Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low-Fat Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low-Fat Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on April 06, 2010

      Loved this recipe! After reading the other reviews, I added a bit of pure vanilla, a dash of cinnamon and I used splenda in place of sugar (reduced to 1/4 cup), increased the apple sauce to 1/2 cup, used all whole wheat flour and I sprayed the muffin liners with cooking spray before filling them. Will make this recipe again and again! Wonderful way to use up those bananas in my freezer!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      Great recipe! I used whole wheat flour; Splenda (1/4 cup was sweet enough); 1/2 cup applesauce (unsweetened); added in about a tsp. each of vanilla and cinnamon; substituted walnuts for the chocolate chips. (Believe me, I would love the chocolate "kick" - we just cannot have the sugar). The result was tasty and tender, a really yummy little muffin that is a treat and easy on the diet. Thanks for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2003

      YUM YUM YUM! I substituted Splenda for the sugar to save 35 calories per muffin, and they taste great. Good way to use up over-ripe bananas and get your chocolate fix all at once!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      These muffins were excellent. My kids loved them as much as I did. The only changes I made were to use whole wheat flour and to cut the amount of sugar and chocolate chips in half. I used miniature chocolate chips so there really was no need for half a cup. They were well-distributed throughout the muffins. I sprayed my muffin tin with non-stick spray and they released perfectly; no need for paper liners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      Like others, I added vanilla, used all whole wheat flour, subbed 1/4c of Splenda, and used 1/2c applesauce. We loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      I'll be honest, I haven't tried them I'm sure they are delicious but they are small and they are still 4 points on weight watchers. I value every point and would like more for my 4 points.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      DELICIOUS! These have been requested over and over! I have tried (strongly-suggested!) variations, such as adding raisins, chopped walnuts and/or peanut butter chips. (If you add anything besides the chocolate chips, you must then use less of everything to balance it out, such as 1/4-1/5 of 2 add-ins.) Lastly, you can substitute the bananas with just about any other fruit, such as (approx. 1.5 cups) of blueberries--which I will try next and review soon! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Great recipe! I didn't have applesauce so I used a jar of baby pear puree; they were wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2014

      These smell divine!! They are in the oven right now and my house smells soooo good!! I did use some pumpkin in place of the applesauce since I didn't have any, and added some vanilla and cinnamon as others suggested. I also cut the sugar in half and added walnuts and a few chopped peanut butter chips. Will let you know how they taste after they get eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      I loved this recipe. I made it with King Arthur's whole wheat flour, along with two dashes of cinnamon and a teaspoon of vanilla. My husband said it was pretty good for a low-fat muffin. I'll freeze the leftovers and will definitely make this again :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2014

      Outstanding recipe! I made this recipe with my 3 year old son, and he loved making them as well as eating them! To me, they taste even better than the full fat high calorie versions of this I've had. I followed exactly... only thing was I forgot the salt but with the oats I really didn't miss it. This is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      These are delicious and easy to make! I did use whole wheat flour, and I cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup. I sprayed my paper liners after reading other reviews. I will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      These muffins are really good! They truly are worth your time to make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      I made a batch of these just to use up my old bananas; OMG, they are great! Virtually no fat, full of fiber, ridiculously easy and mighty tasty to boot! I sprayed the muffin pan and did not use paper liners as from previous experience I know that low fat muffins always stick to the paper. I took half to work and everyone raved about them. They are moist, flavorful and not heavy at all. The only thing I would suggest would be to use mini chocolate chips for a more even chocolate dispersiion. I am going to try them with cinnamon chips next time. I may have to let my next batch of bananas go brown on purpose.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2013

    • on February 02, 2013

    • on September 16, 2012

      Sept 16/12 - These are fantastic! I used splenda in place of the sugar, and used whole wheat flour. The only applesauce in the house was strawberry/kiwi flavoured, so I used it. These muffins are to die for. Healthy and Yummy! Thanks for posting such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      I have made these several times now and they have become a favorite in my house. My girls love them and no one can believe they have no butter or oil. I used whole wheat flour like suggested and an unsweetened applesauce cup. A keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      I loved this one! I did make some changes, though... Made mine wheat-free by using a combination of corn flour, rice flour, and corn starch, and also by increasing the oats. As well, I used a bit of stevia for the sugar. They came out perfect! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      Pretty darned good, but the Banana crunch muffin recipe is better. These are still quite tasty, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low-Fat Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 158.3
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    16%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 241.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 16.3 g
    65%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites