Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low-Fat High Fiber Blueberry Bran Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low-Fat High Fiber Blueberry Bran Muffins

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2010

      I don't believe in giving bad reviews if you change the recipe AT ALL. I hate when people say something bad after they completely alter a recipe. In this case, I actually did make a very very small modification, but since I'm giving it five stars, I see no harm in reviewing the basic premise of this recipe. The only real change I made was to add 1 Tbsp. of oil in place of 1 Tbsp. of applesauce to give it a little more of a traditional muffin feel. Sometimes when I use all applesauce, I don't love the texture in the end, so out of fear, I added a touch of oil. I also added about a 1/2 - 1 tsp. of cinnamon because I love cinnamon in everything. These are so yummy. I love blueberry and bran together.... really good with some apple jelly on them. Sounds wierd, but it's delicious! These were great, thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      FANTASTIC recipe! I typically revise recipes to eliminate egg yolks, sugar and fat and add (powdered) protein but I may try the recipe as written first to make sure its a good candidate for the changes I have to make. This recipe had so many rave reviews I decided to just give it a shot and it turned out to be the best muffin recipe I have ever used! For anyone looking for a sugar free, low fat muffin that does not double as a hockey puck, this is it!!! Following are the changes I made which resulted in a batch of 18 muffins at approximately 90 cal each (after all adjustments to the nutritional content):
      1) replace whole egg with 2 egg whites, beaten (this helps with texture as well as reducing fat and cholesterol);
      2) replace milk with low fat "Silk" (milk is fine but this has less cholesterol)
      3) replace regular brown sugar with "Ideal" brand brown sugar substitute (Ideal brand sugar substitutes are the best ever--no aftertaste)
      4) add 1 full scoop of "Designer" Whey Protein
      5) add 3 tablespoons plain low fat yogurt (maintains good texture with the addition of the powdered protein and adds protein as well)
      6) add an extra full cup of fresh blueberries (adds moisture and flavor with limited calories)
      7) add 1 teaspoon cinnamon

      I used the full 2/3 cup of the Ideal brown sugar substitute. With all of the changes I ended up with 18 muffins at about 90 calories each. They were moist, much lighter than most "healthy" muffins and very flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      The moistest, most flavorful low-fat, high-fiber muffins I've ever tried! I used half wheat bran and half oat bran and let it soak like the recipe said. I used all white flour but everything else was "as written". The rest of the family enjoyed them as well. This is one muffin recipe I *know* I'm making again! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      I replaced the applesauce w/ frozen pumpkin (have a ton in the freezer) and added cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. Yum! One point on WW, will add this as a staple to my diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      Yum! I pretty much followed the recipe, but I used 1/2 oat bran & 1/2 wheat bran and substituted Silk 35 calorie almond milk for the milk. I did let the bran soak first. My only TINY complaint is that I like a slightly sweeter muffin, but I only used 1/2 cup brown sugar because I only had regular brown sugar, not Splenda. I think next time, I'll try it with 3/4 cup Splenda BS. Otherwise, these were AWESOME. My husband ate SIX!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      What a great recipe! My husband has recently been diagnosed with diverticulitis and we have been asked by our doctor to increase his roughage intake so I was looking for bran recipes all over the net and this one is one of our favorites. Ever since I've found the recipe a week ago, I've made the muffins 3 times and it comes out perfect every time. I don't have any muffin cups, so I made a loaf instead which takes around 55 to 60 minutes at 375. No apples in my recipe and I've been making the less-sugar version. Also, instead of white flour I added 0.5 cups of ground-up oats. Very moist and yummy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      These turned out great! I used all white flour, though--just wanted to make the muffin a little lighter in texture. Moist and delicious...will make again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      WOW! I think this is the best low fat recipe I have EVER made. They are so delicious! I just couldn't believe there was no oil or butter in them. I've tried a lot of other recipes with apple sauce and usually they end up gummy and wet, but not these. I will definitely add these to my favourites. I did use all purpose flour as I was out of whole wheat, but I'm sure either would be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      Just made these. Used oat bran, unsweetened almond milk, the 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of 2/3 cup and subbed half low fat sour cream/half fat free blueberry yogurt for the apple sauce because I had none. Used frozen blueberries but set aside 3 muffins to use mini semi sweet chocolate chips instead because I was craving chocolate. Both kinds taste delicious. I had to add a bit of water because the batter was too thick and I made 12 muffins instead of 15. Baked for 19 minutes. Thanks for the recipe, I'll definitely make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      This wasn't bad! The whole grain taste caused it to go from a 5 to a 4, but its still very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      these are great I just made them and they are really delicious, I used 2% milk because its what I had and added an extra half cup of blueberries, only problem I had was that like someone else had mentioned the paper cups wouldn't come off without taking most of the bottom of the muffin, I think large blueberries may have been part of the problem because if how moist they are, next time I will try baking in the pan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      Very nice muffin, my 3 year old son ate 2 1/2 while they were still warm! I used 2% milk as that was what I had on hand, but followed the recipe otherwise. I did add the milk and bran together to sit while mixing the other ingredients, kept things nice and moist. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      The muffins turned out great! I usually try to follow a recipe the first time through but I didn't have several things on hand today. I think this speaks volumes for the recipe, it's definitely flexible. I used oat bran, but I was a few tablespoons shy, so I used flaxseed to make up the difference. I did soak the combination in milk. No applesauce on hand so I used vanilla flavored Greek yogurt instead, all 6 oz. I was out of wheat flour so I used 1 cup of all purpose flour. My only complaint, the muffins stick to paper muffin cups. Next time I'll try cooking directly in the tin. I think more blueberries, about 1 1/2 cups would be good or I'll try the addition of apples. Thanks for a tasty, healthy treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Well, these were really quite good for a high fibre muffin. I used wheat bran, only 1/2 cup of sugar (white and brown mixed together) and I also used two cups of blueberries. I got about 17 muffins out of this. I think I will be using this recipe often. I may try mixing in some nuts in another batch too. And I like the idea of adding in some apples too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      These were great. I also used oatbran out of preference and used almond milk. I didn't have any whole wheat flour so used all white and used 2 cups of blueberries instead of the one cup. I thought these would be heavy and dense which is the reason I increased the blueberries so my kids would eat them, but they were nice and fluffy light!!! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Are these really bran muffins? Really? These gems are delightfully moist and flavorful. I followed your lead and used 1/2 cup sugar. I had frozen blueberries, so that's what went in. Mixing the bran and milk together is genius! Really softens up the bran. I love these and looks like you have the approval of my 18 month old, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      I've made a lot of low-fat & high-fiber muffins. Neither my sons nor I really liked these. They do taste healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      I have been searching for an easy, moist bran muffin and this is the best ! I used 1/4C. Eggbeaters instead of the egg and a sprinkle of salt. I also used only the 1/2C of brown sugar and they are perfect. I used an oat and wheat bran combination. I got to try the strawberries next time as another reviewer did. Thanks for a great recipe which is a keeper in my family !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low-Fat High Fiber Blueberry Bran Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 98.3
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    95%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 12.7 mg
    4%
    Sodium 200.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites