8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I solved 2 common problems with this recipe at once! I only had a 4-ounce package of chocolate pudding mix in my cupboard. I noticed several reviewers called for the smaller 1.4-ounce package, but I also noticed several complaints that the yield is so small. So I doubled the sugar, skim milk, and evaporated milk and used my 4-ounce box of pudding. I also through in a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a good, long squirt of Hershey's chocolate syrup for good measure. I must agree that it does taste basically like a Fudgesicle, but especially when prepared with real sugar it is a very satisfying ice cream. If you have trouble with your low-fat ice creams getting icy after they've been in the freezer a bit, try throwing in a dash of vodka in the last few minutes of mixing. The alcohol's low freezing point will keep it nice and creamy for the next week or so. If you want to actually taste the liquor, you can get creative with flavored alcohol like Bailey's, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neuronimo February 13, 2010

This was so yummy! I used fat free condensed milk by accident. Still turned out great. To me it tasted like chocolate gelatto. Next time I will try the evaporated milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luckeydevil February 13, 2009

Delicious! I made it as the recipe says, but I doubled it. It was great...definitely tasted like fudgesicles, which I love! Question - the recipe calls for 4 ounce packages, but others are saying 1.4 ounce....which is correct? It turned out fine, other than being a little too sweet. Thanks for this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef 584340 February 11, 2009

Delicious! I agree that the taste is similar to a fudgesicle. I used sugar free fat free chocolate fudge flavored pudding (1.4 ounce size) 2 T splenda, 2 T sugar, the evaporated milk and skim milk amounts called for, and added 1/2 cup fat free half and half and 1 teaspoon vanilla flavoring. I was afraid that my ice cream maker wouldn't cut off, since it was such a small amount, and the instructions say that 8 cups liquid is the smallest amount to make accurately at one time. It did cut off, and froze nicely. It was not, however, 8 servings for us. It was 4. Next time, and there will most certainly be one, I will double the recipe. I can't wait to try it with many different pudding flavors. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom September 01, 2008

Good recipe for a lowfat ice cream! It tastes like a fudgesicle. The pudding size should be the 4-serving (small box)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine Ferguson June 28, 2008

I just made your ice cream. WOW..!! It turned out fantastic. I used sugar free chocolate pudding, fat free evaporated milk and splenda and the skim milk. I put it all in my blender and then into my ice cream maker. In 20 minutes I had scrumptious chocolate ice cream. It is wonderful.... Did I say I liked it!! Those who say it tastes like chocolate pudding surely wasn't expecting full fat ice cream...This is great for those of us that are trying to watch our fat and sugar. THX, 89240 This goes into my keeper file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jtlucas July 01, 2007

This is a very good recipe, but it tastes a lot like chocolate pudding. Chocolate pudding is delicious, I was just expecting it to taste more like ice cream. I did want to warn others before making this recipe that you need to use a 1.4 ounce package of chocolate pudding rather than a 4 ounce package. I did it with 4 ounces first and it was a mess!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarhigh801 April 20, 2007

Major yummy! Not sure if the correct pudding pkg. size is listed. I used a smaller pkg. Also used less sweetener (Splenda). Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashley dixon February 22, 2005
Low Fat Chocolate Ice Cream