Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low-fat Heavy Cream Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low-fat Heavy Cream Substitute

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2007

      I'm not gonna rate this because I think something went wrong when I made it. Everything went ok until I added it to my pasta dish (which I had cooled somewhat) when it curdled and went rather disgusting! Clearly I've made a grievous error somewhere as noone else has had that problem, so I will have to try again at some point.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      So I love this idea but I'm with Wendy-Bob I used this one time in a pasta dish and it was perfect.<br/><br/>I used it again in a slightly cooled pasta dish (removed from the heat) and it curdled and got gross. Not sure what I did differently. If you can get it to work for you it's perfect. I'm going to keep trying and next time I'll either temper in some hot liquid or try nuking it in the microwave for a few seconds to heat before stirring it in.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      I made ½ batch of this to use in Southwest Chicken with Chipotle Cream . As others have said, it works beautifully in a cream sauce! It took nowhere near 5 minutes (more like 1 minute ) to get thick and fluffy. It blended into the sauce quickly with no graininess. That said, the uncooked taste was not like heavy cream. The powdered milk whang was very predominant. I would not hesitate to use this again in a cooked dish but would be skeptical of using it an uncooked dish where the taste would be more evident. Thanks for posting a recipe that I am sure to use time and time again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      Love this! Worked well in my recipe. Thank you for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      This was really terrific. I used it in place of half-and-half in Northwest Salmon Chower (from TasteofHome.com--very good) and it couldn't have been better. I had only fat-free cottage cheese and it was still wonderful. Thanks so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      This was a great substitute for heavy cream when I didn't have any and didn't feel like getting any when I only needed a small amount. I did this in my food processor and it didn't come out as smooth but still worked for the soup I made. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      I will use this again and again. I added 3 tbs of non fat creamo to thin it out a bit but depending on what I am using it for I may or may not do that again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Used this recipe in Chicken Lazone recipe. It was great, I too was a little leary of using a substitute ,but this is definatly a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I am sooo glad to have found this recipe! I used this to make fettucine alfredo last night and my son didn't have a clue that it wasn't the usual 'heart attack on a plate' alfredo. It was so AWESOME to eat it without feeling like I had to run longer on the treadmill to make up for the indulgence. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      What a find! I can't believe how great this is. WONDERFUL texture; I had no graininess at all; it was wonderfully thick and smooth. I made this up to use in a creamed spinach recipe, but I'm now thinking of all sorts of uses -- and I'm going to try the grand science experiment this summer, and use it to make ice cream. Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Just used this to make Butter Chicken from Recipe 88578 on this site. It worked beautifully. This stuff whips up very thickly, almost like whipped cream or pudding and it incorporates into the sauce very well. I had no graininess at all, though I did use the high speed on my blender (which did not like running for 5 minutes!). Highly recommended. Thanks for posting. I will use this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I use this all the time in Indian sauce dishes to slash the fat cotent. The taste is identical -- the only difference is in texture, which can be slightly slightly grainy sometimes. Still well worth the trade-off -- especially because it is easy to prep.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I used this for the first time in Olive Garden Stuffed Chicken Marsala (Olive Garden Stuffed Chicken Marsala) and it tasted great. I found a recipe on another site that I was going to use that used ricotta, tapioca and water, but this is much more simple and my other one took one hr. Thank you very much, now I can make recipes that need hvy cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I found this little gem of a recipe one day and I have used it several times with no problems. I have only used it in cooked dishes so I dont know how it would perform otherwise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I was a little sceptical if this working, as well, but based on others reviews I thought I'd give it a shot. I used it in Cheesy Garlic Scalloped Potatoes and it worked very well. I'll use this again, without hesitation, in other cream based dishes. Thank you for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      I really wanted this to work and was a little skeptical at first but I was very pleased with the outcome!! After pureeing the ingredients the substitute is much thicker than heavy cream but works well after being completely incorporated into the dish. I used it in place of cream for Chicken Sausage Farfalle (#193880) with very tasty results. No one will ever guess that it is cottage cheese! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      Worked great! I used this for http://www.recipezaar.com/32735 and I couldn't taste a difference. Thanks, I'll use this recipe more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      Worked like a charm! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      The first time I used this was in a recipe where the heavy cream was a minor ingredient- and I couldn't tell the difference. This time I used it as the base for "Olive Garden Alfredo Sauce" Olive Garden Alfredo Sauce. I've made enough alfredo sauces to know that this substitute changed the texture a bit, but the flavor was terrific! Well worth it to lower the fat content of one of the most artery-clogging (and tastiest) sauces known to man!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      VERY GOOD! I used this as the cream in the recipe Superlicious Bacon mushroom pasta # 27212 and it turned out excellent! I will be using this again and again! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low-fat Heavy Cream Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.8
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    18%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 27.1 mg
    9%
    Sodium 866.1 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 19.9 g
    79%
    Protein 34.8 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes