11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely delicious! Very nice on a rainy day. I exchanged half the corn for diced carrot for extra flavour and colour. I also sprinkled on a little parmesan instead of the grated cheese. I don't think this would serve 8 people on it's own, more like 4. Very good and guilt free too!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! April 28, 2002

An easy, tasty, and suprisingly hearty soup for a cold day. The carrots are a must (Thanks dale!). For a twist, I sauteed the chicken in garlic pepper and a little garlic salt. I also added some Mrs. Dash to the soup base. Note- it took almost 30 min for my potatoes to become tender.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buckwalter January 10, 2003

Very tasty. I used a can of corn and added a dusting of Wondra for thickening at the end. Be sure to cut-up the chicken into little bite sizes as larger pieces tend to lack flavor on their own.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angie-la-la April 18, 2003

Delicious! I added some leftover ham, which was also delicious. My friends and family loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K-Jay September 30, 2002

I followed the recipe exactly as written since I had not read the reviews beforehand. (I had printed out the recipe several months ago and put it in my "to-try" file.) My family found it to be bland and watery. Since I am on Weight Watchers I did not want to add additional thickeners to the chowder, so I added some poultry seasoning and seasoning salt. Still not much better. I agree adding carrots and garlic may have helped, however I think we'll just pass on this one instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
497594 October 08, 2009

This is my first review, but it's been a long time coming, I have been making this for years and me and my family love it. We make this at least once a week in the winter time. It's delicious. One of our favorites. Thanks for an amazing and easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pastilla07 June 22, 2009

I hated this recipe. I followed everyone's suggestions, thickened the sauce, added garlic and more herbs to the chicken but I still felt like it was a tasteless waste of chicken. Not like any chicken corn chowder I have ever had - maybe its the low fat but I'll never make this again and have to throw away what I did make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krazymoi January 14, 2008

Recipe was sort of bland and the soup was quite thin for chowder. I had to add a plain flour/butter rue to thicken the sauce and lots of seasoning. To help speed up the cooking process I cooked the onions, potatoes, and carrots together before adding the water and left over pan juices from the cooked chicken. If I make this recipe again I will add several tablespoons of flour over the vegetables before putting the water and chicken juices to help thicken the soup. For seasoning I added Old Bay garlic & herb and garlic powder. Dh also added tabasco sauce to his bowl for added kick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom2b2g August 02, 2007

This is absolutely delicious!! Just like the fat-full one that I had marked off my recipe list!! I also added the garlic and the Mrs. Dash and the corn starch. These were all great suggestions. I also used 1 1/2 cups skim milk with 1/2 cup fat free half & half to add richness. Great recipe. Thanks for putting it here for all of us to enjoy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denisehall January 03, 2007

This was great for using my leftover cooked chicken. I used red onions for a nice color. As suggested, I microwaved the potatoes (and some added baby carrots) in the 1/2 cup of water as I sauteed the onions in the frying pan. After the onions were done, I added the milk and 1 1/2 tsp. of cornstarch to thicken it. My DH who won't go near soups actually said it was good -- as far as soups go -- and was even willing to eat some of the leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun June 15, 2005
Low Fat Chicken Corn Chowder