10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Truly Excellent!! We all adored this and it got rave reviews from everyone. I served ours over egg fried rice for a perfect meal. I also made extra sauce as we love sauce and this sounded delicious and I am glad that I did as it was so yummy. I used a mix of honey and syrup as that is what I had on hand and it worked perfectly with the lemon, not overly sweet and still allowed the tartness of the lemon to come through. I loved the ease of baking this but would probably pan fry it next time to add colour to the chicken .I had to turn the grill on to brown as the chicken breasts stayed very uncoloured baking them. They did however come out very moist and it was only that aesthetically I prefer a bit of colour in the chicken for presentation. Apart from that this was a fantastic meal, that we will definitely be enjoying on a regular basis. Thanks for sharing Crafty Lady 13 a fabulous dinner that got a huge thumbs up in my house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef December 04, 2010

Yum, the lemon sauce was beautiful and went wonderfully with the chicken and some rice! I made the full amount of sauce with half the amount of chicken to serve two. The only change I made was to use a tablespoon of honey instead of the corn syrup which isn't widely available in Australia. Apart from the low-fat aspect the method was a great taste compromise between no batter at all and the thick coating you often get at Chinese takeouts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J September 07, 2013

I substituted honey for the light corn syrup and found it a little too sweet, but when I added a tsp of soy sauce to it, my family thought they were in heaven. I will definitely be making this again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunriselilly May 19, 2009

Wonderful! Love the combination of flavors. Mixed all the lemon sauce ingredients at once, zipped it in the microwave, then stirred quickly to thicken then added the splenda at the last mix to avoid any aftertaste from the heat. Sauce is perfect. Not too strong or lemony. We'll be having this again, Crafty Lady 13 and thank you for sharing :) Made for Aus Recipe Swap #26.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma March 12, 2009

This was a winner for my hubby and I. The sauce had real good flavor - just enough lemon. I used whole wheat flour in place of regular flour and the cornstarch (we're doing SB) and doubled the lemon sauce to server over brown rice. It was nice and easy to boot! thanks for posting, it's definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debi H March 03, 2008

I had made this and forgot to review! This is TERRIFIC and very low fat too! Simple, quick, easy to make, No frying!!! All you do is bake! THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder March 01, 2008

ooh this was yummy! it was like a chinese food restaurant's lemon chicken kinda! i loved the sauce! such good flavor!! i'll be posting a picture up soon! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeliBug March 01, 2008

Believe it or not, I've never had lemon chicken before, not even at a Chinese restaurant. This was very nice. The sauce had a nice light tasting lemon flavor as stated. Appreciated the fact that it was baked. Always looking for ways to make fried foods less unhealthy but at the same time retaining the way it's supposed to taste. My husband said this did. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama February 29, 2008

This is a great recipe. I asked my bf how many stars and he said more than 5 stars this is fantastic better than from the chinese takeaway. So I was chuffed Thanks for the great recipe crafly lady made for CUPID'S CHOICE BEVY TAG feb 08

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonya01 February 18, 2008

Enjoyed this dish. Definitely a healthier alternative than the deep-fried version at Chinese restaurants covered in gloppy super sweet sauce. I usually add more garlic, but in this case would omit it next time to let the light lemony flavor come through a bit more. Made as directed and would thicken a bit more next time. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 17, 2008
Low Fat Lemon Chicken