44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was pretty darn good, and I was happy it didn't require a lot of ingredients. I made it because my husband requested cornbread and I didn't have my usual mix, but I did have a bunch of cornmeal on hand (no idea how old it is, but it seemed to be okay). I didn't add the corn or the jalapenos - didn't want to freak out my husband, plus I was serving it with jambalaya which is spicy enough. I ended up adding about 3 tablespoons or so of skim milk because my batter was REALLY thick. I cut the sugar to 3 tsp. I baked mine in a loaf pan for about 40 minutes or so, and it turned out pretty darn good, although not as crumby as the cornbread I get from a package. Nonetheless, the husband was happy! Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyV8675309 October 11, 2012

Best low fat cornbread yet! I also used less than 1/2 whole wheat flour, and 1/4 c unsweetened applesauce in place of part of the yogurt. You'd never know it was low fat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bassyabby September 12, 2011

Seriously good cornbread that is a bit chewy in a good way. Definitely keeping this for future. I found this recipe by circumstance -- didn't have any of the usual buttermilk so googled for a recipe that didn't require it. <br/><br/>I made mine with a high quality cornmeal and I used greek-style plain nonfat yogurt because that was what I had in my fridge. I used a bit of honey instead of 1/4 c sugar. (Did not have kernel corn or jalapeños but will try those in the future.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol K. December 12, 2014

It was okay. It's chewy and sweet and certainly easy to prepare. BUT, it's only good hot with some extra Brummel and Brown slathered on. I guess if I weren't looking for a closer taste to traditional cornbread, I'd be happy with it. I wanted something to break up into my greens, and this just doesn't do the trick. I'm so sorry. I wanted to give a good review, but for me (and I am from the deep south), it's just not a substitute for cornbread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OriginalBadCook June 27, 2013

This was too good to be low-fat! :) I used fat free sour cream instead of yogurt since that's what I had on hand. Also, I added a handful of low fat cheese, used Splenda and egg substitute. Next time I will use mexicorn instead of regular corn for the added color.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer78 June 10, 2009

I would say this was pretty good considering there is no oil. Also low amount of sugar. I though that I was going to have to go without cornbread on my diet, but this is perfect. I omitted the whole corn and the peppers, since I had none. I then used 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for 1/2 of the white flour. My family still ate it, with honey, of course!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Farm wife March 01, 2009

Half a recipe fits perfectly in my 6 inch cast iron skillet. I'm southern and though this is quite a departure from my "artery clogging" version, it is quite acceptable, especially since I'm trying to manage fat and cholesterol in my diet. This recipe avoids the "yankee" cake-type consistency that most southerners dislike. I did add the corn. Will definitely make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slbbw March 17, 2008

I LOVE this cornbread. It is moist and chewy and so easy to make. I used stone ground cornmeal and whole wheat flour and 1 T Splenda granular. Baked it an extra 5 minutes (25 total). My got pretty brown but was not dry. Didn't add the jalapenos. It was even good cold the next day for breakfast. I will be making this often and will never go back to that packaged mix. Thanks Sylvie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo Anne January 27, 2008

We really liked this, and so easy to put together. I like the fact that it uses yogurt, and may never make cornbread another way. The texture is perfect, and I put it into a 9 inch cake pan, the perfect size, as my square pan was already full of cherry cobbler. A real keeper, and so simple and inexpensive to do!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha April 13, 2004

Very good! I used fat free sour cream as I did not have yogurt and made muffins. They came out delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lamoore103 July 18, 2014
Low Fat Cornbread