141 Reviews

Delicious! I tweaked the recipe to make it a bit healthier. I used 1/2 cup (unsweetened) applesauce to make it more moist. I used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup white flour. I also used less sugar than the recipe recommends, 3/4 cup instead of 1. I figured that the bananas and applesauce are sweet anyways. I also added nutmeg and cinnamon for extra flavor. I decided to make it a muffin pan, because I personally like it be in servings already so that I don't take too big of a slice!! Very good and I will definitely make it again. Maybe even a bit less sugar next time...

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amyk86 April 21, 2011

Very good! I made a few changes. I used whole wheat flour, splenda brown sugar blend, 4 tablespoons applesauce and no oil, added a little flax meal, cinnamon, walnuts and vanilla extract. They came out great, very moist and healthy too!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sryseff May 28, 2009

Worked great the first time. Substituted dried apricots for a banana. Second time got more adventurous and substituted 2T. Applesauce for the butter, Splenda sugar blend for the sugar, added walnuts, cinnamon, cloves. I'm baking it now.

I don't like how this recipe is written which is why it gets 4 stars. I think you get a better bread if you mix dry and wet ingredients separately then blend them together with minimal mixing to make sure the baking soda and powder are as active as possible, and have the oven preheated for the same reason. Some people got a dense bread and this might be why. I made it right the first time because I get mixed results if I just throw everything together. You either get the dense bread from over mixing or leaving the baking powder and soda mixed with wet ingredients too long, or if you don't mix it enough you bite into your bread and get a mouthful of baking soda taste because the dry ingredients weren't blended together first.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jem813 September 30, 2012

LOVE this recipe! It is my new favorite banana bread recipe. Is delicious as is or for a real treat add 1/2 - 3/4 cup of chocolate chips ... perhaps not so as low-fat but wow is it good :) A couple of notes. One, this made only 1 loaf for me. Two, because it is so moist in order for it to cook in the middle enough I had to cook it the full 60 minutes and it got very dark. I was worried because most quick breads would taste burned being this dark but it still tasted wonderful. Great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shakahari April 23, 2010

Great recipe! But I agree with previous posts - half the sugar, cut out the butter and double the applesauce - and voila!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julcuz April 11, 2010

Very sweet & different from the dark brown banana bread. I added pumpkin pie spice to give it another layer of flavor - try it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJ Jones The Hat Lady of SW Florida April 04, 2009

After reading some of the reviews, I decided to take some suggestions and make 12 low fat/low cal muffins. I subbed 1/2 c white flour, 1/2 c wheat flour and 1/2 c quick oats for the flour. I subbed 1/2 c Splenda white sugar and 1/4 c Splenda brown sugar for the sugar (they're sweet, but I like them that way). I eliminated the butter and increased the applesauce to 4 tablespoons of natural, no sugar added applesauce. I baked them for 24 minutes. I think that the oatmeal adds a nice texture to them. Very yummalicious! Calories: 96, Fat: 1.2 g, Carbs: 21 g, Fiber: 2 g, Protein: 2.6 g

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Louisville Mimi January 29, 2009

Wow.....this is so good! I didn't have any apple sauce so I blended up some canned manderin oranges. I cut the sugar by 1/4 cup. This recipe didn't taste like a low fat recipe. I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview June 23, 2011

loved the recipe!!! super simple!! i did make my own changes i did a 1/2 cup of wheat flour and 1 cup of white flour..1/2 cup brown sugar 1/2 cup of white sugar..a dash of nutmeg a dash of cinnamon..no butter a whole cup (that i give my daughter to eat - single serving) of cinnamon applesauce...added chopped pecans on top.. LOVED it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greenidgrl17_1581910 March 19, 2011

It is great right out of the oven...I'm letting it cool now, but I just had to try it. I made one loaf and used half whole wheat flour and half all purpose. I also omitted the butter and used 1/2 cup of applesauce. DELICIOUS!!! Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bubu599 December 31, 2010
Low-Fat Banana Bread