83 Reviews

Pretty darned good, but the Banana crunch muffin recipe is better. These are still quite tasty, though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
francoroni August 14, 2011

I made the following changes: i didn't have any eggs so I used egg replacer. Instead of plain instant oatmeal I used half banana flavored, half apple flavored instant oatmeal.
The results are mixed. These are VERY moist muffins. They took about 10 minutes longer than the recipe said to bake. However, the flavor is really good. The texture is very moist and not at all rubbery. I will use again when I have eggs and see how they turn out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gluten_free_mommy_cook May 09, 2011

Wonderful muffins! I halved the sugar, which was sweet enough for my liking. I also used a greased muffin pan, rather than the paper liners. They came out of the pan without issue. They were wonderfully moist and tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
br2brown July 05, 2010

Not bad, nice that they are low fat. I had frozen bananas that I defrosted which seemed to make a lot of mashed banana. I drained some of the watery bit off the banana mixture, but to me these muffins were a bit mushy or spongey. They are still good, but they've got that texture about them. Thanks for sharing. It's good for learning!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo June 21, 2010

I ran out of applesauce, so I halved the recipe and it turned out wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Happy May 07, 2010

This is a very good low fat muffin. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is due to the texture. I have yet to find a low fat muffin that is not a little bit rubbery, but the taste makes up for this only draw back. Easy to prepare! I added 1/2 cup raisins and 1/4 teasp cinnamon (personal preference) yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary JPGR April 25, 2010

Pretty good. I used splenda too. They are a little chewy but I am sure that is because there is no fat in them. Cannot have everything. Well worth not having all those extra fat grams and calories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teriffic February 11, 2010

I used Splenda rather than sugar and half wheat flour. Very easy recipe and very flavorful muffin. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2FrenchCats January 21, 2010

My family loved these. I'm not sure I would have tried them if it weren't for all the great reviews. Thanks we be making these again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kadenj January 17, 2010

definitely a guilt-free muffin! I used blueberries instead of the chocolate chips and a chunky cinnamon applesauce. They turned out wonderful (great for this fruit-lover!) I'll have to eat them quick though, they are so moist I'm afraid they'll mold!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BreadBkr September 30, 2009
Low-Fat Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins