19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum delish, made these today, omitted the raisin cause I don't like them but added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts, used the buttermilk and margarine and only 1/4 cup of brown sugar, followed all other ingredients and directions as noted, I really enjoyed them but didn't think my hubby would like them b/c he likes the sweet stuff (that's why he married me hahaha) but he really liked them and had two, not that these weren't sweet enough but I think someone with a sweet tooth may want to add the full1/3rd cup....will definitely be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace F. April 14, 2014

Great muffins. I don't normally like bran muffins but these are moist and flavorful. Any variety of dried fruit works well with this recipe. I recommend plumping the dried fruit in hot water for 15 mins before adding to the mixture. It really makes the fruit come back to life and adds extra moisture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyfromtheblock77 January 13, 2013

Very good, I am not a fan of raisins so i substituted for figs and used 6 grains organic flour and added pumpkin seeds and flax seeds for a little crunch...still turned out moist and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscaprice December 14, 2010

to start out i am obsessed with bran muffins and have never found a satisfying recipe until now. when i took these muffins out and they were not only perfectly pretty but tasted amazing as well, i had to post a review of bliss! i'm in love!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brkcannons August 08, 2009

Fantastic! I've used this recipe on a couple of occasions, but with these substitutions: *instead of cereal, 1.5 cups miller's bran, combined with .5 cups boiling water, stirred, and let sat for 10 minutes. Also add .5 tsp salt and an additional .33 cups brown sugar. *instead of egg, half a banana, mashed, and 2 Tbsp. Veg Oil. I've found setting the temp to 390 and baking for ~22 mins keeps the center from being too gooey. (I also don't like orange zest, and these work great without it if you don't like that taste.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RenaissanceMan August 11, 2008

The recipe worked beautifully, but this muffin really did not suit my tastes or my kids'. They wouldn't eat them even though they like the other carrot muffins and bran muffins that I make for them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the6-sranch May 04, 2008

These were awesome! Made just a couple of changes - egg beaters for the egg, and I didn't have any buttermilk so I used plain yogurt with a splash of OJ. They turned out perfectly! Much better the second day!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Sweet March 23, 2008

These are AMAZING! I used a little less butter than it called for and put the bran in a food processor to grind it up more finely, but they came out flawless and moist!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CleanEatingForLife February 29, 2008

Having a hard time writing my review.These are GREAT!!! Thanks for sharing. Sage/Rita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage February 14, 2008

OMG these are amazing!! I know it looks like a lot of ingredients, but they come together rather quickly, and are very tasty and healthful. The first time, I used 1/4 c brown sugar, and people were okay about them. The next time, I upped it to 1/3, and that made a difference. I want to try it with craisins next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BKBaker January 06, 2008
Low Fat Carrot Bran Muffins