36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I grew up with White Castles, but now live where we don't have them. I LOVE the taste of this. I have decided to tweak the recipe a bit. I mix everything together raw, like you would a meatloaf. Then I bake it in either 2 mini loaf pans or muffin tins. I bake them until browned (about 45 minute loaf pans, 30 minutes muffin pan). With the mini loaf pans, when you cut them, it almost looks like the square burgers. With the muffin pan, you just flip them out of the pan and they are ready to have as individual servings--very handy for freezing and when only mom is doing the low-carb thing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OK Kat May 02, 2009

This was really good. I used turkey instead of beef, I served it with low sugar ketchup and mustard and a green salad. Thanks for this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kujhawks66106_13146421 February 20, 2013

It really did take like white castle, but not as greasy. I didn't need to add salt to the meat. I think I'll have to try freezing next time. My only suggestion is that I think it should serve 6-8 instead of 4. That cuts the calorie count down considerably and my family was plenty happy with that size serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sccuddlers January 14, 2013

When I read this recipe, I was doubtful. It sounds disgusting. It even looks pretty gross. I don't know how the topping works, but it tastes just like a Krystal, bun included. I froze mine in individual portions so I could have it whenever the craving strikes. I seriously want to kiss Mercy for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen2941 January 04, 2013

This turned out beautifully and was so easy. I didn't add any salt and pepper, and with the toppings it was fine. I would definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch January 09, 2010

This was AWESOME!!!! My entire family loves this, including 5 little picky eaters and teenagers. They loved it with all the condiments on top. My family requests this all the time. Trust me, if this tasted like an egg casserole, none of them would touch it. This is a tasty, filling dish that no one would realize is low carb! Thank you for submitting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denisemichele April 14, 2009

I found this recipe searching for things low carb, so I decided to maker it for dinner tonite. I have large family, so I tripled the recipe. I only used 1/2 the onion soup mix and at that it had enough salt. It was very rich and very filling, so excellent for a houseful of boys. It thought it was good, easy to make, great with a side green salad and a nice thing to have when certain people are low carbing and you can feed the whole family and keep everyone happy. I didn't give it all 5 stars only because I think the salt content could be cut...otherwise a nice & different casserole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fivekidmom October 09, 2014

I am rating this recipe by my hubby's reaction. I made this the other night, I took the advise by other reviewers, and used 1/2 of the onion mix and followed the recipe as written. I baked it in my 9in. pyrex pie dish for 30 mins, let in sit for afew mins. chopped the pickles & mixed them with the mustard then spread it on top of the burger. I took 1 small bite and it did remind me of White Castle I served my honey 2 slices. I went to retrieve some from the fridge for my lunch the next morning couldn't find it. The empy pie plate was in the sink, and a voice from behind said " that was great stuff babe". So I will make this again and will double the recipe. I will rate it from my perspective.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cita705_12754854 January 18, 2014

This recipe is delicious...if you like Krystals, that is! I made this tonight and my husband, who LOVES Krystal burgers, said that he couldn't believe how much this tasted like a Krystals burger. SCORE! This recipe is a keeper, thanks for sharing it ;).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amjharwood November 15, 2013

Made this for dinner today. I used penzey spice ranch flavoring instead of onion soup mix, I used ground flax meal in place of eggs. My husband really liked it. I thought it was ok if you had pickles and mustard in every bite. My total carb count was 10 for the entire recipe. I also added 2 green chopped onions to the burger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Posiespocketbook April 10, 2013
Low Carb White Castle Casserole