12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful recipe. I left out the butter from the cake altogether and doubled the amount of applesauce. The texture was spongy and delicious. It was a wonderful treat. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ricee August 14, 2013

Delicious! Followed the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tasianicole624 July 17, 2013

Very tasty. My hubby is already on his third piece as I write this review! I used half cake flour, half all purpose flour in hopes it would have a lighter cake texture. It turned out a little dense, but more cake like than a banana bread, exactly what I wanted.

To further "healthify" this recipe I made the following changes;
1) Substituted the margarine in both bar and frosting with Brummel & Brown spread.
2) Cut the frosting ingredients in half, thinned it out with a touch of water, more like a glaze. It covered the bar (cake) well and is plenty sweet for us.
3) Omitted the walnuts, this time ;)

For Weight Watchers Plus program I calculated 4 points per bar, with my adjustments. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
casmir123 January 03, 2013

Simple and delicious. Even being lower in fat, the hubby and I both loved them! I used light butter with great results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oatmeal Doctor December 14, 2012

YUM!!! These were great! I kept staring at the 2 bananas that needed to be eaten, and then this came along. I added cinnamon to the mix and to the icing, as well as another icing change (less sugar and had some honey nut flavored cream cheese in the fridge that also needed to be used). Everything came out great. The best part is, these are really filling as well. We had a late breakfast and actually skipped lunch because no one was hungry, no snack either. Kids, myself, and hubby were completely full until dinner-we ate 2 bars each at breakfast. Will definately make again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sellersfam4 July 02, 2011

These banana bars are really good and easy. I used just half the frosting and left in the 1/2 of banana so they wouldn't be quite so sweet. Worked great. My 5 year-old niece liked these so much she asked for them again the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas May 17, 2010

These were amazing!!! I was getting tired of the ole banana bread routine and I'm so glad I tried these. Only change I made was using a low-fat margarine and I added 2 tablespoons of plain yogurt. This turned out to be a nice dense brownie-like texure. The frosting was terrific too. I'm so glad to have a light dessert option with these. I think next time I may reduce the calories by just topping with powdered sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am May 17, 2009

Super good! I used canola oil instead of the margarine, and used 1/2 cup Splenda, and 1/2 cup regular sugar. For the frosting, I added 2 tablespoons of low fat peanut butter, and left out the salt and mashed banana. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes May 03, 2009

OK, I have to admit that I did not have applesauce, so I substituted oil, bad, I know, but this was sooooo good, my husband never suspected, I did use 1/2 c wheat flour in place of 1/2 c white flour, and did have nuts, and it was great. :) Will make again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crocheting Mama January 03, 2006

This recipe is great! Simple to make and sweet to eat. Don't throw away your old banana's anymore.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gennaland August 02, 2005
Low-fat Banana Bars