29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was very pleasantly surprised with this recipe. I used skinless chicken pieces, and used olive oil instead of the butter. I also added "the colonels" secret spices (garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, chili powder, sage, basil & marjoram) to the mix and it was excellent, the best baked "fried" chix I've ever had. Thank you Debidoo for sharing the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ July 28, 2009

THis was very good. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast. I had to add more butter cause mine acted like it wanted to burn. I didn't use a pyrex dish or dark meat so I don't know if that had anything to do with it. My husband ate his like a chicken sandwhich and acually asked if it was really low fat. He said it tasted like a chick-fil-a sandwhich. (I'm not sure if he was serious about the chick-fil-a but he did enjoy it.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KT~Lynn May 07, 2008

Great idea with Bisquick. Such an alternative!!! My husband LOVES fried chicken and I hate pan frying it, but we are both watching our calorie intake. So I used low fat butter, and instead of paprika, salt and pepper, I use CREOLE seasoning that I mixed in with the bisquick. Awesome flavor!! Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
New Wifeyy April 26, 2008

5 stars! Good and simple, simple and good! My Mom passed this along to me and I made it last hunting season for 3 hungry hunters and me. BIG HIT! Soo easy, I just bought 2 whole cut-up chickens and was good to go. I do remember using a glass baking dish and just sprayed it w/ Pam. Served with green bean casserole w/ durkee onions and baked potatos (not a low fat meal). The paprika is useful to add color and make this attractive as well as adding flavor. Fun to have a simple recipe be so tasty and well recieved.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
red_baron May 10, 2007

FANTASTIC! This was a huge hit at our house. I had no reduced-fat bisquick, but I did spray the pan with cooking spray--the butter wasn't missed. I made the breading spicier with the addition of cumin, thyme, onion powder, garlic powder, and black pepper. Next time I will try a pinch of cayenne for even more spice. I was so pleased with how this turned out. Will certainly make this again--thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noor.Khalid August 16, 2013

This was excellent and easy to fix. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Stiles April 07, 2013

best "fried chicken" ever. I had a couple variations. i used leg quarters. i seasoned the meat itself pretty well, and only used a little bit of pepper and salt in the actual mix. as well instead of butter .. 2 Tblspn of vegetable oil in the pan worked well and the chicken did not stick at all . and i did flip the chicken so cooking time was a little longer but it made both sides crispy. My hubby loves fried chicken and was happy to xchange the thick coating deep fried has ,for the super moist flavorful meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsCastIronFire May 17, 2012

Very good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karlaknighton January 16, 2011

I loved the flavor of the chicken. My problem was the coating didn't stick on the chicken. Next time, I'll put it on a cooling rack and see if that helps. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag Game 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty October 14, 2010

Very good. I added 1/4 teaspoon onion powder, 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder and 1-1/2 teaspoons poultry seasoning. Also, since I am watching the fat calories, I did not use butter, but sprayed the pan with butter-flavored pan spray before placing the chicken on the pan. This was yummy and so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobbeck January 09, 2010
Low-Fat Bisquick Oven Fried Chicken