Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Fat Honey Oat Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Fat Honey Oat Scones

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2006

      Very good - I love the chewy texture the oats give to these. I also added about a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, along with a 1/2 cup of chopped pecans and a 1/4 cup of cinnamon chips, along with the raisins. DH liked them too -- next time I will sprinkle them with cinnamon sugar after brushing the tops with milk before baking. I cut the dough into 8 wedges, and they are a nice size for breakfast or a snack. Thanks for posting - I will be making these again for sure! -M =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Ummm! So tasty! I love these! I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used skim instead; also couldn't find my dried cranberries in the cupboards, so I didn't put in any fruit either. The only thing is I thought they would be bigger--I only made ten wedges and couldn't imagine the little slivers that would be twelve. I will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      I'd never made scones on my own before, but I thought I'd give it a shot. Well, your recipe allowed this teenage chef to produce a fabulous meal! I was so glad to find a scone recipe without sugar. We have a big family, so I doubled it to make one batch with dried currants, and one batch plain. Instead of egg substitute, I used two eggs, and instead of all white flour, I replaced a cup of flour with whole wheat (those measurements are if you're doubling the recipe like I did). I also cut each round into six scones instead of twelve. They rose so beautifully and had a perfect "knobby" golden crust. My two-year-old brother called them "skunks," but that didn't seem to reflect any negative opinion on his part: he gobbled them up! My mom was quite impressed that they contained neither butter nor oil, yet were so tender and flaky. Thanks so much for this great recipe! I'll definitely be making it again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      very good. tastes much better after cooled and reheated. when these are fresh out of the oven they don't taste as sweet. i've made them with dried cranberries and they were good, but my latest variation is apple and cinnamon (one small, finely-chopped, granny apple and cinammon to taste).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      Am constantly on the lookout for good low fat recipes and I definitely found one in your Honey Oat Scones. I used raisins as I didn't have any dried cranberries and they turned out lovely. Nice texture and delicious taste. Will go great with a cup of tea for a light snack and will definitely be a perfect "on the run" breakfast when I am rushed in the mornings getting ready for work. Thank you Carianne for this wonderful recipe that I know I will be making on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      I thought this was an excellent low fat recipe for one of my favorite treats - scones! I used 1 cup white flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat and the oats. I added about a full cup of dried fruit (a mix of apricot and currents), because when I skimp on fruit my family calls them "stones" instead of scones!! I was able to score the dough across in diameter 4 times and ended up with 8 large wedges. I will be interested in exploring the same basic recipe approach to other flavors of scones in the future!! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      These are good for a low fat recipe. I am spoiled by scones that have all the fat from butter, but these are a nice alternative. I dont' care for the chewy-tough texture that they have but that is what happens in low fat recipes. I may try them again with regular buttermilk, that may give it a little more what I am looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      These came out very bland for me. However, I did substitute some whole wheat flour to add some additional nutrients, so I will try again as written and see how it goes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2003

      Very good. I used dried cranberries and my family loved them. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Fat Honey Oat Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 118.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    63%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 99.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fat-free buttermilk

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes