15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband loved this. I think he ate 5 bowls. Next time I will add a little cayenne or chili powder, just to add a little more flavor. Also, I didn't have any bacon, so I fried a little ham and threw it in. The flavor was great.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Canuck October 24, 2010

Loved this soup. Super easy, super delicious. I did use 14.5 oz cans of broth and the consistency was just right. Thanks for posting this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' March 04, 2011

I haven't used my crock pot in YEARS & I sure missed it! Hubby loved this recipe but I think there's an error--the broth should be in 14 1/2 oz cans! The consistency of my soup was more like mashed potatoes since I used the amt of broth listed--but the taste was still very good according to hubby. Turkey bacon was a great topping but I didn't mix the cheese in. I think cheese tends to make soup difficult to re-heat so he used it as a topping instead. Thank u very much for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS November 10, 2010

This was phenomenal! I actually substituted the reduced fat shredded cheddar for fat free & the sour cream with 0% fat Greek yogurt. The BF, his 5 yr old & 8 yr old (both of whom refuse to eat anything but pigs in a blanket and pizza) absosmurfly LOVED it!! I was totally stoked! Thank you for submitting an awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissa.alexander October 31, 2010

Fabulous, full-flavored soup! No one here knew it was low-fat because it was certainly high taste! I wanted this for lunch, so I slow simmered it on the stovetop. It was perfect. Another keeper, Caroline! MERP'd for All New Zaar Cookbook Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick October 31, 2008

We all enjoyed it very much! Thank you for sharing a super yummy flavorful recipe! We had leftover turkey bacon, so we decided on a soup & sandwich dinner with BLTs. Perfect for our cold New England winter evening. Definitely a 5 star rating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcairns68 January 08, 2015

OK, writing a 2nd review, because I absolutely recommend this recipe to anyone, not just people looking for a light version! It works fantastically with fat free evaporated (NOT condensed, just to make sure no one makes a mistake) milk and I always have that on hand. My son requests this at least 2 times a month and that's terrific as he's very picky since starting a new medicine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochCook May 13, 2014

this my my new favorite recipe! for years I made a baked potato soup from my better homes and gardens cook book, and it was just milk, cream, butter, cheese.... Anyway it was up in the 700' s for calorie count. so I was very happy to not only find this recipe, but I was ecstatic to discover it taisted even better!!! I didn't follow the recipe to a tee however. First of all, out of habit, I baked my potatoes in the oven first. then when I realized I wasn't supposed to I decided to let them cook anyway but I took them out before they were really soft. the skin peeled right off and I cut them into 1" by 1" chunks. they were still firm enough that the chunks I cut stayed whole. I will probably do this again next time because the middle pieces cooked through till they were perfectly soft, and the end pieces that were softer from the oven cooked even more and when ever I stored the soup the self mashed so I was able to skip the mashing step. it turned out perfect!!! Also, I had no white paper so I just used black and I also added two things. dill weed and carrots. the dill weed was an ingredient used in my previous recipe, and I LOVE the flavor it adds! I added the carrots for extra nutrients. they were delicious! my husband and daughter who "don't like soup" both had two servings!!! I am so happy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbshuck January 22, 2013

Very good! I added the sour cream, chives and bacon right into the soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird October 21, 2012

Worked perfectly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 April 25, 2011
Low-Fat Loaded Baked Potato Soup