Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low-fat Cream of Asparagus Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low-fat Cream of Asparagus Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2010

      That was delicious. Just added 1 more teaspoon of salt and decreased the amount of garlic. By the way, you can use all parts of asparagus. Tried, tasted, approved.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This is a good and easy soup. I was feeling lazy, so I used garlic powder and accidentally spilled it, but it was still good. I used the whole asparagus. I had some huge pieces and used the vegetable peeler to peel the lower stems, and that made it edible.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

    • on March 30, 2010

      Agreed with the other reviewers the garlic is overpowering. I only used a 1/2 tsp minced and that's all I tasted after blending with the asparagus. So I added 2 tbsp of grated parmesan and a few more shakes of pepper when heating it on the stove and that kind of rounded out the flavor nicely. But if you want a more "pure" asparagus soup, skip the garlic or just use a little powder, not minced. Also, why not use all of the stems? Get more bang for your buck, it doesn't matter that the bottoms are tougher, you're blending it up anyway. I used all the stems and it was a beautiful green colored soup with a little bit of texture to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Made this tonight for first time. My family likes LOTS of flavor and my husband particularly likes creamy/cheesy things. I also wanted the recipe to go a little further so I added a vegetable boullion cube to the water in which I cooked the asparagus and didn't drain it. Most boiled out but there was about 3/4 cup left. And once it had thickened on the stove, I added 1/2 a cup of low-fat sour cream. This helped it be more creamy. Topped with a sprinkle of parmesan and I saved a few asparagus tips before pulverizing the rest to garnish. Really good. Husband wanted seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      I love this soup! I've been making it for myself to take to work. The only thing I do different to thicken it up a little bit is add a handful of low fat shredded sharp cheese. It adds the perfects touch. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars from me is the garlic is quite overwhelming.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Very good soup! Also very easy to make. I used a couple of dashes of garlic powder and a dash of onion powder and I think that was enough to give the soup a nice little hint without being overbearing. I also skipped the butter because I'm cutting fat in my diet and I didn't miss it one bit. Sprinkled dried chives on top for garnish. Thanks Kendra, I'll keep this one in my cookbook for future use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      This was good, though I think my fiance went a little heavy on the onions, but that was his fault and not the recipe's. We had to add a little extra flour to get it to thicken, as well. I think next time, we will add less garlic and less onion, so that the delicate asparagus flavor is more apparent. Otherwise, this was a very easy and quick recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Hi, I didn't want to go with stars because I "kidnapped" the recipe. I used olive oil for this, and also subbed 1.5 cups of unsweetened nonfat condensed milk for the other milk. I made this and froze it. Since it was a bit lower in volume and thicker (because of the condensed milk) I decided to make it into a sauce for penne. I added some imitation crab to the top for a bit of protein, and then topped with some grated parm. I like the idea of trying it with some other veggies. As soup or as pasta sauce, it's a great way to get the veggies, and survives being frozen, and is even healthy. Thanks Kendra*!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      We liked this soup, except we thought that the raw garlic flavor overwhelmed the delicate flavor of the asparagus. We love garlic, but love asparagus, too! Look forward to making this soup again, it's super-easy, but will try roasting the garlic, or sauteing the garlic and onion to mellow them out a little. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      For such a low-fat soup, I can't believe how great this is! I added some extra green onion and garlic. I also kinda simplified the prep; while the asparagus was cooking, I sauteed the onions and garlic in the 1 tbsp butter, added the flour and milk. Then, I drained the asparagus, returned it to the pot, added the heated milk mixture and pureed right in the pot w/ my hand-held blender. Thanx for sharing this wonderful low-fat cream soup! I will make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low-fat Cream of Asparagus Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (505 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 217.3
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    27%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 20.1 mg
    6%
    Sodium 1338.1 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 17.0 g
    68%
    Protein 14.5 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites