29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sorry, we really didn't like this. It had a very lowfat consistency and didn't taste very good. Wish I had liked it more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KadesMom May 16, 2008

The name says it all...a low-fat gooey hot fudge cake. This recipe is excellent for someone who wants a choc. cake fix without the expense of major calories. To our family it looked like a low fat cake and it tasted like one. After tasting and talking it over w/ my hubby I improved it by adding fresh cut strawberries, a dollup of redi-whip and a dusting of powdered sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The lil Hound April 01, 2008

This was great. I substituted some of the sugar for Splenda just to cut down on the sugar. I couldn't believe how good it was.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking-BAG February 19, 2008

Yummy and easy to make. I substituted Splenda blend for the granulated sugar and it still tasted great. Even though this is a low fat recipe, dieters still need to be careful as it is loaded with sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CeeGee February 13, 2008

This is good. Easy to make with things found in my typical cupboard. I started making it while my kids were eating their salad and we served it after dinner and small break to walk the dog. Thank you for a delicious and low fat recipe. I will be making this again. I made it again, that's one per week. I guess we liked it. However, this time I increased the milk to 3/4 cup and it was better, lighter and more moist. I do not know if I would increase it to 1 cup next week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 February 05, 2008

SOOO GOOD! Gooey, fudgey, guilt-free. I used skim milk, and served it with fat free cool whip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CamaroChick December 07, 2007

Going to try making this on the weekend and I'll review the recipe then. Just wanted to let Bronny_Mac know that the recipe he/she's refering to is probably Hot Fudge Pudding Cake II. The only difference is the addition of 1/3 butter and whole milk instead of 1%.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judi90 November 01, 2007

Excellent dessert. You cannot even tell it is low fat. I even made with Splenda to make it even more low fat. Served with low fat vanilla ice cream served hot. Excellent recipe. Thanks for posting!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ice1chris August 07, 2007

I saw a similar recipe that used 1/3 c margarine, which isnt here, nor replaced by anything. Does it still work? The top comment suggests the sauce that the recipe I had that's similar, isnt here. This one also uses twice as much sugar. Could that be where the butter has gone>

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bronny_Mac July 21, 2007

My husband and I really liked this recipe. We ate it with Dreyer's Slow Churned Vanilla and a little FF Cool Whip on top. It was easy to make. Next time I make it, I am going to try replacing a little sugar with Splenda. I thought it tasted fine without the ice cream, but isn't the whole point of making this kind of cake to eat it with some kind of topping? Thank you for posting healthier recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
herbiechic May 20, 2007
Low-fat Gooey Hot Fudge Cake