10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Living in northern Michigan, up here it's all about the cherries. The modifications I made to this wonderful recipe do alter it, and to my way of thinking - improve on it. I cut down the sugar by half, added flaked coconut, dried cherries and cut back on the vanilla, adding a couple of drops of Almond extract. Almonds were also used instead of Walnuts. Finally since I never use spray on anything (it gums up my pans), I lined my cookiesheet with parchment paper and put the granola on that. When it's done and cooled, you simply lift the parchment and pour into a container.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WaterandTrees February 06, 2009

I used this on my first attempt at homemade granola and it was a hit! Since then, I'm going to guess that I've made this recipe around ten times. My boyfriend begs for this constantly. He doesn't want Whole Foods bulk bin granola anymore. I've added lots to this recipe, and my favorite things to add are other extracts, such as banana or almond, ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, flax seeds, wheat germ, chopped-up dates (for the last five minutes), & any other dried fruits are great with it. I like it in yogurt, he likes it in milk. Thanks so much for creating the breakfast we've eaten so many times!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather V. January 25, 2007

I was looking for a low fat granola recipe and this is it! I followed the recipe but used 1 cup regular splenda and 1/2 cup brown sugar. The walnuts add the perfect touch. Next time I will add some maple flavoring.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Latviete September 16, 2012

This is very good, though I do decrease the total amt of sweetener and use a mix of honey and brown sugar. The first time I made this I found it to be too sweet. I also recommend adding in more dried fruit and nuts. Watch the cooking time too. Definitely keeper and worth repeating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BKinVT May 11, 2012

Loved this recipe! I only wish it would have "stuck" together a little better....maybe I'll try honey next time. I did swap the walnuts for almonds and pecans and added dried cranberries. Oh...so darn good. I made it as snacks for a trip we're taking in 3 days but not sure if it will last that long in my house!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairestoneofall September 15, 2008

This is very good. I never thought you could make granola w.o. oil. I made some substitutions, though. Instead of walnuts I used a combo of pecans and almonds and I took a bit of the sugar out and I added some honey. After it cooled I mixed in some cranberries and raisins. Great for breakfast and for snacking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J August 28, 2008

Very tasty!! Extremely easy and better than the bulk from the market because you can control the additions. I made 1/2 a batch and it stores nicely for use (as the other reviewers have stated) over yogurt. I also mixed some of it after baking with sunflower seeds, nuts, raisins and other chopped dried fruit to make a trail mix snack for on-the go. I will definitely be using this granola cereal in recipes for cereal bars and muffins. Either whole or with a few twirls in a food processor/ blender it becomes a nice consistency to add to any baked good!! Yummy, light, low fat stuff - THANKS for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free May 19, 2007

MMMMMM! Really good. I was looking for a crunchy topping for yogurt and this works great and its healthy too. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen January 29, 2007

I made this specifically for my husband and he and the kids all love it. I used splenda brown sugar (at half strength as you are supposed to), and chopped pecans. Because there is no oil this does not clump as many granolas do. But no bother, it has great taste for over fat free vanilla yogurt! This also makes a lot of granola.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit August 07, 2006
Low-Fat Granola