141 Reviews

I have made banana bread many times and was surprised that one with far fewer calories and fat could be this good! I didn't have any issues with the texture becoming rubbery as other reviews have complained of. It turned out very moist and a bit dense (which we like). It was perfectly sweet without overwhelming the banana flavor. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate Plate November 24, 2009

This was great, although I changed it enough it's not really the same recipe. I made 1.5x the recipe and it made only 2 small loaves, next time I'll double it for 2. I substituted stone-ground whole wheat for the the white flour, used the spiced chunky applesauce (no sugar, naturally sweetened) from Trader Joes and about 1/2 cup, no butter, 5 bananas (should have had 6, but added so much apple I didn't want it to be overly moist), brown sugar for white and in half. Also added a lot of chopped walnuts, a whole grated carrot, and a handful of dried cherries - and it was great! For those who like really sweet, this wasn't, but I told myself it was so healthy I could eat and eat and eat :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmd50 November 01, 2009

Yummy! I tried the apple sauce only recipe and it was a hit. I also subbed half of the white flour w/ whole wheat flour and splenda for the sugar to make it more diabetic-friendly. Perfect--and no one knew it was better for them than the usual recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maura.crossin November 01, 2009

Delicious, thanks! I made mini muffins and the consistency was perfect. Had to wait until they were cool tho to remove paper, otherwise they stuck. (hard to resist!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amlaphq October 25, 2009

Great Banana Bread - low fat or not! I did reduce the sugar to 3/4 C. as several cooks had suggested. It was just fine. I also added 3 T. wheat germ as another reviewer had suggested - nice healthy addition. I like my bread a little taller so I think I would have liked it baked in just one pan. As it was, I used one regular loaf pan and one mini tea-sized loaf pan. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making October 05, 2009

I've tried so many low fat banana breads and they always turn out too dense and not bready at all. This one was perfect--moist and bready. It makes one nice sized loaf and I like that it has 4 banadas (most have 2) because of the increased nutritional value. I added walnuts and it was really good that way. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pudding33 August 20, 2009

This only made one loaf for me, but I still enjoyed it. I used 3/4 C whole wheat pastry flour and 3/4 C All purpose flour. I only used 1/2 C brown sugar (packed). I added 1 T. ground flax seed, 1 t. cinnamon, and 1/2 C toasted walnuts. Very moist and yummy. Can't wait to try it with dried cranberries next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clancysa August 02, 2009

Loved this recipe! Made is along side another low fat banana oat bread and it won hands down! Added fresh blueberries which are in season for a yummy treat. Super moist and easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KellyD July 26, 2009
Low-Fat Banana Bread