Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low-Fat Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low-Fat Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2011

      I made the following changes: i didn't have any eggs so I used egg replacer. Instead of plain instant oatmeal I used half banana flavored, half apple flavored instant oatmeal.
      The results are mixed. These are VERY moist muffins. They took about 10 minutes longer than the recipe said to bake. However, the flavor is really good. The texture is very moist and not at all rubbery. I will use again when I have eggs and see how they turn out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Wonderful muffins! I halved the sugar, which was sweet enough for my liking. I also used a greased muffin pan, rather than the paper liners. They came out of the pan without issue. They were wonderfully moist and tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Not bad, nice that they are low fat. I had frozen bananas that I defrosted which seemed to make a lot of mashed banana. I drained some of the watery bit off the banana mixture, but to me these muffins were a bit mushy or spongey. They are still good, but they've got that texture about them. Thanks for sharing. It's good for learning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      I ran out of applesauce, so I halved the recipe and it turned out wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      This is a very good low fat muffin. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is due to the texture. I have yet to find a low fat muffin that is not a little bit rubbery, but the taste makes up for this only draw back. Easy to prepare! I added 1/2 cup raisins and 1/4 teasp cinnamon (personal preference) yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Pretty good. I used splenda too. They are a little chewy but I am sure that is because there is no fat in them. Cannot have everything. Well worth not having all those extra fat grams and calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      I used Splenda rather than sugar and half wheat flour. Very easy recipe and very flavorful muffin. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      My family loved these. I'm not sure I would have tried them if it weren't for all the great reviews. Thanks we be making these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      definitely a guilt-free muffin! I used blueberries instead of the chocolate chips and a chunky cinnamon applesauce. They turned out wonderful (great for this fruit-lover!) I'll have to eat them quick though, they are so moist I'm afraid they'll mold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Oh my!! Very yummy! My family loves these - my kids who used to eat all the bananas before they could become overripe for baking, now intentionally let a few over-ripen and then beg me to make these muffins. They gobble them up. It's now a favorite treat in our home and I feel good because they are eating something healthy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      This recipe is great! I decided to omit the chocolate chips and add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. They turned out perfectly. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Turned out really great! I did add a few walnuts and a sprinkly of cinnamon. Will definetly use again. My 9 year old really enjoys them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

    • These were great! I added about 1/4 cup of cocoa (though it probably didn't need it), and had to use berry applesauce as I didn't have any plain....and these were still fantastic! Ate one straight out of the oven with some fat free cream cheese. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Pretty good--I didn't use muffin papers and sprayed my non-stick tin but they were still kind of sticky. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      HOLY COW! These are fantastic! I just made these and my whole house smells like a bakery. I used half whole wheat flour and half all purpose and raisins instead of chocolate chips. I am constantly trying to find ways to "sneak in" extra nutrition for my 2 and 3 year old kids. I followed the recipe exactly for the rest and I am amazed how moist and flavorful they are. I think I may add some chopped nuts the next time, just to try it. These will be a staple in my house. Anyone still using commercial muffin mixes should know that making them from scratch is way, way better, better for you, and not at all difficult. I can't thank you enough for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      WOWZER!!!! These are sooo good! I used half cup of reg. flour and half cup of whole wheat. I didn't have any reg. apple sauce on hand so I used 1/3c. of Motts healthy harvest peach medly (all natural/no added sugar) and I don't think it effected the taste at all. I also cut the sugar in half...the choco. chips make it sweet enough for me to cut back on the sugar. And, based on some of the reviews i opted not to use liners, i just sprayed my pan real good with cooking spray and they came out with no problem at all. These are simply amazing and I will definitely be making them again and experimenting with add-ins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Man are these GOOD! I also used Splenda for the sugar and whole wheat flour and they were awesome! I cant believe Im saying this but next time Im going to cut the amount of chocolate chips in half...it just doesnt need as much to taste great. (Unless you just want to be sinful...then add away!) They are so moist and delicious warmed in the microwave the next day....and with coffee!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Oh Yum! I made these in my mini muffin tin and got 48 bite size muffins. I think I should make regular size next time because I think I eat more when they're small. I used 4 small bananas that had been frozen, they seemed a bit liquidy, so I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour. I used whole wheat flour and splenda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I became ecstatic when i saw this recipe! My favorite baking ingredient in the world is banana, and the flavor of it goes so well with chocolate chips in this muffin. I used 1/2 cup all-purpose flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat to give it a little variation, but not to lose the goodness and texture of the white flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low-Fat Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 158.3
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    16%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 241.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 16.3 g
    65%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes