Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low-Fat Alfredo Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low-Fat Alfredo Sauce

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2002

      This is an exellent recipe! Keep on posting Merlot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      I think Rachel007 may have mistakenly used sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk - this is a huge difference. Many products labeled "condensed milk" (in the US, at least) are actually SWEETENED condensed milk - they have a lot of sugar added to them and are meant to be used in desserts. I cannot see this recipe having a "sickly sweet flavor" from evaporated milk. I think this recipe may have been a victim of "wrong ingredient syndrome" :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      i wish you had more unrated recipes so i could write a first! i am always looking for good low fat recipes for my father and this is awesome! had fresh chives so i used those in place of green onion (twice as much for preference) but followed the rest. very creamy and delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      It was really tasty, I substituted regular parmesan cheese and reduced fat margarine for the butter flakes. I also added some fresh steamed broccoli and some chicken breast I sauteed with olive oil, fresh garlic and red pepper flakes. t turned out great. While the sauce was warming up it was really thin, but once I added the pasta, chicken, broccoli and extra cheese it thickened up nicely. Will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      This got the approval from my alfredo loving son. He said it was " as good" as the restaurant he usually orders it from. I didn't use low fat parmesan and did the trick suggested with cornstarch and milk. Next time I may wait and see of the sauce thickens on its own. I also added some grilled and sliced chicken and mixed it into the pasta and sauce. Thanks for the EASY recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      Considering how much lower in fat this is, I was impressed with the taste and creamy texture. I did have to use regular parmesan cheese because I couldn't find nonfat. I just added some garlic powder for some extra flavor. My sauce really didn't thicken, so I just mixed some cornstarch into some cold kim milk and stirred it into the sauce. Then it thickened very nicely and tasted like it was loaded with fat! Thanx for sharing. I will make this again (with my little additions).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2004

      A well deserved 5 star rating, I made this today and of course put it on my Spagetti Squash (How to Cook Spaghetti Squash) with shrimp and snow peas and it was very low fat and delish! Thank you for the recipe and the rating of my recipe. I look foward to making more of your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      I have to say I am impressed, that this can be made lowfat and still taste SO close to the full fat version!!! I cooked according to directions, at first it seemed very thin, but as it cooled, it thickened. I added some garlic powder and sundried tomatoes to the sauce. It was a bit grainy in texture from all the parmesean, I think next time I will try fresh parm instead. Great recipe and I will make it again before buying a jar of the 18g of fat per serving kind!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2004

      Merlot,I had to give this a try,it is hard to believe that anything so low fat can be so good,but this is great!I did add a can of shrimp to it as my grandaughter Kelli was here and she loves seafood fettuchinni,and I do to.She really liked this recipe too.Thanks so much,Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      Non-fat cheese is not cheese. Use real Parm. 2 g of fat won't kill you and it will taste so much better. If 2 g will kill you, you shouldn't be looking for recipes like this in the first place. With real cheese, it's a solid 4 star.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This recipe was extremely disappointing. The consistency was too runny, and there wasn't any flavor. I added 2 cloves garlic, all of the parmesan cheese, seasoned chicken breasts, and the green onions, but it was still bland. I even added just a little flour in hopes to thicken it, but it still was very runny. I did have the evaporated milk, and not the condensed milk as was suggested could be a problem to others. I am glad that others had a better result, but will not be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      I'm sorry, but this was just awful. I had to add corn starch to make it thicken, but that was ok. But when I tasted it...man! It had a sickly sweet flavor from the evaporated milk. I tried putting in different stuff to make it taste better--garlic, black pepper, salt, butter--but nothing helped the just-too-sweet flavor. Finally I threw it away and ate a bowl of cereal instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      I'm not sure where I might have gone wrong, but this was very soupy. I suppose it could have been that I used "I can't believe it's not butter" spray instead of butter sprinkles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low-Fat Alfredo Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (93 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 69.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    59%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 3.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 99.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    nonfat parmesan cheese

    butter-flavored sprinkles

    nonfat parmesan cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites