Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Fat Fettuccine Alfredo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Fat Fettuccine Alfredo

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2007

      Very impressive! I used the exact ingredients listed and added some garlic powder. It smells and tastes like the real, loaded with fat thing! The only problem is that my sauce didn't thicken at all. So, I added 2 tbsp of cornstarch to 2 tbsp of milk and stirred it into the sauce. It thickened up very nicely. Thanx for sharing this recipe. I'm going to use this recipe (with the added cornstarch) from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Had this recipe years ago, was just talking about it to husband. Haven't made it for years, glad to find it again. We always loved it. Surprised some reviewers disliked it so much, but happens with every recipe, to each his own. It can be a little thin, but I remember that I would put it on the pasta (I liked it on small shells) and stir it up, then let the pasta sit for a few minutes. The starch would thicken it up. We also used to put a clove or two of garlic and red pepper flakes in the blender and puree it all up. Made it garlicky and spicy. Very nice. Also good if you dice up some roasted red pepper and toss it with the sauce & pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Just bad. I was not expecting full fledged Alfredo but something palatable nothing of the sort.very very very bad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      This turned out nicely. I made it with no-fat cottage cheese and 1% milk. I had Romano cheese, so I used that instead of Parmesan. I was going super low-fat with this, and made it with spaghetti squash and shrimp, and it came out great. I thickened the sauce a little bit with a dash of cornstarch, because I found it a little runny in its natural state. I will use this again when I'm craving alfredo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      This turned out great. DH was very impressed with how tasty it was. I tossed with penne pasta and sauted mushrooms, garlic & spinach. Yummy! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Made this last night and followed exactly, blending the ingredients in the blender. My sauce came out creamy and smooth. I did use the cornstarch to thicken and it was perfect. I added some sauteed shrimp. Very delicious for being fairly low fat, and quick to make. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      I tried straining the cottage cheese before blending, but the sauce still turned out more of a soup texture rather than sauce. I will try pressed cottage cheese next time. Sauce has a great flavour, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Yay, I can have fettuccine alfredo without all the fat!!! This was great. Had it with a salad and garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Oh my goodness, was this tasty. I can't believe how similar it tasted like the real thing! I would have never thought to use cottage cheese as a base instead of of whipping cream. Thank you so much for this wonderful side dish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      This was a great lowfat recipe, only thing is i didn't use all the butter and so it was a bit bland needed some salt. Will follow directions exactly next time. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Great taste+lofat too!! Used recons. powdered skim milk+margarine. Would be even greater adding tuna+canned peas to all of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      My family went crazy for this! I love that it is low fat but doesn't taste it. I doubled the recipe and added 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder. Next time I think I'll add a whole teaspoon instead. I also added come cornstarch mixed with a little watertwice but I almost added too much. The longer I cooked it the more it thickened up. Very tasty. We will make this again! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      good flavor easy to make not much more you can say.....it was a bit thin so i wounder if i did it wrong or it was to be that way ....o well we really like it thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      This was exactly what I was looking for. I didn't have cottage cheese, so I used my low fat ricotta and I think the results were marverlous! Thanks for posting and I am saving this one for future use! We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      This was very tasty! It was thin but that was to be expected since i used skim milk(fat free) There was alittle bit to much pepper, next time i would probly only use 1/4 tsp. Other than that I was very happy. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      Yes, that was great, almost perfect, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2005

      Wow,is right! I would give 10 stars too, just to offset the undeserved two star review. Judge it for yourself. This is an excellent low fat recipe; just add fresh herbs, chopped garlic & cracked pepper, and you will be amazed. I can only say to Katelyn1009, in future, please try a recipe twice before handing out a two star rating. Even the greatest of chefs have been known to forget an important step, or ingredient in a recipe from time to time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2005

      This just didn't work for us. I don't know if maybe I didn't puree long enough but the texture was not right. And when mixed with the butter, it did not blend and the butter looked oily. It also never thickened much.We felt that it was missing something so we added garlic and some italian seasoning. We wanted to like this,as other reviewers did but just couldn't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2004

      WOW! What a delightful surprise.....truly a delicious LOWFAT Alfredo! We prepared this in my little "Cooking School" and it was given 5*****'s around the dinner table. THANK YOU! I plan to use this in place of my traditional bechemal sauce in pastitsio.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2004

      I made this lat night and it was soo good!! I have a recipe for the real stuff but I don't make it often because it's so unhealthy. But now that I found this I can put it back on my menu's!! I served this as a side to baked chicken coated in Italian breadcrumbs and it was great. I will definately be making this again. Oh, I did add some garlc to the butter becuase we love garlic!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Fat Fettuccine Alfredo

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 410.9
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    32%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 124.3 mg
    41%
    Sodium 468.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 22.3 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites