Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low-Fat Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low-Fat Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    140 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 140

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2008

      AWESOME! I too substituted Splenda for the sugar, and did all applesauce instead of butter. I used the lower fat egg whites instead of the egg. These were great!!! Kids and I sat down for a great low fat/no sugar snack! Thank you!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      This bread is so moist and delicious! I halved the recipe because I only had 2 bananas. I also used Splenda instead of sugar because DH is a Diabetic. Other than that, I followed the directions. We both loved this bread and I'll be making this recipe often. Thank you SJG3483 for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      I thought this was ok but it might've been because I changed the recipie a little. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar and all applesauce instead of the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      this is my first time baking bread and it so much fun, my mom and i did it together. it took a lit while to bake but well worth it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      When I made this bread it was very gooey after I baked for more than a hour! The edges were dry but the middle part is still like liquid when I bake it. Maybe using 3 bananas is enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      I made this bread with one loaf pan and 5 cup cakes because some of the reviews said 2 loaf pans are too much. I used 1/2 cup sugar and added crushed pinapples instead of applesauce. I added some vanila yogurt (1 TBs) and crushed walnuts. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon. My daugter and husband already finished the cupcakes.I am freezing the laof so that it will be out of sight for me. So this one is a keeper. Thnaks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      This was fabulous...here are my changes: fresh ground nutmeg, cinnimon and a dash of ground ginger (it made it tasted perfect) I also wanted to make only one loaf and it seemed to small halved so I changed the servings to 1.5 loaves and put it in one pan, perfect amount (I just used one whole egg too). I also split the flour (with whole wheat) and the sugars (brown and white). YUMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      This is a very good low-fat recipe. The only thing I changed was split the sugar between brown and white. This bread is very moist and flavorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      This is great! I made half the recipe in foil muffin pans (made 9) in my toaster oven and topped them with walnuts. They are so moist and yummy! So nice to know that they're low fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      I think this could very well be my new regular banana bread recipe from now on! This is a great recipe. I did a bit of tweaking; I only used 3 bananas, and 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce in total, in place of the extra banana as well as the butter. (So no butter in my bread.) I used 1 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour, and I added 3 TB of wheat germ like another reviewer suggested. I cut down the sugar to 3/4 cup. And to finish, I sprinkled the top of the loaf with a mixture of sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg so the top became crunchy and sweet. I'll add cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter next time too, since I forgot, and maybe sub some regular sugar for some brown. The recipe made one good sized loaf for me. It's very tasty and moist and we love it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      This banana bread was really good! I was afraid to make it because most low-fat options don't taste as rich but it was real moist and full of taste! However, I did make a few changes from the original recipe. I put in a little more applesauce with only 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. And to make it a little more moist, I placed it in the freezer for a while immediately after pulling it out of the oven. My brother couldn't even tell that it was low-fat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      strong banana flavor, but would bake for the full 60 minutes. I only made one loaf, and would probably do that next time also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      I thought this was very good, especially for being "low fat". The problem I have is not necissarily with the recipe, its with the website. Whey can they not figure out those nutrion facts? Most of the ingredients are not factered into the nutriotion facts, so who knows if it's low fat or not?? I hope this can be fixed...maybe you could contact recipezaar to figure it out. The bread was great, and I made it just as it appeared. Thankyou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      I really appreciated this recipe. It had good texture, was dense and very moist. I did use egg subtitute and about 1/4 cup of low fat buttermilk instead of the butter to make it even lower in fat. I baked it in a non stick bundt pan and had no problem with it releasing. Thank you SJG3483 for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      i really liked this. i used 1 c whole wheat graham flour and 1/2 c masa harina (i really like the taste of corn and banana) and only 3/4 c sugar. next time i would use 1/2 c sugar and add 1/2 t salt, it needed a little, despite the large amout of soda in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      I just just made this bread. i cut it in half because i only had two very ripe bananas. I also used less sugar as mentioned. I am burning my mouth now while eating this bread, but it is sooo good. Even though it is low fat it is still moist and very banana tasting. I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I can't stop eating this! I cut the recipe in half (because I only had 2 bananas to use up) but went ahead and used the whole egg (because I was too lazy to measure out what half would be.) It turned out just fine! My loaf was pretty short, but texture and flavor are perfect. THe kids loved it, and I'm enjoying some with cream cheese right now. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      Used all unsweetened applesauce, no butter and egg substitute. This was great, had a wonderful banana flavor, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      This was really good. I made mine into muffins and I had some butterscotch frosting left from a spice muffin recipe which I put on top. Divine (though kinda spoilt the healthier aspect of this). Thanks for a really easy recipe which is delicious to boot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      I cut the recipe down a little bit, and reduced the amount of sugar even more because i normally eat it with butter on it so it didn't need all the sugar. It is still really good! I made this and another banana bread recipe (hint: it's a really highly rated one) and i think I like this one better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low-Fat Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.3
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    12%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 20.5 mg
    6%
    Sodium 144.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 21.5 g
    86%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites