141 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW! So moist and sooo easy to make. I will definitely keep this one around for those times I need to use up bananas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 November 01, 2008

Ummm, just realized I forgot to put the egg in! REALLY low fat! And guess what? Totally great! I'll add the egg next time and make no mistake, there will for sure be a next time. This is the PERFECT moist healthier EASY banana bread. Took 5 minutes to throw together and baked up perfectly. Could not be more pleased!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liza at Food.com October 08, 2008

Good recipe. I felt it was a bit too sweet. I'm going to try it again with 1/2 splenda and 1/2 brown sugar. Last time I used 1 cup of white and 1/2 cup of whole wheat pastry flour, turned out great. Next time I will use flax seeds, egg beaters and 2 bananas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wigs October 06, 2008

This recipe is awesome. I made it for the first time a few weeks ago and my husband loved it. It was gone in a day. I also took it to work for an early morning meeting treat and the entire loaf was gone in about 10 minutes. Everyone loved it and was asking for the recipe. They could not believe it was low fat! It's so easy, too, takes no time at all except for the baking. Great, great recipe, one I will keep in my recipe box!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fatbuddy99 October 06, 2008

I thought this receipe sounded great - but got partially through mixing it and didn't have applesauce! I ended up using about 3T butter and 2 T vanilla low-fat yogurt, and added nutmeg/cinnamon. I also reduced sugar to 2/3 C and used half brown, half white - subbed 1/2 C WW flour as well. I increased the baking powder/soda just a bit for the WW flour, and added a handful of oats & a handful of raisins I'd soaked in boiling water. I made one loaf and it is very good banana bread - I will make this again - nice texture & not too dense (or "sticky" as was said recently). Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wax lion September 07, 2008

I made this recipe and love it! I made mini loaves and froze some to enjoy for some other time. The recipe I usually use for traditional banana bread, I have made for years but is higher in fat. This one tastes similar, with less fat and is so moist and not 'sticky' like some other low-fat baked goods recipes that use applesauce. I followed it exactly but used about 3/4 cups of sugar. Looks like this is the recipe I will always make from now on and and I will also be making mini loaves for the upcoming United Way bake sale at work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraMRonJ September 04, 2008

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe....I have made it so many times but I am only now getting around to reviewing it. I have made it as is, with great results, but have also made small substitutions like oil instead of butter and adding some cinnamon. Another big alteration, albeit delcious is I have made it with 1 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling) INSTEAD of banana....awesome! You won't go wrong with this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SZNB August 26, 2008

i made this - subbing 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup vanilla protein powder for the flour, used slightly less than 3/4 cup sugar, egg white, and 4 tablespoons of applesauce (no butter) - baked them as muffins for about 25 minutes...this is a keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ August 12, 2008

this was terrific! I mixed up all the dry ing first and then added the wet. I used one thing of applesauce and Ener-G egg replacer instead of the egg. Also added nuts & cinnamon. So easy and really tasty. Like another reviewer, I put it all in one loaf pan and baked it for 60 min.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alpa.71 July 02, 2008

This was only my second time making banana bread, and I have to say that I was not overly impressed with this. I stayed fairly close to the recipe, only using 50/50 on the flour (wheat/white) and sugar (brown/white), but reduced the sugar just a little after reading the reviews. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg, then added sliced almonds to one loaf and chocolate chips to the other. The bread is very dense and IF I ever make this again, it will definitely all go into one loaf pan or just into muffins, because it did not raise as much as I expected.Thanks for helping me to use up bananas that would have otherwise gone to waste, but I am going to keep looking for a go-to banana bread recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qotw13 June 01, 2008
Low-Fat Banana Bread