29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent brownie! I'm looking for recipes that aren't too sweet, and this one was just right. The berries make the brownie gooey on the inside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodisGood May 03, 2009

I loved the different flavors in this little brownies. The cocoa, blueberries and walnuts go so well together. As another said dark chocolate chips would be nice in this. I served with a vanilla sauce on top. Excellent non dairy or egg recipe. Also, I am always looking for new ways to use blueberries. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin March 16, 2009

Fantastic!!!! You do not miss the fat in these brownies!!!!! I used a really high quality cocoa powder from Penzey's Spices and Bakewell Cream double-acting baking powder. Used double strength vanilla and all whole wheat pastry flour for both the flours. These are gooey and delicious brownies!!! This is a great base recipe for a low fat brownie that you could substitute dark chocolate for the blueberries or other fruits or nuts!!! I really love this recipe, thanks so much for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee March 11, 2009

I agree that this might need a little more sweetness. Still, what is there to complain - egg-free, dairy-free, low fat brownies that actually tastes great? Thanks for the awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salazar March 16, 2008

Just made this delicious recipe - but I doubled it. I made my own applesauce - and added about 2 TBSP Splenda brown sugar to it. Instead of the 1 cup of sugar required for a double batch, I used 3/4 cup white Splenda and 1/2 cup sugar - the blueberries make it sooooo moist! I also drizzled some melted chocolate across the top. I left out the nuts - does anyone know - if you leave out the nuts, does it then become a fat-free brownie?? Gotta love it - wonder how long they'll last at work tomorrow (that's if they even make it there!!)After thought - could use a little salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerNurse June 02, 2007

I didn't care for the taste of the blueberries with brownies. It's not bad for a low-fat brownie that is homemade, but I didn't even finish off the pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crocheting Mama April 30, 2007

I made these several weeks ago and forgot to review them. They were very good! Definately tasted low-fat, but they were moist and yummy. I'm going to try them again with raspberries!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers April 25, 2007

I thought these were good, but not superamazing, however you cannot beat the calorie/fat count!! I was about to make them when my boyfriend said "blueberries?? in brownies??" but I tried it. We both agreed they were good but don't really need the blueberries. I'll certainly make these again, but I think I'll leave out the blueberries. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kettch23 April 20, 2007

mine came out flat and looked nothing like the picture. i followed the directions as posted. maybe i made a mistake since everyone else liked them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Randelle April 07, 2007

I have just made these for the first time tonight after reading so many postive reviews,they were lovely,I used carob powder instead of cocoa powder and I used mostly splenda and 1oz of brown sugar,I omitted the walnuts to make more low fat,but they are delicious ,they certainly don't taste low fat.I will definately make them again.Excellent.x

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greyhound girl February 27, 2007
Low Fat Blueberry Brownies