13 Reviews

I think Rachel007 may have mistakenly used sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk - this is a huge difference. Many products labeled "condensed milk" (in the US, at least) are actually SWEETENED condensed milk - they have a lot of sugar added to them and are meant to be used in desserts. I cannot see this recipe having a "sickly sweet flavor" from evaporated milk. I think this recipe may have been a victim of "wrong ingredient syndrome" :)

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xtine May 21, 2007

This is an exellent recipe! Keep on posting Merlot!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raphaelle Standell-Preston November 18, 2002

It was really tasty, I substituted regular parmesan cheese and reduced fat margarine for the butter flakes. I also added some fresh steamed broccoli and some chicken breast I sauteed with olive oil, fresh garlic and red pepper flakes. t turned out great. While the sauce was warming up it was really thin, but once I added the pasta, chicken, broccoli and extra cheese it thickened up nicely. Will definitely be making this again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pizza&Beer January 08, 2013

i wish you had more unrated recipes so i could write a first! i am always looking for good low fat recipes for my father and this is awesome! had fresh chives so i used those in place of green onion (twice as much for preference) but followed the rest. very creamy and delicious

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindsay! July 20, 2009

Considering how much lower in fat this is, I was impressed with the taste and creamy texture. I did have to use regular parmesan cheese because I couldn't find nonfat. I just added some garlic powder for some extra flavor. My sauce really didn't thicken, so I just mixed some cornstarch into some cold kim milk and stirred it into the sauce. Then it thickened very nicely and tasted like it was loaded with fat! Thanx for sharing. I will make this again (with my little additions).

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* October 15, 2007

This got the approval from my alfredo loving son. He said it was " as good" as the restaurant he usually orders it from. I didn't use low fat parmesan and did the trick suggested with cornstarch and milk. Next time I may wait and see of the sauce thickens on its own. I also added some grilled and sliced chicken and mixed it into the pasta and sauce. Thanks for the EASY recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Frenny April 26, 2008

A well deserved 5 star rating, I made this today and of course put it on my Spagetti Squash (How to Cook Spaghetti Squash) with shrimp and snow peas and it was very low fat and delish! Thank you for the recipe and the rating of my recipe. I look foward to making more of your recipes.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnney September 20, 2004

I have to say I am impressed, that this can be made lowfat and still taste SO close to the full fat version!!! I cooked according to directions, at first it seemed very thin, but as it cooled, it thickened. I added some garlic powder and sundried tomatoes to the sauce. It was a bit grainy in texture from all the parmesean, I think next time I will try fresh parm instead. Great recipe and I will make it again before buying a jar of the 18g of fat per serving kind!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clorissasue April 20, 2006

Merlot,I had to give this a try,it is hard to believe that anything so low fat can be so good,but this is great!I did add a can of shrimp to it as my grandaughter Kelli was here and she loves seafood fettuchinni,and I do to.She really liked this recipe too.Thanks so much,Darlene

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers April 25, 2004

Non-fat cheese is not cheese. Use real Parm. 2 g of fat won't kill you and it will taste so much better. If 2 g will kill you, you shouldn't be looking for recipes like this in the first place. With real cheese, it's a solid 4 star.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi 13 January 14, 2013
Low-Fat Alfredo Sauce