Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Fat Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Fat Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2011

      Best low fat cornbread yet! I also used less than 1/2 whole wheat flour, and 1/4 c unsweetened applesauce in place of part of the yogurt. You'd never know it was low fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      This was pretty darn good, and I was happy it didn't require a lot of ingredients. I made it because my husband requested cornbread and I didn't have my usual mix, but I did have a bunch of cornmeal on hand (no idea how old it is, but it seemed to be okay). I didn't add the corn or the jalapenos - didn't want to freak out my husband, plus I was serving it with jambalaya which is spicy enough. I ended up adding about 3 tablespoons or so of skim milk because my batter was REALLY thick. I cut the sugar to 3 tsp. I baked mine in a loaf pan for about 40 minutes or so, and it turned out pretty darn good, although not as crumby as the cornbread I get from a package. Nonetheless, the husband was happy! Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      This was too good to be low-fat! :) I used fat free sour cream instead of yogurt since that's what I had on hand. Also, I added a handful of low fat cheese, used Splenda and egg substitute. Next time I will use mexicorn instead of regular corn for the added color.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      I would say this was pretty good considering there is no oil. Also low amount of sugar. I though that I was going to have to go without cornbread on my diet, but this is perfect. I omitted the whole corn and the peppers, since I had none. I then used 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for 1/2 of the white flour. My family still ate it, with honey, of course!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      Half a recipe fits perfectly in my 6 inch cast iron skillet. I'm southern and though this is quite a departure from my "artery clogging" version, it is quite acceptable, especially since I'm trying to manage fat and cholesterol in my diet. This recipe avoids the "yankee" cake-type consistency that most southerners dislike. I did add the corn. Will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I LOVE this cornbread. It is moist and chewy and so easy to make. I used stone ground cornmeal and whole wheat flour and 1 T Splenda granular. Baked it an extra 5 minutes (25 total). My got pretty brown but was not dry. Didn't add the jalapenos. It was even good cold the next day for breakfast. I will be making this often and will never go back to that packaged mix. Thanks Sylvie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      We really liked this, and so easy to put together. I like the fact that it uses yogurt, and may never make cornbread another way. The texture is perfect, and I put it into a 9 inch cake pan, the perfect size, as my square pan was already full of cherry cobbler. A real keeper, and so simple and inexpensive to do!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2014

      Seriously good cornbread that is a bit chewy in a good way. Definitely keeping this for future. I found this recipe by circumstance -- didn't have any of the usual buttermilk so googled for a recipe that didn't require it. <br/><br/>I made mine with a high quality cornmeal and I used greek-style plain nonfat yogurt because that was what I had in my fridge. I used a bit of honey instead of 1/4 c sugar. (Did not have kernel corn or jalapeños but will try those in the future.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

      Very good! I used fat free sour cream as I did not have yogurt and made muffins. They came out delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      It was okay. It's chewy and sweet and certainly easy to prepare. BUT, it's only good hot with some extra Brummel and Brown slathered on. I guess if I weren't looking for a closer taste to traditional cornbread, I'd be happy with it. I wanted something to break up into my greens, and this just doesn't do the trick. I'm so sorry. I wanted to give a good review, but for me (and I am from the deep south), it's just not a substitute for cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

    • on April 11, 2013

      Loved this! I was surprised at how tall this baked up. I used Greek yogurt and needed to add little water to the batter. My Dh doesn't usually care for cornbread, but he commented that he thought this was really good. I loved the texture and that it wasn't loaded with fat and sugar. This will be my "go to" cornbread recipe. Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      I have never reviewed a recipe before but here goes...This bread turned out EXCELLENTLY. I brought it to a dinner party last night and everyone loved it. I was intrigued by cooking the bread in a cast iron pan...it reminded me of the no knead bread that I cook in the dutch oven. The only complaint that I read before making the bread was that it was slightly dry. This is what I did to compensate for it being reportedly dry:<br/><br/>1. I used liquid honey instead of sugar (i used what was called for)<br/>2. I used creamed corn instead of niblets (i actually ended up using 3/4 of a normal sized can) <br/>3. I used a cast iron dutch oven with a lid to cook the bread in....I preheated the oven to 400 with the dutch oven inside. Once the oven was preheated I pulled out the dutch oven and lined it with parchment paper...trimmed it so that the lid would fit. I then dumped the batter inside of the dutch oven...replaced the lid and placed it in the oven. ****USE OVEN MITS WHEN PUTTING IN THE PARCHMENT PAPER*** I let the bread cook for 20 mins and then checked it...it was not done (I am assuming because it was cooked with the lid on??) Anyways, I let it cook for another 5 mins and then took the lid off and let it cook for another 5 after that to let the top brown up. It was perfect!! Depending on your oven it may be too much or too little...just keep checking. <br/><br/>Another tip I would suggest...if you feel your batter is too thick keep adding the cream corn to the batter a little at a time. It worked for me. <br/><br/>ENJOY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      Finally I arrived at a low fat corn bread recipe without all that fat, sugar and preservatives. I did find the original recipe a little dry so I added 1/4 cup soy milk and 1 full cup corn (omitted jalapenos) and replaced the sugar with Splenda. This recipe is almost identical to the corn bread I usually make without all the extra calories and fat. It is a perfect side dish for my vegetarian chili. Jackie Z.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      I LOVE cornbread with veggie soup and was afraid I would not be able to have it until I found this recipe. I tried to mix it up without the corn and jalopeno's but the batter seemed a little dry. So I added a few tablespoons of water. I also omitted the sugar. I thought the batter was still a little dense, so I went ahead and added a can of mexicorn and a can of green chilies. I am so glad I did! It was so good! It was a little dense, but perfect for soup. I would like to try this as the base of a Mexican cornbread with taco meat on bottom. Thank you for sharing this recipe! This southern girl is forever in your debt on this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      This was so easy to make and tasted wonderful - the family scoffed the lot in less than 10mins! thanks T

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      I made mini corn muffins. Great, moist low-fat and simple. I replaced the sugar with agave nectar and the sweetness was just right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

    • on December 12, 2009

    • on September 28, 2009

      Very nice recipe. Made to go along with Black Bean and Chocolate Chili. I used only 2 tbsp of sugar, and substituted fat-free sour cream for the yogurt. I also used "whole-wheat white" flour instead of all-purpose. I baked it for about 17 min and it was a tad dry, but I think my oven runs hot. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Fat Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (48 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 85.6
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    10%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 23.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 174.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes