Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Carb White Castle Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Carb White Castle Casserole

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2009

      I grew up with White Castles, but now live where we don't have them. I LOVE the taste of this. I have decided to tweak the recipe a bit. I mix everything together raw, like you would a meatloaf. Then I bake it in either 2 mini loaf pans or muffin tins. I bake them until browned (about 45 minute loaf pans, 30 minutes muffin pan). With the mini loaf pans, when you cut them, it almost looks like the square burgers. With the muffin pan, you just flip them out of the pan and they are ready to have as individual servings--very handy for freezing and when only mom is doing the low-carb thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      This was really good. I used turkey instead of beef, I served it with low sugar ketchup and mustard and a green salad. Thanks for this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      It really did take like white castle, but not as greasy. I didn't need to add salt to the meat. I think I'll have to try freezing next time. My only suggestion is that I think it should serve 6-8 instead of 4. That cuts the calorie count down considerably and my family was plenty happy with that size serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      When I read this recipe, I was doubtful. It sounds disgusting. It even looks pretty gross. I don't know how the topping works, but it tastes just like a Krystal, bun included. I froze mine in individual portions so I could have it whenever the craving strikes. I seriously want to kiss Mercy for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      This turned out beautifully and was so easy. I didn't add any salt and pepper, and with the toppings it was fine. I would definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This was AWESOME!!!! My entire family loves this, including 5 little picky eaters and teenagers. They loved it with all the condiments on top. My family requests this all the time. Trust me, if this tasted like an egg casserole, none of them would touch it. This is a tasty, filling dish that no one would realize is low carb! Thank you for submitting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2014

      I found this recipe searching for things low carb, so I decided to maker it for dinner tonite. I have large family, so I tripled the recipe. I only used 1/2 the onion soup mix and at that it had enough salt. It was very rich and very filling, so excellent for a houseful of boys. It thought it was good, easy to make, great with a side green salad and a nice thing to have when certain people are low carbing and you can feed the whole family and keep everyone happy. I didn't give it all 5 stars only because I think the salt content could be cut...otherwise a nice & different casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      I am rating this recipe by my hubby's reaction. I made this the other night, I took the advise by other reviewers, and used 1/2 of the onion mix and followed the recipe as written. I baked it in my 9in. pyrex pie dish for 30 mins, let in sit for afew mins. chopped the pickles & mixed them with the mustard then spread it on top of the burger. I took 1 small bite and it did remind me of White Castle I served my honey 2 slices. I went to retrieve some from the fridge for my lunch the next morning couldn't find it. The empy pie plate was in the sink, and a voice from behind said " that was great stuff babe". So I will make this again and will double the recipe. I will rate it from my perspective.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      This recipe is delicious...if you like Krystals, that is! I made this tonight and my husband, who LOVES Krystal burgers, said that he couldn't believe how much this tasted like a Krystals burger. SCORE! This recipe is a keeper, thanks for sharing it ;).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      Made this for dinner today. I used penzey spice ranch flavoring instead of onion soup mix, I used ground flax meal in place of eggs. My husband really liked it. I thought it was ok if you had pickles and mustard in every bite. My total carb count was 10 for the entire recipe. I also added 2 green chopped onions to the burger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      I don't know what a White Castle tastes like, but I know that I really like this dish! I followed the advice of others and added no salt to the meat or the topping. Since we are not completely eliminating carbs, and fearful of all the "appearance" comments...I sprinkled the topping with a small amount of panko which browned nicely and improved the look of the dish. I'm thinking that I could add some veggies and this would make a nice low carb Shepherd's Pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      What a great casserole. I'm not sure this tasted like White Castle, but it was really close and really good. I'm going to try to cut some fat out next time, since I went the opposite way last night. I had to change a couple of things, as I was lower on cheddar than I thought. I added shredded pepper jack to make up the difference, then figured since I was changing it up, may as well go all out, so I topped the meat with some bacon crumbles before pouring the liquid on top. Looked terrible, but tasted great. I'd suggest chopping the pickles a bit to top so each bite has some pickle taste to it. Will definitely make again, subbing some lower fat cheeses, maybe some ground turkey, etc... Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      After so many good reviews, I don't know what I did wrong. It was very blah and somewhat grainy - I don't know why. I won't be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      mmmmm...i made this as directed but per other reviews about salt content,I only used about 1/2 of an onion soup packet. I also added some raw diced onions to the meat before I cooked it. I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream, and when the casserole was ready to serve there was some liquid pooled on top..not sure if the two were related but I drained it and it was fine. I've never had a burger from White Castle, but we do have Krystal, which I'm told is similar, and this tasted pretty darn close to one of their burgers. We topped it with mustard, onion, and pickles. It was a tasty, low carb meal, and one we'll definitely add to our menu. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      This is AWESOME!!! Yum :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      WAY too salty!! Holy cow I'm going to be drinking gallons of water tonight. I wonder if they make a low sodium onion soup mix. The recipe was easy enough to put together, but I can't really tell you how it tasted because all I tasted was salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      This was delicious! The only difference in mine was that I mixed all the cheese with the meat! I love it, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      I'm not a "low-carber" but I still thought this was a delicious and fun recipe. I made this as written, adding some fresh chopped onions and I did serve garnished with the mustard and pickle slices as suggested. Two of my sons put ketchup over theirs. It doesn't taste exactly like a WC cheeseburger.... it's better than those mealy things. Thanx for sharing this fun recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      We loved it! We were skeptical at first but the flavor came through and was fun to eat. I will make this recipe again for sure! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      This was SO easy and so yummy. I am doing low carb and this really hit the spot. I will be making this again. And it DOES taste just like you are having a White Castle burger! The pickle really puts it over the top! Thanks for the recipe Mercy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Carb White Castle Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 695.1
     
    Calories from Fat 481
    69%
    Total Fat 53.5 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 24.2 g
    121%
    Cholesterol 257.7 mg
    85%
    Sodium 1246.7 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 39.4 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes