Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Carb Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Carb Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2013

      Absolutely delicious! I am in the transition from vegetarian to a ketogenic diet, and this was a great way to start off. Great flavor, the meat wasn't dry at all. Two suggestions- Don't add the extra seasoning salt. I didn't, and it tasted just salty enough with the other seasonings. Also, cut the bell peppers in half, and stuff the halves instead of a big pepper. It makes the bell pepper easier to eat, and if you're not as hungry you can have a smaller meal. Overall, a great low-carb meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Made this the other day to use many leftover ingredients I had on hand. It had a really great flavor! I made a couple of small adjustments to the recipe to use what I had. I used Fri Diablo pasta sauce instead of pizza sauce, and added a little bit of Pomi strained tomato to the mixture before filling the peppers as I like things a little more saucy. The green peppers seemed a little to firm for me when cooked as instructed - next time I will precook them a little in the microwave to soften before filling. None the less - still a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      My husband said these were the best peppers he ever ate, and we have had many through the years. First of all, I did not use 4 peppers since there are only 2 of us. I had some huge ones in my garden, so split 2 of them. Used grass fed ground beef, and instead of pizza sauce, used tomato sauce (small can) in which I made homemade pizza sauce (basil, garlic powder, salt, and pepper). This is what I added to the top of the peppers. Then topped with mixture of cheddar/mozarella, pre shredded. Spices I kept as specified. Also baked for much longer than specified, about 45 minutes to an hour, which I think helped to meld the flavors. They were perfect, and the peppers were still firm and not soggy. Served with low carb mashed potatoes as DH is diabetic. Definitely will be making again! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2014

      This felt super decadent, but knowing it was pretty healthy made it extra enjoyable! The little bit of cheese on top was perfect, just enough to make these seem naughty! I loved all the flavours with the chicken and baked peppers are just the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      My Husband and I enjoyed this meal very much. I did change a few things. I substituted hamburger instead of the turkey. I also used spaghetti sauce instead of pizza sauce. In addition to the tablespoon of sauce used on each pepper in the recipe, I also mixed in about 1/4 cup in the meat mixture. Next time I would soften the bell peppers a bit more. But, overall a great low carb alternative to the traditional stuffed bell pepper recipe. A bit of light sour cream on the side was good too:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

    • on July 09, 2013

      We loved this! The only changes i made was to use 1/2lb each italian sausage, minced jalapeno and omitted the pizza sauce entirely. It was so delish my 8 year old ate it all up and asked for seconds! Thanks for a great dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      This was delicious! I only had yellow peppers but I'm glad I did - they added a sweet taste to the dish. I didn't have any diced tomatoes in a can so I used fresh tomatoes and added some tomato sauce to the meat mixture before stuffing the peppers. I also used additional tomato sauce on the top before the cheddar and mozzarella cheese. I will definitely make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      I made this with ground sirloin but since the seasonings are so delicious, anything would taste awesome with it! You don't even need to measure anything exactly. I did the same thing as the other poster and used a can of diced with green chiles. It did not really make it spicy, just a bit more flavorful perhaps. My boyfriend ate his over rice but since I'm low carb, I ate it as is. This is great even if you don't feel like stuffing a green pepper and using the oven. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      Five star recipe all the way! I made two batches. One was as directed above and then I mixed it up a bit to make it spicier. In the spicier mix I swapped out the ingredients per the recipe for petite diced tomatoes with chiles and topped it with pepper jack cheese. It gave the recipe a nice kick and tasted awesome. As I mentioned I also made the recipe as written and it was great too. I really loved both versions of the recipe. Thanks so much I haven't made a recipe off zaar (food.com) in a while that I have liked this much. If you are contemplating trying it go for it. It is worth it.

      A few notes to add. As soon as I cooked up the beef mixture I took a taste and thought it was too salty. After cooking it in the peppers I thought it was perfect. Also, the prep time is a bit understated. It took me over 45 minutes to put the dish together. Now I did double the recipe but it shouldn't effect prep time that much. Still it was well worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      This was DELICIOUS!
      It tasted like pizza =D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Absolutely delicious guilt free low carb meal. Thanks for sharing this. I will definitely be making this again many times to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      Very, very good. Will add to our meal rotation. I used the canned tomatoes with basil, oregano & garlic. Served with brown rice, salad, and passed extra marinara sauce at the table. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Excellent recipe. Only thing i changed was using ground beef instead of turkey. I also used tomato sauce instead of pizza sauce and just sprinkled a little garlic salt on there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Wow! This is really good! The only change Imade was to use hot pepper jack cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Carb Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.7
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    49%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 90.6 mg
    30%
    Sodium 185.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 27.8 g
    55%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes