Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low-fat Banana Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low-fat Banana Bars

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2013

      Wonderful recipe. I left out the butter from the cake altogether and doubled the amount of applesauce. The texture was spongy and delicious. It was a wonderful treat. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      Delicious! Followed the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      Very tasty. My hubby is already on his third piece as I write this review! I used half cake flour, half all purpose flour in hopes it would have a lighter cake texture. It turned out a little dense, but more cake like than a banana bread, exactly what I wanted.

      To further "healthify" this recipe I made the following changes;
      1) Substituted the margarine in both bar and frosting with Brummel & Brown spread.
      2) Cut the frosting ingredients in half, thinned it out with a touch of water, more like a glaze. It covered the bar (cake) well and is plenty sweet for us.
      3) Omitted the walnuts, this time ;)

      For Weight Watchers Plus program I calculated 4 points per bar, with my adjustments. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      Simple and delicious. Even being lower in fat, the hubby and I both loved them! I used light butter with great results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      YUM!!! These were great! I kept staring at the 2 bananas that needed to be eaten, and then this came along. I added cinnamon to the mix and to the icing, as well as another icing change (less sugar and had some honey nut flavored cream cheese in the fridge that also needed to be used). Everything came out great. The best part is, these are really filling as well. We had a late breakfast and actually skipped lunch because no one was hungry, no snack either. Kids, myself, and hubby were completely full until dinner-we ate 2 bars each at breakfast. Will definately make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      These banana bars are really good and easy. I used just half the frosting and left in the 1/2 of banana so they wouldn't be quite so sweet. Worked great. My 5 year-old niece liked these so much she asked for them again the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      These were amazing!!! I was getting tired of the ole banana bread routine and I'm so glad I tried these. Only change I made was using a low-fat margarine and I added 2 tablespoons of plain yogurt. This turned out to be a nice dense brownie-like texure. The frosting was terrific too. I'm so glad to have a light dessert option with these. I think next time I may reduce the calories by just topping with powdered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Super good! I used canola oil instead of the margarine, and used 1/2 cup Splenda, and 1/2 cup regular sugar. For the frosting, I added 2 tablespoons of low fat peanut butter, and left out the salt and mashed banana. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      OK, I have to admit that I did not have applesauce, so I substituted oil, bad, I know, but this was sooooo good, my husband never suspected, I did use 1/2 c wheat flour in place of 1/2 c white flour, and did have nuts, and it was great. :) Will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2005

      This recipe is great! Simple to make and sweet to eat. Don't throw away your old banana's anymore.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2004

      This cake was great. The cake was moist and the frosting added a nice extra sweetness. I brought it to work and everyone loved it. Nice change from ordinary banana bread when you have those over-ripe bananas to use! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2004

      Best banana cake i've made! I baked the cake in a 9 inch round cake pan and it came out great. For the frosting i left out the banana and added about 2 TBSP cinnamon. Also added cinnamon into the cake batter along with some raisins. Will definately be using this recipe when i have overly ripened bananas from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low-fat Banana Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 208.8
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    21%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 12.3 mg
    4%
    Sodium 207.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 28.5 g
    114%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes