Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low-Fat/Lite Alfredo Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low-Fat/Lite Alfredo Sauce

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2014

      AMAZING!!! Blended all the ingredients in my vitamix blender and then moved it to the stove. I did sautee some fresh garlic to add to it and also an extra tablespoon of cornstarch. Trust me, I have made so many versions of Alfredo sauce and not even the full fat ones have turned out this good! MAKE THIS!!! It tastes just like the restaurant!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      WINNER WINNER! I whipped this up in my magic bullet until it was perfectly smooth, heated it up on the stove and had dinner on the table in minutes. My husband didn't know if was low-cal, and I didn't tell him. He asked for more. This is a keeper. Thank you for posting!! I am passing it on to my friends and family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      EXCELLENT! I was so pleased with this recipe--for those of us who are counting our fat grams, this is a gem. I doubled the recipe and substituted 1/2 cup fat free half-and-half for 1/2 cup of the milk, used two tablespoons of cornstarch for extra thickness, and used a generous pinch of Mrs. Dash seasoning and plenty of crushed garlic. We served the sauce over angel hair pasta and hubby and I really enjoyed it. Thanks for posting, Tiffany! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2012

      delicious- I was almost out of skim so I used whole milk. It was just a wonderful easy recipe and satisfied my craving for fettucine alfredo. Next time I will add some Salsa Tartufa from Italy that i brought back with me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      I read the reviews before I made this and followed Chef Mom 5's advice and used the Creamy Cajun Chicken pasta but replaced it with shrimp and coated about 16 shrimp with a teaspoon of cajun seasoning. My alterations were that I doubled the mixture, (because I had read there wasn't enough sauce) used a teaspoon of minced garlic instead of the garlic powder, and instead of two cups of skimmed milk I used 1.5 cups skimmed and .5 cup of heavy cream which is what I had in the fridge. I also used heaped tablespoons of cornstarch and it ended up a little thick BUT it was delicious!! Love this combo and I have half of the sauce still in the fridge for another time!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      This was terrific! I used it with Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta, Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta in place of the heavy cream and butter. The whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      I am so glad I found this recipe. It is true, it is not very thick, but you can always play with the ingredients to personalize it to your own taste. I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased. I added some crab meat chuncks to it and I was very happy with my meal! I might add my own twist to it next time around, but even so, it is a good base to start with. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I liked the taste of this recipe, with the addition of a large clove of garlic. When I made it the first time it wasn't quite thick enough, so I threw some low fat shredded mozz. cheese into the mix towards the end. I got an oppurtunity to make it again very soon- I was only cooking for two and it was hardly enough sauce to cover half a plate of pasta each! So I doubled the recipe this time, and added more cornstarch and water near the end in lieu of the cheese since I had ran out. Will use this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      The sauce was a bit thinner than I would like and the taste was a bit weak. I don't think this one will join my favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      WOW, this was awesome. I was really surprised how good this was. I loved the fact that I didn't have to use cream or flour. I just a clove of fresh garlic in the sauce and it was so yummy. I do want to mention to be careful with the salt as some/most cottage cheese already has salt. Next time I will not add so much of my own. This was easy and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      This tasted very good. Everyone liked it even my very picky eater.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Hands Down The BEST sauce I have ever had!!! This beats ALL the other store bought sauces I have ever had. My family LOVED it and that is a shock!!! Thanks so much for sharing this!! I used No fat cottage cheese and non fat dry milk instead of the others and it was great!!!!! Thanks again! We wont be buying any sauces again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      We loved this Alfredo sauce. I used it as a base for a vegetarian lasagna. It was easy to and quick to make and tasted great. I won't ever bother with the higher fat version again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      This was great! I used 2% milk, just to make it creamier, but I'm sure it would still taste as great with skim. I added about 1/8 cup of roughly chopped sun dried tomatoes to the food processor. When I cooked the sauce the tomatoes gave it a really nice color. I used this instead of the store bought Alfredo sauce I normally use on my chicken pizza. This is way lower in fat and WAAAAY lower on fake, unneeded ingredients! I also always have these ingredients on hand, so that's another bonus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      This definitely tastes like a low fat recipe. I was really surprised at how thick the sauce was, which was nice to see for a low fat recipe. However, we found it to be quite bland. Perhaps next time adding a clove or two of real garlic could enhance the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      Thanks for posting! It was very yummy and im sure we will make it again. I mixed angel hair pasta and broccoli and poured the sauce over it! Healthy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Thank you so much for sharing this! I can't remember the last time I had alfredo sauce since it's so high in fat. This is probably lower in fat than low fat alfredo canned sauces. This was very easy to put together & the ingredients were readily available. I used 1/8 tsp garlic salt & used 1/4 tsp basil. I don't know if alfredo sauce is supposed to be "thinner" than regular tomato sauce, because this wasn't thick like regular spaghetti sauce. It certainly wasn't runny, though-so I think it's fine. I plan on using it for recipe# 2020844 (chicken lasagna) & I hope it works!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      I had to use fat free sour cream and lite cream cheese instead of cottage cheese because I didn't have any cottage cheese in the house. It added some fat, but I think it came out well. I'm not sure if you can call it alfredo sauce though.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      I'd add less salt next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      I'd never thought about using cottage cheese, and wow... I'm glad I tried this recipe! I used a bit of white pepper as well and a pinch of nutmeg (personal taste). The consistentcy was thicker than most low fat sauces. I will be using this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low-Fat/Lite Alfredo Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 111.8
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    35%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 15.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 466.2 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes