Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low-Fat Carrot Cake Muffins (That Don't Taste Low-Fat!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low-Fat Carrot Cake Muffins (That Don't Taste Low-Fat!)

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2010

      These are wonderful! I am looking for healthy muffin recipes now that I eat breakfast on the go on work days, and this one is definitely a keeper. I used all wheat flour and did not miss the white flour at all. Thanks Kittencal for another keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      Being a lover of carrot cake...especially the frosting, these did not disappoint. (even w/o the frosting). Deliciously moist. What a great find/keeper. I did omit the nuts...but I'll bet it's an additional bonus if you decide to add em.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      Terrific Recipe, I used 1/2 c br sugar and egg whites instead of egg, and Walnuts in place of raisins. I will make again, they are very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      These were excellent! They were very moist and tasted just like carrot cake. I used whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 cup of demerara, which was a bit too sweet. Next time I'd use 1/3 cup instead. Thanks for such a tasty, healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      These are great muffins, good for you and still tastes great. Have them in my lunch box most days. But i don't cook them with the pineapple, i add 1/4 cup of walnut pieces to the mix the add a nutty kick to them instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      VERY VERY VERY good. Surprisingly tasty. A big fan of Carrot Cake and these muffins taste just as good as the real thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      YUM! These were soooo good! I did half white and half whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar, and sprinkled some extra brown sugar on top prior to baking. I was a little uncertain about the consistency of the batter - it seemed like there was too much carrot and it wouldn't bake evenly - but don't be fooled, that is how it is supposed to look! They turned out perfectly moist and delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Very yummy. I think next time I will add the 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of the 1/2 cup. Seemed sweet enough when I tasted the batter, but wasn't quite enough after cooked. I substituted applesauce for the oil and then even more applesauce for the pineapple (which I didn't have) and they still turned out great. Baked very nicely (time and temp. were accurate) and moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      These were really good & will make a great snack for my son's daycare lunchbox. I subbed a 4.2oz pouch of babyfood (pureed squash) for the pineapple, as I didn't have any. Very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      These are hands down THE best best carrot muffins I have ever had. They were soft, moist and crumbly. Their flavor was right on, along with the texture. They are beyond incredible and I'll definitely be adding this to my regular list of recipes. The second time I made them I did 1/3 oil, 2/3 applesauce, minus a little, which I replaced with a jar of pear flavored baby food (running low on ingredients.) They were still amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      These were quite good, despite my substitutions. I used applesauce instead of pineapple because that's what I had on hand, and had to omit the raisins. I also used only 1/2 cup of sugar, though they would probably have been tastier with a little more. I wouldn't say they were cake-like, but definitely muffin-y. I would say they offer balance of taste and health. I would make again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      These are very good. I followed the recipe very closely except I used coconut instead of raisins just because that's what I had. I also substitued one tablespoon of oil and used 2 tablespoons of applesauce instead just to save a bit more fat grams. Wasn't sure they would be sweet enough for my husband so I whipped up just a tiny bit of low fat cream cheese frosting and made it very thin to drizzle a bit over some of them. I was thrilled that even using whole wheat flour they were so good. Will definitely make this recipe again. Thank you Kittencalskitchen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I used whole wheat flour, doubled the spices, used egg subsitute, used applesauce instead of oil, used brown sugar Spenda and added a little salt. These muffins were moist, tasty and satisfying. A big bang for the buck as far as calories go. My 15 year old son even loved them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      I was the only one in my family who liked these. My kids wouldn't even eat half of one muffin. So sad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      I used whole wheat flour and these rose beautifully. We added cream cheese frosting to turn these into mostly-healthy birthday cupcakes for my little girl. I'll have to make them more often. (Omitted raisins and nuts)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This recipe was excellent. I used the store bought already grated carrots and just chopped them a bit in the mixture. I also used 1.5 tsps of pumpkin pie spice instead of the others, coconut instead of raisins and tried the brown sugar/splenda blended mixture now available in the stores and it worked great!...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      Thanks again for another terrific recipe Kittencal. I substituted shredded sweetened coconut for the raisins and used apple sauce in place of half the oil. Because I reduced the oil the muffins stuck to the paper cups. I will try using the oil as you instructed the next time. Overall, these muffins were awesome! P.S. Folks, don't forget to reserve the pineapple juice to make sweet and sour sauce or a nice marinade for dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      These are wonderful! I used all whole wheat flower, less brown sugar and used no sugar added apple sauce because I didn't have any pineapple. I made these into cupcakes! I made a light coconut cream cheese frosting. These are delicious, Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      These muffins were fantastic! I entered the recipe into my Weight Watchers program and they are only 3 points each - awesome! I didn't squeeze out the moisture from the carrots, I like my muffins very moist and since there is so little fat added, it worked out well. I think I may try substituting the carrot for zucchini when they become abundant in my garden.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      I juice quite a bit and was in need of a recipe to use juicing pulp. This recipe is it! This is a great recipe for juicing pulp. I substituted the grated carrots with carrot and parsnip pulp. I added walnuts, dates, and two tablespoons of ground golden flaxseeds (I didn't have any raisinns). I used olive oil, since I didn't have regular cooking oil. My muffins didn't look nearly as pretty as the ones in the photo but they turned out moist and delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low-Fat Carrot Cake Muffins (That Don't Taste Low-Fat!)

    Serving Size: 1 (1017 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 164.6
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    23%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 15.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 160.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 16.6 g
    66%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites