Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low-Fat Carrot Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low-Fat Carrot Salad

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 08, 2014

      This was excellent! I did make one substitution -when I went to add the yogurt I realized that I had reused the container, and it was actually full of leftover cabbage :( so I used oil and vinegar instead, which made for a nice, light salad. For the carrots I had a bag of carrot sticks that I needed to use up, so I lightly chopped them in my food processor rather than trying to grate the little pieces, I also tossed the apple in separately for constancy in texture. Will definitely make this again, especially in the summer when a light and cool side dish is particularly appreciated :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2012

      I love this recipe and salads with yogurt. I think that yogurt is a wonderful ingredients for salad dressing.
      I had all ingredients on hand and it was fast and easy to prepare this delicious salad.
      Thanks a lot for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      Another outstanding vote from me. I used pecans and they were a great go with for the carrots and apple. I used fat free yogurt as that is what I always buy and the sweet carrots and apple played wonderfully with the yogurt. This would be ideal in the summer or as a holiday side dish. Very simple and quick using the food processor to grate everything in a few seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      I didn't really like this, but I used pre-cut matchstick carrots, they were probably too thick for this salad, so I suggest hand grate. Also, I used vanilla yogurt but felt it needed more tang so next time would use plain and add the honey. I just felt something was missing from this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      Scrumptious!!! My DH and I love this salad. My friend has a recipe similar to this, but this one is much better. To keep the apples from turning brown I put them in a separate bowl with the lemon juice and tossed them around before adding them to the carrots. This kept them from browing so quickly and it made the apples have a nice little lemony zing to them! I also used whole-milk vanilla yogurt as it was the only kind that I had on hand, but it helped sweeten the salad without having to use as much honey. And instead of nuts I added raisins, they get very nice and plump after being in with the juicy carrots and apples. Great recipe Inge! Definately a keeper that I will be making again and again! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      Nice salad, easy to make and very tasty. I particularly liked the nut and carrot combination, nuts giving it a nice crunch. I used a no-fat, thick Greek yogurt to save a few fat calories, wildflower honey and 2 teaspoons lemon juice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      This was delcious! I used raisins instead of nuts and it tasted great! Other than that I did everything else. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      Lovely salad--I used toasted walnuts and non-fat yogurt. Substantial flavors, yet very light in terms of fat and calories--will make this more. Thanks, Inge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      This is a wonderfully refreshing carrot salad. DH really likes carrot salad and usually it is drenched in a heavy dressing. The combination of low-fat yogurt with the honey and lemon juice makes for a light, refreshing, healthy alternative. Something I am sure to repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      WOW I was surprised how much we enjoyed this salad! I used L/F sour cream instead of yogurt..other than that followed your recipe..and was amazed at how good...such an easy recipe is!! I used 2 tsp of lemon juice..and mixed it with shredded apple..it helped not turn brown as quickly! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      WONDERFUL..this one will replace my old recipe which I fix a least once a week and for all work parties/lunches...very kid friendly except for the nuts most kids don't care for nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2005

      We found this delicious! with lots of taste. Quite sweet because I used 2 sweet apples because that was what I had in and of course the carrot and honey are sweet too. I mixed the apples well with the lemon juice and had no trouble with the salad turning brown. I used roughly chopped walnuts to finish it. We enjoyed it very much and will make it again. Thanks for sharing a good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2005

      This makes a really tasty lunch. I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 granny smith (tart) apple and one medium red delicious (sweet) apple. Tossed them with the lemon juice. I also added a pinch of red pepper flakes which I added to the yogurt first and set aside to meld while grating the apples and carrots. You did not say to peel apples and I didn't. I used chopped salted peanuts so left out the added salt. I shredded a bit of red cabbage, lined halves of wheat pita bread and filled with carrot/apple mixture. This was enjoyed by several folks along with mint ice tea. Really enjoyed this and will make again. I do recommend the pepper flakes otherwise I think it would be a bit bland. Thanks, Inge, for a lovely lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low-Fat Carrot Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.9
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    42%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 1.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 226.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites