Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Fat Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Fat Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2013

      We love this muffin recipe!!! I followed completely the first time and it was great, but now, instead of white flour, I add 3/4 cup of rolled oats that I pulse in the food processor quickly, blueberries, ground pears, if I have a few extra ripe ones (instead of applesauce), almond extract, and a spoonful or 2 of Nutella. The kids love all the flavors, and with the addition of the almond extract and other goodies I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      Really yummy with a good amount of chocolate :) used only 1/4 cup of sugar and made both amounts of flour whole wheat. Instead of muffins made 8 mini loafs and they always turn out fantastic, get lots of requests for these from family and friends

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      Yummy and so easy to make! I added a little cinnamon - might try clove next time. I used a mini muffin tin which worked very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      These are absolutely fantastic!! I have been on a low fat/reduced carb diet and these hit the spot. I also used splenda in place of sugar and egg beaters. I increased the whole wheat flour to 1 cup and reduced the white flour to 1/2 cup. I made a batch last week and they didn't last long! Will be making these again tonight!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Absoulutely loved these. Made them a little more low cal by substituting 1/2 of the sugar with Splenda and used Egg Beaters for the egg. I did use the whole wheat flour but substituted self rising flour for the all purpose since low fat muffins are sometimes more dense. I did keep the b. soda and b. powder as listed. These rose up very well and were super moist. I stuck with 1/2 cup mini choc. chips. Not sure how many cals I saved but know it was less than the 155 calories listed. My husband ate 4 right off the bat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      These were a huge hit. I was worried that they may not work out so well because I didn't have any baking soda, I just added a little more baking powder. My kids liked them so much they made sure that I bought some more bananas -unfortunately they didn't know to remind me about the baking soda. :-) I also left the banana chunks a bit bigger so my Dh said you could taste the banana more. We will be making these again. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      These are really tasty. Most importantly, they set up and have a nice, light fluffy texture. I only had two bananas so I added a little extra applesauce to compensate. Also used regular flour instead of whole wheat (would have but didn't have it!). I used cocoa powder instead of the chips to make it even lower fat and they still came out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I've made two batches in one day. Very easy, very quick and very satisfying. Here's some changes I made though; I used brown sugar instead of regular, I added half teaspoon of cinnamon for extra punch, I got good quality dark chocolate (70%) which I pounded to make chunks that are little bigger than ready choc chips and I added half cup of chopped walnuts that gave it great texture. I'm already getting requests for more batches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Super!! These were really delicious!! And they didn't taste low fat at all! I've recently made a lot of changes to my family's diet, and therefore I'm always on the look out for healthier versions of the foods we love. This was a total hit! It is a healthy option without tasting healthy! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

    • on January 22, 2008

      We've been really sick here and my son hasn't been eating. So when he asked for banana chocolate chip muffins I was happy to oblige with this recipe. I used all white wheat flour and mini chocolate chips. I had a hard time getting these to cook all the way through and they were always a little gooey. That said, they had really good flavor and were enjoyed here. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      I just made these this morning and they are great. my whole wheat flour is called white whole wheat flour and I used regular applesauce. after pouring batter into greased muffin tins I sprinkle a few more chocolate chips on the top! So good and a nice breakfast under 200 calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      Wow, these are sooooo delicious. I mean Bed & Breakfast delicious! You would never guess that they are low fat! I had some overripe bananas and didn't want the typical banana bread again. These are really, really good and plenty sweet. I found I was out of whole wheat flour so for the texture and fiber, I added 1 cup of regular flour, 1/4 cup oat bran and 1/4 cup of flax meal. Turned out so good I may just do that again next time. I think the chocolate chips are key in making these so yummy. Be sure not to skip them! P

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Fat Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 155.2
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    16%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 127.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 16.3 g
    65%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites