couldn't believe that it tasted so good. I used 1/2 cup of natural applesauce (because I used the individual cups and didn't want to waste any). Thanks for sharing...this gives my son, who is on a low-fat, low-calorie diet, another desert choice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      I also used Splenda in place of the sugar. Even my Splenda-hating husband liked it! I too was amazed at how moist it was... especially since things are often too dry when substituting Splenda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      This is a really different but good cake. The cake had almost a brownie like texture as it was very moist. And the amount of cocoa made it have a perfect fudgy chocolatey taste. The one thing I did differently was add 1/4 cup sugar into the batter, then toss that last 1/4 cup of sugar with the apples. The 1/2 cup of sugar does create a very low sugar cake which isn't all that sweet, which I liked. I made this for company the second time however, and doubled the sugar as I knew that is the sweetness most people expect. I would have given this cake 5 stars, as it is excellent the day you make it, but I found after it sat for a day, the next day the cake tasted slightly bitter. A great low fat low sugar different apple cake!! Thanks Kasha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      This turned out okay. I baked them for the time stated and I put a cake tester in the middle and it came out clean. However, when I tried some whenever an apple piece was it wasn't cooked very well. The taste was there but I don't think I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      Wow. I love this recipe. It is so low cal and yet so good at the same time! I did make a couple of changes - I used Splenda in place of the sugar, all whole wheat flour and applesauce in place of the diced apple. I baked it in mini loaf pans and it only took about 12 minutes for them to be cooked through. I was amazed at how moist this cake was with no fat to help it out. Thank you so much for posting this. I will make it over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Fat Low Sugar Chocolate Apple Snack Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.5
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    94%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 272.5 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 13.3 g
    53%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites