15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This really satisfies my craving for something sweet. I did make some whipped cream with vanilla and a little splenda for some pretend icecream. I also tried it with diet orange soda, it was great too. So many variations are possible with this. I look forward to trying more.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eway03 February 26, 2008

This was even better than the real thing in my opinion! I whipped the cream until it was really thick with my mixer and just used a big dollop in a tall glass of cold diet A&W .. what a treat! It really helped me with my dessert craving! Thanks for posting this, next time I am going to try the same with diet orange soda.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Doeinck June 14, 2007

This was surprisingly good. It had the exact flavor of a root beer float. Very satisfying.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy C 480 September 29, 2009

Thank you! Both the rootbeer and Dreamsicle (diet orange soda) options are wonderful! I feel like I'm cheating...but no guilt! It's a lot like an Italian Cream Soda without the sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mattiehunter March 23, 2007

This was delicious! I used Diet Cream Soda, but will try with diet root beer and orange soda next time. I did'nt mind the thickness of the cream, will definatly make this all the time now!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie A September 18, 2005

This is definitely a great treat, especially for summertime. I really wanted that ice cream root beer float, so I gave it some thought. I whipped some cream w a little Splenda and vanilla, then put mounds on a foil covered plate and put them in the freezer. Once firm, I added to glass of root beer. It made great foam and had that nice firm cream floating around to scoop out with a spoon. So hard to believe it's low carb, and even great for a treat during induction. YUMMY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ismy Echo June 02, 2005

This is called a "Farmers Soda" in Indiana and it is delicious. If it leaves a film in your mouth, try using light whipping instead of heavy cream. Heavy cream has more fat than the light one therefor, less coating on your pallet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThinOne May 16, 2005

This is an excellent treat! Also try it with diet orange or tangerine soda for a dreamsicle float! Mmmmmm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mercy November 24, 2004

I'm on a low carb diet and LOVE this. Make it all the time! Thanks for posting! This is such a great and easy low carb diet drink. Try it with diet Cherry 7-Up too! Actually any diet soda is good with heavy cream in it:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 August 24, 2003

I love this low carb root beer float. It's even better with a dollop of extra creamy cool whip topping and it's still low carb.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 21, 2015
Low Carb Root Beer Float