16 Reviews

This was diet??? Couldn't tell by the taste!! This was very good and very easy! It was a little thinner than traditional stroganoff, probably due to the consistancy of the FF soup and sour cream, but the taste was right on!! The only negative comment I have is on the servings...there is waaay more than 4 servings unless your family is HUGE eaters!! I have leftovers for today and tomorrow's lunches (not a bad thing!!).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MackinacBride December 10, 2002

This recipe is a great START to a low fat beef stroganoff, but (1) it's too watery (I added corn starch), (2) it's not "beefy" enough (adding bullion is a good idea), but (3) it takes a LONG time for all those onions/mushrooms to cook with the sour cream, soup, beef, and letting it simmer for a while, for all the flavors to set in (and for some of the water to cook off) is also essential, or else the onions are crunchy, it's bland (I added a lot of salt), and, also, there's a lack off "beefy" flavor, it's watery, etc. So, like I said, it's a good START, and you just have to make it your own...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin41 October 27, 2012

We had this tonight for supper. It was a good recipe. My husband called it a keeper. I used ground turkey and did not add the oil. Only added 1/4 can water after reading reviews. It was still alittle thin, but did thicken as it cooled. I didn't have quite enough sourcream so I used some ranch/ sourcream salad dressing. You couldn't even tell. It did make quite a bit more than 4 servings, after reading review I used a 16oz. bag of noodles. That seemed to be the perfect amount. I would say this will feed 6-7 people.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mi Mi May 02, 2008

the consistancy was too watery, next time i will not add the water. otherwise it was tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skygirl618 February 29, 2008

Excellent! You can't even tell that this recipe is Low fat. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristiina November 21, 2007

Very good. I used lean ground beef, only because I didn't have any sliced beef. The recipe is easy to follow and darn tasty. I did feel like it needed to be more "beefy" tasting, so I added a few cubes of beef buillon. Next time I will just replace the ketchup and worcesershire sauce with the beef buillon cubes. Otherwise wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pookiebooty2000 August 11, 2007

This recipe was very good. It didnt taste like it was missing anything by being lowfat. I do feel like it needed a bit of some other spice, some dill maybe? I used 98% lean ground beef to make this and like another reviewer states it is WAY more than 4 servings. The bag of egg noodles says 6 servings, and with the rich sauce, which also makes alot, I think it was very easily 8 servings. Which Im thrilled about, I had about 1/2 serving so I can 1/2 the calories and fat! Awesome meal, very low cal and low fat! Thanks for sharing it, I will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clorissasue March 18, 2006

Didn't care for the sauce. A little tangy. Although this was the first beef stroganoff I've had, maybe it's supposed to taste this way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dfrazie January 29, 2006

This was an excellent recipie. You would never know it was low fat. In fact it was better than the last full fat stroganoff I made. It is enough to feed 6 though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miria March 31, 2004
Low Fat Beef Stroganoff