15 Reviews

I am not a big cinnamon fan, so omitted it, and added instant coffee to the warm water, and this was super!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pro home chef January 06, 2012

Loved this! My husband is watching his cholesterol, so I made this as his birthday cake. I made it exactly as written with no changes or substitutions. I made 2 8 inch layers and it took about 25 minutes to cook. When it was cooling, it looked really dry so I wasn't expecting it to be too good. It is delicious! The cake is super moist, and has a ton of flavor. I did not tast the cinnamon in it. My only complaint is that my frosting was very soft, even after chilling. I used the white chocolate pudding mix and garnished with fresh raspberries. I will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eileen0862 February 24, 2014

I am very amazed with this cake. As being low-fat as well as low cholesterol it got a rich, brownie-like taste with texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lowcholesteroldiet February 05, 2013

Must try,,Im just found this recipes after my friend posted to me, its sound delicious..but if its better than that we can substituted for ready-mixed. Thanks for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yuwadee_jimm November 24, 2012

I made these for a co-worker's birthday since she is currently trying to lose 20 pounds. I didn't want her to feel guilty and I wanted her to have a treat. These were spot-on! Everyone raved and she loved them. Would make again and again and again and again... :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmleo August 24, 2011

These were FANTASTIC!!! I served them at my daughter's birthday because I have been on Weight Watchers and wanted to find a cupcake that I enjoy without blowing my points for the day. They were super moist and chocolatly. Next time I have an adult party I want to try with coffee in place of some of the water. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mascara October 23, 2010

Very yummy cake! Do not be afraid of the can of pumpkin that is added, you do not taste it at all. Enjoyed the hint of cinnamon and the topping is so good. I did use vanilla pudding because I couldnt find the white chocolate but will be keeping an eye out for it. A tasty and healthier treat when I am craving chocolate. Thank you CoffeB for sharing this recipe with us! Made and reviewed for kittycatmom's Chef Pick Tag game on KK's website.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 03, 2009

delish!! you would never know it had pumpkin in it, a great treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba November 21, 2009

Ok, let me say first that I was just a little hesitatant about the chocolate/pumpkin combo! Wow! What a delicious cupcake! I frosted mine with cream cheese frosting, because I gave them to my nieces school for their bake sale - minus the one I kept to try! Thanks CB! I'll be making these again soon! Made for KK Chef's Pick Tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom November 20, 2009

I have to say that I was a little hesitant to make this. I love pumpkin pies, but wasn't too sure about in a chocolate cake! How wrong I was!! This is delicious! Wow! What a recipe! I didn't even frost it. I like to eat ice cream and in order to eat less, I split open a piece of this cake, put part of it in the bottom of a bowl, place some ice cream on top of that, then the other part of the cake. Then I top it all with a spoon of fat-free "cool whip". Really a great cake! Thanks so much for posting, there is life after a day of dieting! I have made this numerous times. I had not made the frosting until this time. I just didn't think it needed it. Wow! This is the best frosting! So lite, but so good! Made this time for Chef's Pick Tag.Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER November 18, 2009
Low Fat, Low Cholesterol Chocolate Cake/Cupcakes