141 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely delicious, moist and wonderful. This is just as good (if not better) than my regular recipe which has a lot more calories and fat. Great banana flavour and it is still moist three days after I made it. I did add a few choc chips for my son but other than that, followed as written. Thanks a bunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word March 29, 2013

This was a nice, moist banana bread and very easy to make. I did sprinkle a small handful of chocolate chips into the batter just because I love them. :-) Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jonesies January 26, 2013

I love the idea of a better for us banana bread ! I also tried some additional modifications I thought I'd share: 1) used NO oil/butter 2) increased applesauce to 4 tbls 3) decreased sugar to 3/4 C and added about 2 tbls of honey 4) replaced the egg with egg whites only (3 tbls = 1 whole egg). End result was good, not great. Could have been sweeter and I think I'd cut back to 2 tbls of egg whites, it was a bit "eggy", but a wonderful base to work from.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julsinboston February 03, 2012

Well, it was edible. I don't know what I did wrong, but mine came out very dense. Again, it didn't go to waste, but I probably wouldn't make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pccreative November 21, 2011

Wow, really good! I used half the sugar and added chocolate chips. My kids who don't usually eat home baked goods ate it up pretty fast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca Huynh September 12, 2011

OMG I can't believe how good this is considering its low fat. I subbed 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, no butter but added 1/2 cup applesauce, added ground flax seed and wheat germ and what came out of the oven was a tasty dense bread. I will make this again - thanks. I also cooked this is a bundt pan for 45 min. Oh and used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white. Update: I also added blue berries and pecans - yum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie June 22, 2011

Good recipe as written but I made it healthier by using 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, 3/4 cup self rising flour, eliminated the white sugar by using 2/3 cup agave nectar. Rather than the fat I drained and rinsed diced peaches then pureed them adding to the batter. I eliminated the applesauce because I didn't have any. I also added 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and 1/8 tsp of cinnamon. For a little extra kick I added a little less than 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder. The bread was so incredibly moist and delicious I will definitely make it again. Making these substitutions makes a fat free, sugar free, salt free scrumptous bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debkcap_11390289 May 24, 2011

Awesome banana bread. Like most I opted to leave out butter entirely and upped the applesauce (no sugar added) to 4 tbsp. I also used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup white. It came out perfect, moist and very flavorful. My boyfriend couldn't tell it was "healthy" banana bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nora_colleen May 23, 2011

This recipe is fantastic and easy. I don't know what else to say, haha. Made twice already, each time with things I already have in my pantry (just remember to buy the bananas enough in advance so they can ripen). Just want to add my top rating so others can be willing to try for themselves to see how fantastic it is :))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsmcfarland May 10, 2011

Very good recipe, especially considering it's low fat. I made a few tweaks to the recipe like other people. 1 cup reg flour/ 1/2 cup whole wheat flour; 1/2 cup brown sugar/ 1/2 regular sugar; added a few dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg. The bread turned out great! I would definitely make this again! Next time though I may try to up the amount of whole wheat flour vs regular flour just to make it healthier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamraph April 21, 2011
Low-Fat Banana Bread