16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe. It makes about 15 cups and is too much for my 5 qt crockpot. I have also made this on the stove with great success. Sometimes I add a bit more broth. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GibbyLou February 08, 2015

More of a stew than a soup. Great flavor. Almost didn't fit in my large crock pot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grantclev January 20, 2015

All three of us (my husband, daughter and myself) really enjoyed this recipe. It made a large amount with plenty of leftovers for additional meals. The only thing I would say is that it is more "stew-y" than "soup-y" because there wasn't a lot of liquid in the pot. This worked to our advantage for one meal -- we used a slotted spoon to serve up the good stuff over tortilla chips like nachos -- topped with some low fat cheese and a dollop of low fat sour cream -- YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
txmom2jamigirl January 17, 2013

Our family loved this recipe! My husband used jalepeno peppers as garnish along with the other suggestions. I was short on time, so I browned 1lb. Ground sirloin & used beef broth. I've had 3 requests for the recipe since I posted the picture on facebook last night. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaLou274 November 09, 2012

I left out the okra (personal preference) and added lemon, a little salt and some more spices after it was cooked. The fat free sour cream to top is a must, it really pulls the flavors together. I also took other reviewers' suggestions and doubled the broth, onion and red pepper and topped it with crushed baked tortilla chips. I think you could add even more broth. Nice meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito July 03, 2010

Wooza! This is GREAT. I added a jar of Across the Border Salsa and I added Vlasic Jalapeno Slices (hot). I used 1 carton of vegetable stock juice. The night before I slow cooked my chicken on low all night. During that time I cut/diced my onions, green, and yellow pepers so in the morning all I had to do was combine in crock pot. On my crock pot I have high, low, and warm. So all day I kept it on warm it savored all the flavors and when I got home we turned it on high and wa-la This was great. I purchased tortilla strips for the top and a dollip of sour cream. This is a KEEPER!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joann.king1 February 28, 2010

It was fantastic. Crazy easy to make. I did a bit of modification so that I didnt have to go to the grocery store. I only used about 1tbsp of the seasoning, that was all we needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nor Cal Kitten October 23, 2009

This was the best taco soup I have ever made! Super easy. I used black beans, kidney and pinto. All the tomatoes I used had green chilis in them. I also mixed in 1/2 package Hidden Valley Ranch salad dressing mix (dry). I plan on making this a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debutante8 October 14, 2009

I followed this recipe rather loosely but what I put together turned out great, really tasty & so easy to do, a keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** April 13, 2008
Low Fat Crock Pot Chicken Taco Soup