Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Get Healthy Your Way

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    Totally Satisfying. Totally Made by You.
    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    The 16 Benefits You Won't Believe
    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    Bust Your Cravings and Button Your Jeans!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low-Fat Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low-Fat Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    141 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 141

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2005

      I'm mixed on this bread. I also cut down on the sugar and used all applesauce. The bread didn't rise at all and has a rough texture on the outside. However, I found it still to be pretty tasty. It was very good and sweet for being low fat. I might make them as mini muffins next time or just make one large loaf instead of two small.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2004

      This turned out good, however I started to make it then found out I had no butter, so I used 4 tbsp applesauce but was good. thnks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2004

      I made this recipe last night, and my suite-mates ate the whole thing before I even had a chance to get my camera. The bread is moist, very banana-esque. I used 2/3 cups of sugar instead, since I don't like it too sweet. I didn't tell anybody it was low fat, and nobody suspected. :P Will add walnuts next time. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2004

      Excellent banana bread recipe, and even better that it is healthy! My family loved it (including MIL!!) Didn't last long in our house. I made it in one loaf pan and it was perfect. Thanks for a new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      This was very good for being low-fat. I made it just as you said but made only one very large loaf! It is very tasty but almost too moist. Even with it beign so moist I will be making this again as it's tasty and not too bad for you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      Delicious! I cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup and it was still plenty sweet. What a wonderful banana flavour and it was lovely and moist! I made the two loaves and froze one and it was just as good when I thawed it. This tastes like a treat but it's so nice to know it is actually healthy! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      lost my original copy of your recipe and sooo happy to have found it again.. Everyone loved these muffins....Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2003

      I've made this recipe several times and it has been great! this last time i went for only half a cup of sugar, (only 3 bananas as well) and i added 4tbs of applesauce and no margarine. I also put the batter into cupcake cups with some walnuts on top and it was still great, and so low in sugar and fat! i recommend

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      i halve the recipe as i only have 2 ripe bananas. i manage to make 1 small loaf, 4 mini muffins! they smelled so good while baking. very moist, doesn't taste low-fat at all. i improvised a little though; cut back on sugar (i used brown), added a pinch of cinnamon, nutmeg. and i also folded in some granny smith apple chunks and chopped walnuts. mmmm... results were so good! i finish 1/3 of the mini loaf before it could even cool!! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      VERY good for low-fat. I even made it more healthy by using 1/2 cup of splenda and 1/2 cup of sugar as someone else had suggested. I used cinnamon applesauce, which I think added some flavor, too! More spongey than the more fattening alternative, but still awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2003

      The taste was awesome!! I added chocolate chips to make it even more spectacular. The texture was a little bit chewy compared to other recipes however, it was well worth it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2003

      This is a good recipe. The bread is very most and delicious. The applesauce added a bit of sweetness, though, so next time, I think i will ust 1/2 -3/4 c of sugar instead of a whole cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2003

      This is excellent even for a rookie like me. I do not make bakery too much but this is awesome with very easy instruction. If you have a hand-blender you're good to go. I don't think I'm going to freeze it overnight as I want to keep the softness and moisture. A++++++++

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2003

      DOESN'T TASTE LOW FAT! :) And that's a good thing! I had only two disgustingly overripe bananas, so I used this basic recipe divided in half. I used one whole egg still and an extra tablespoon of applesauce and the result was an incredibly moist loaf that tasted rich and delicious. This is my new favorite banana bread recipe - and none of my friends will even realize it's healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2003

      This is fabulous and easy. To lighten it up even more, I used "Smart Balance Light" instead of butter and it was still great. I used real sugar. I'm going to try 1/2 sugar and 1/2 Splenda next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      I made this with 2 friends who each gave it 5 stars. We threw in some nuts in half of it, and one of liked it with nuts better. We used a decorative mold bread tube for some, which made it more dense. THAT was really good. We used grated apple in place of apple sauce, and it worked rather well! 3 thumbs up on low fat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2003

      Well, I had 4 brown bananas my kids refused to eat and I really didnt think I would be in agreement with the reviews when I read the ingredients, But boy was I wrong! This bread is 3 words~ FAB U LOUS!!! I also made in one pan and it was perfect! Thanks for a SUPER recipe! HATS OFF!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      This is as good as everyone says. It smelled like donuts when it was baking and just made my mouth water. I took it along when helping some friends move into a new house, and I got so many comliments! Very moist and banana-y. Next time I will pour all the batter into one pan, as the loaves came out very small.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      I liked it! It was very delicious and fragrant! And it was easy to make, easy enough for someone who's trying to bake for the very first time like me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      This was a very delicious banana bread and moist too. I made 1/2 the recipe, for 1 loaf, it made a small 8-in loaf pan size. Next time I will double it like the recipe says. I only changed the flour...3/4 white flour, 1/4 whole wheat flour. A little extra applesauce wouldn't hurt either. Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low-Fat Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.3
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    12%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 20.5 mg
    6%
    Sodium 144.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 21.5 g
    86%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes