82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is great! I decided to omit the chocolate chips and add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. They turned out perfectly. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkcain01 September 09, 2009

Turned out really great! I did add a few walnuts and a sprinkly of cinnamon. Will definetly use again. My 9 year old really enjoys them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lola31 August 26, 2009

These were great! I added about 1/4 cup of cocoa (though it probably didn't need it), and had to use berry applesauce as I didn't have any plain....and these were still fantastic! Ate one straight out of the oven with some fat free cream cheese. YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Champagne Taste with a Beer Pocketbook July 07, 2009

Pretty good--I didn't use muffin papers and sprayed my non-stick tin but they were still kind of sticky. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caitlinu April 21, 2009

HOLY COW! These are fantastic! I just made these and my whole house smells like a bakery. I used half whole wheat flour and half all purpose and raisins instead of chocolate chips. I am constantly trying to find ways to "sneak in" extra nutrition for my 2 and 3 year old kids. I followed the recipe exactly for the rest and I am amazed how moist and flavorful they are. I think I may add some chopped nuts the next time, just to try it. These will be a staple in my house. Anyone still using commercial muffin mixes should know that making them from scratch is way, way better, better for you, and not at all difficult. I can't thank you enough for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pahealthymom April 03, 2009

WOWZER!!!! These are sooo good! I used half cup of reg. flour and half cup of whole wheat. I didn't have any reg. apple sauce on hand so I used 1/3c. of Motts healthy harvest peach medly (all natural/no added sugar) and I don't think it effected the taste at all. I also cut the sugar in half...the choco. chips make it sweet enough for me to cut back on the sugar. And, based on some of the reviews i opted not to use liners, i just sprayed my pan real good with cooking spray and they came out with no problem at all. These are simply amazing and I will definitely be making them again and experimenting with add-ins!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahRenae March 24, 2009

Man are these GOOD! I also used Splenda for the sugar and whole wheat flour and they were awesome! I cant believe Im saying this but next time Im going to cut the amount of chocolate chips in half...it just doesnt need as much to taste great. (Unless you just want to be sinful...then add away!) They are so moist and delicious warmed in the microwave the next day....and with coffee!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheeseburger in Paradise March 17, 2009

Oh Yum! I made these in my mini muffin tin and got 48 bite size muffins. I think I should make regular size next time because I think I eat more when they're small. I used 4 small bananas that had been frozen, they seemed a bit liquidy, so I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour. I used whole wheat flour and splenda.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ba4Hire February 28, 2009

I became ecstatic when i saw this recipe! My favorite baking ingredient in the world is banana, and the flavor of it goes so well with chocolate chips in this muffin. I used 1/2 cup all-purpose flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat to give it a little variation, but not to lose the goodness and texture of the white flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ugottalovecarmen February 26, 2009
Low-Fat Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins