9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh mmmm, these muffins are sooo good! They are moist, tasty and very satisfying! Loved how easy and quick these were to put together and how awesome they tasted! The wintery spices go great with the banana! YUM!
I only made 1/4 the recipe for just my sis and me ending up with 4 nicely sized muffins. As my bananas were very ripe I left out the sugar and instead of a commercial egg sub, I used applesauce. That worked out really well.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this definite keeper with us, MsSally! Ill make these again for sure!
Made and reviewed for I Recommend Tag Game and the fruit event in the photo forum July 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula July 09, 2011

I have tried several low fat Banana muffins and they usually are so dry. I made these and changed a few ingredients. I'm on Weight Watchers and I just could not find a banana buttermilk muffin that sounded good and low in fat & calories. The ingredients that I used were canola oil instead of applesauce because I had no applesauce and used 1 regular egg instead of a egg substitute and I added 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips and these were wonderful. Nice and moist,had to watch the timer as I made jumbo muffins (about 8) and they took about 22 minutes to bake,keeping a eye on them. I use a cake tester to check them to make sure they are done completely. Do not over mix the batter just enough to get all ingredients mixed up. Definitely will be making these again. I put 4 in freezer to pull out when I'm craving something good to eat! Key to moist muffins is not to over bake them,keep a watch on them on the last few minutes. Don't know how many WW points these are but you have to treat yourself once in awhile.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bakerbee10 February 20, 2011

No-one would guess that these deliciously moist and flavoursome muffins are so low in fat. I made mine exactly to the recipe, except for using an egg rather than egg substitute, and I'll certainly be making them again! The free-range eggs I get direct from a workmate's farm are just SO delicious I've never been in the least tempted to seek out egg substitutes. Made for the EVERY DAY IS A HOLIDAY! game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder December 22, 2008

So yummy! I used an egg instead of the egg substitute, and 3 large bananas. Took 20 minutes to bake and came out very moist, which I was pleased with. I think next time I'll add some walnuts. I've never used the applesauce/buttermilk combo, but it worked really well in place of oil or butter. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindcook August 11, 2013

These muffins were made of help lure in potential buyers during a park-wide garage sale! Whether it gets me more buyers or just more of those who appreciate my baked goods, I'm not sure, but I enjoy doing it, & I really enjoyed making & eating these tasty muffins of yours! What with the healthy aspect & their great taste, they're definitely worth making again! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 16, 2011

I made a few changes. I used only all purpose flour. I used old-fashioned oatmeal. I wanted to used applesauce but my jar was too old :( So I used canola oil. And instead of egg substitute (mine was frozen), I used 1 egg. I had 3 bananas. They are very yummy even though there are more fat. Thanks MsSally :) Made for Holiday tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 25, 2010

Oh man, these are SO good! I love that they are made with whole wheat and have no butter or oil. I used all splenda in place of sugar and made no other substitutions. I used two good sized bananas and it seemed to be plenty. I did get 15 muffins out of this recipe - good thing too, cuz I ate three while they were warm out of the oven!! Thanks for a wonderful healthy banana muffin recipe MsSally :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI March 19, 2009

These is a great oaty-banana muffin recipe in that it is LF and LC. A few deviations from your recipe - for the 1/2 cup unsweetned applesauce, I used homemade cinnamon flavored with a touch of sugar. I didn't have egg sub and so used 1 whole egg. Also, used Splenda sugar in place of regular. Other than that, followed as written. Thanks MsSally...this was made as a TY for your hosting duties here on Zaar. Kudo's!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB December 13, 2008

Very tasty and forgiving muffins. I made these in a hurry and didn't notice that I had only used 3/4 cup of flour (I made a 1/2 recipe). Some one had used the 1 cup and left it by the sink. Even so they were very good and baked nicely even if the dough was too soft. I know that they would have risen better if I had been paying attention. I love the very low fat content and with the use of Splenda I even cut back the sugar amount somewhat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 06, 2008
Low-Fat Banana Buttermilk Muffins