82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this recipe! After reading the other reviews, I added a bit of pure vanilla, a dash of cinnamon and I used splenda in place of sugar (reduced to 1/4 cup), increased the apple sauce to 1/2 cup, used all whole wheat flour and I sprayed the muffin liners with cooking spray before filling them. Will make this recipe again and again! Wonderful way to use up those bananas in my freezer!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bluenoser75 April 06, 2010

Great recipe! I used whole wheat flour; Splenda (1/4 cup was sweet enough); 1/2 cup applesauce (unsweetened); added in about a tsp. each of vanilla and cinnamon; substituted walnuts for the chocolate chips. (Believe me, I would love the chocolate "kick" - we just cannot have the sugar). The result was tasty and tender, a really yummy little muffin that is a treat and easy on the diet. Thanks for this one!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Torachef 1997 September 17, 2013

YUM YUM YUM! I substituted Splenda for the sugar to save 35 calories per muffin, and they taste great. Good way to use up over-ripe bananas and get your chocolate fix all at once!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne June 18, 2003

These muffins were excellent. My kids loved them as much as I did. The only changes I made were to use whole wheat flour and to cut the amount of sugar and chocolate chips in half. I used miniature chocolate chips so there really was no need for half a cup. They were well-distributed throughout the muffins. I sprayed my muffin tin with non-stick spray and they released perfectly; no need for paper liners.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin January 28, 2012

Like others, I added vanilla, used all whole wheat flour, subbed 1/4c of Splenda, and used 1/2c applesauce. We loved them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beverlyt October 14, 2011

I'll be honest, I haven't tried them I'm sure they are delicious but they are small and they are still 4 points on weight watchers. I value every point and would like more for my 4 points.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy S. January 07, 2014

DELICIOUS! These have been requested over and over! I have tried (strongly-suggested!) variations, such as adding raisins, chopped walnuts and/or peanut butter chips. (If you add anything besides the chocolate chips, you must then use less of everything to balance it out, such as 1/4-1/5 of 2 add-ins.) Lastly, you can substitute the bananas with just about any other fruit, such as (approx. 1.5 cups) of blueberries--which I will try next and review soon! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenCookie March 13, 2012

Great recipe! I didn't have applesauce so I used a jar of baby pear puree; they were wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HilaryEm October 22, 2009

These smell divine!! They are in the oven right now and my house smells soooo good!! I did use some pumpkin in place of the applesauce since I didn't have any, and added some vanilla and cinnamon as others suggested. I also cut the sugar in half and added walnuts and a few chopped peanut butter chips. Will let you know how they taste after they get eaten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead June 20, 2014

I loved this recipe. I made it with King Arthur's whole wheat flour, along with two dashes of cinnamon and a teaspoon of vanilla. My husband said it was pretty good for a low-fat muffin. I'll freeze the leftovers and will definitely make this again :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Layla Noel March 16, 2014
Low-Fat Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins