Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Fat Carrot Bran Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Fat Carrot Bran Muffins

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2014

      Yum delish, made these today, omitted the raisin cause I don't like them but added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts, used the buttermilk and margarine and only 1/4 cup of brown sugar, followed all other ingredients and directions as noted, I really enjoyed them but didn't think my hubby would like them b/c he likes the sweet stuff (that's why he married me hahaha) but he really liked them and had two, not that these weren't sweet enough but I think someone with a sweet tooth may want to add the full1/3rd cup....will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Great muffins. I don't normally like bran muffins but these are moist and flavorful. Any variety of dried fruit works well with this recipe. I recommend plumping the dried fruit in hot water for 15 mins before adding to the mixture. It really makes the fruit come back to life and adds extra moisture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Very good, I am not a fan of raisins so i substituted for figs and used 6 grains organic flour and added pumpkin seeds and flax seeds for a little crunch...still turned out moist and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      to start out i am obsessed with bran muffins and have never found a satisfying recipe until now. when i took these muffins out and they were not only perfectly pretty but tasted amazing as well, i had to post a review of bliss! i'm in love!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Fantastic! I've used this recipe on a couple of occasions, but with these substitutions: *instead of cereal, 1.5 cups miller's bran, combined with .5 cups boiling water, stirred, and let sat for 10 minutes. Also add .5 tsp salt and an additional .33 cups brown sugar. *instead of egg, half a banana, mashed, and 2 Tbsp. Veg Oil. I've found setting the temp to 390 and baking for ~22 mins keeps the center from being too gooey. (I also don't like orange zest, and these work great without it if you don't like that taste.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      The recipe worked beautifully, but this muffin really did not suit my tastes or my kids'. They wouldn't eat them even though they like the other carrot muffins and bran muffins that I make for them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      These were awesome! Made just a couple of changes - egg beaters for the egg, and I didn't have any buttermilk so I used plain yogurt with a splash of OJ. They turned out perfectly! Much better the second day!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      These are AMAZING! I used a little less butter than it called for and put the bran in a food processor to grind it up more finely, but they came out flawless and moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      Having a hard time writing my review.These are GREAT!!! Thanks for sharing. Sage/Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      OMG these are amazing!! I know it looks like a lot of ingredients, but they come together rather quickly, and are very tasty and healthful. The first time, I used 1/4 c brown sugar, and people were okay about them. The next time, I upped it to 1/3, and that made a difference. I want to try it with craisins next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      I thought these were good. I used ww pastry flour which gives a lighter texture ajd I used a little less cinnamon and added some nutmeg and cloves. Because I used the buttermilk I subbed 2 TBL OJ concentrate for the lemon juice and the orange rind. I was glad I used the 1/3 cup sugar as these aren't very sweet at all.I baked them in mini muffin pans which took around 13 minutes and made 23. I will be serving these with Orange Butter, this was pretty sweet so I doubled the butter. The two recipes go well together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      These are great! I like the fact they are not wimpy on the cinnamon! The orange adds a nice tang. I used Splenda instead of brown sugar, and dried cherries instead of raisins. Thanks for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      This makes an excellent breakfast muffin. I did everything as writen and I used orange rind as well. My only complaint is that the orange taste is too strong so I may need to either reduce the amount I use or simply omit it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      I have never liked bran muffins in the past- too sweet, too much cinnamon, too dry! I tried this recipe out for the first time about 4 months ago and I've made at least 2 batches a month since. Everyone loves these...including me! I add loads more dried fruit like dried cranberries and cherries, some crystalized ginger and chopped nuts. The orange rind makes a BIG difference. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      A touch of sweetness, moist and filling, plus a hefty dose of fibre to boot! I've made these twice now, and both times they've been wonderful, plus they freeze really well. One goes into my lunchbox nearly every day! I use a bit more baking powder than the recipe states (about 1.5-2tsp) as I've found they rise a bit better that way. I've never had fresh oranges in the house when I've made these, but I will definitely be adding the orange rind when I do, just for that extra taste dimension. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      Great taste, great nutrional info but they stuck so bad to the muffin liners I'm winding up throwing out half of every muffins. Which is a serious shame. I would NEVER make these with muffin liners again, only in a greased pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      These were SO tasty! Ours didn't rise as much as they should have and ended up a little too chewy inside, but the taste more than made up for that! The most delicious muffin I've ever had! 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      Deeeelish Healthy Treat. I loved that these muffins are not too sweet. You will taste the different flavours instead of an overpowering sweetness. I've subed the whole-wheat flour by whole-spelt flour which has a slight nutty flavour and goes so well together with the cinnamon and the carrots. These muffins needs 1 tablespoon of cinnamon, because the carrots and the cereals require a lot. I would recommend to add the orange rind, it adds another fruity note to complete the carrot falvour. The muffins were easy to made, I followed the directions and the outcome was great. The muffins were fluffy (even more than I expected). They were soft with all the different flavours and slightly moist. This is a great treat and a healthy one, too. I will have now always some in the freezer. Thanks for sharing this delicious muffin recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      This was a very nice muffin especially when you consider the nutritional factors...take a close look at them.They indeed were moist but the next time I will use half wheat and half white for a lighter, not quite so dense, muffin. Having the carrots grated in was a nice difference. Oh, I did enjoy the hint of cinnamon. I do appreciate eating healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Fat Carrot Bran Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 161.9
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    17%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 18.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 213.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    oranges, rind of

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes