10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was really, really good! YUM! It had an intense banana honey taste with just a hint of malt from the brown sugar. We loved it! As my bananas were really sweet I reduced the honey and sugar quite a bit and that worked out lovely. Although I, too, had to add quite a bit more milk to the dough, my bread was very moist in the end and Ill certainly keep this recipe handy.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing a keeper with us, Lily!
Made and reviewed on recommendation of Sydney Mike and for the fruit event in the photo forum July 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula July 09, 2011

This was nice but I did have to add quite a bit more milk than asked for...I used about 3/4 cup just so I could actually mix it. I used Splenda in place of sugar and self -raising flour so left out the baking agents. It was okay to eat but very dry so I ended up toasting it ans serving with cream cheese. I think this would be better with just a tad bit oil or butter or perhaps even applesauce to give a bit more moistness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** March 12, 2010

I'm nut usually big on banana bread unless it's dressed up somehow, but I think the use of whole wheat flour & the honey (used a very dark, flavorful one here) has changed my mind ~ Your recipe makes for A GREAT TASTING BREAD, & I really enjoyed the hint of pumpkin from the pie spice! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 27, 2010

This was okay. I used 1 tsp. pumpkin spice (thatz how i like!) Mine turned out rather dense.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoupCookie February 23, 2010

I LOVE this recipe! I'm such a sucker for banana bread and this is a great healthy alternative! It has become a favorite among my roommates and we're always looking for excuses to make it. We just let the bananas "accidentally" ripen. Thanks for sharing! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HealthyDoll7 February 26, 2009

Yum! Particularly enjoyed the honey flavor. Used whole wheat pastry flour. Easy to make. Halved the recipe, as I only had 2 bananas - worked fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Black Apron August 16, 2008

Wonderful! I didnt have any honey so I used splenda sugar and increased the milk to 1/2 cup. Was very moist and not too sweet, just right. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HulaHealthPrincess May 08, 2008

So easy and great tasting! Made it 3 times this week, for ourselves and some friends! I find that by adding more milk or water, the bread`ll turn out less dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cons_lim April 15, 2008

This was really good! Couldn't believe there was no oil in it. Great with some cream cheese or a big glass of milk. My boyfriend is diabetic, among other health issues, and is on a low fat low sugar diet. We try to eat alot of whole grains too, and this was a great way to use up extra bananas. Thanks so much...will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xraypinky April 20, 2007
Low Fat Honey Banana Bread