8 Reviews

Since becoming very low carb conscious, this recipe is by far my favorite. It is so simple to make and is absolutely delicious. I used Boars Head corned beef (only downside is it is a bit pricey, around $12.50/lb). Since I am good to have fat, but not sugar, I altered the topping sauce with Walden Farms Sugar Free thousand island, Hellman's and Dill Relish. I made this last week and already bought supplies to make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tesa June 03, 2015

This was a huge success in my house. My husband, like some others mentioned hear raved about it and said, "We'll be having that again!" Thanks for a great low carb recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianM May 21, 2015

Made it today, just 1/2 recipe. I used 8 oz deli corned beef, 1/2 can of sauerkraut (totally drained), topped it with 4 Tbsp Thousand Island dressing (Walden Farms, 0 carb), then about 3 oz. of cheese. We ate it on homemade, almost 0 carb bread, which I grilled in butter. We didn't make the topping, but had extra Thousand Island dressing on the side. Felt like we weren't on a diet. Wonderful, quick meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brig's cooking July 31, 2013

I made this using left over corned beef roast from st. Pattys day. I made it in a 8 x 8 pan. Turned out great. Husband really liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Posiespocketbook March 29, 2013

I'm afraid we've created a monster. I made this and my husband said: "This is so good. I could seriously eat this every week. Can we have this again next week?" We've had it the last three weeks, I'm pretty sure. It's so good - and so simple! Thank you, thank you, thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan at Food.com November 11, 2011

This was crazy good! My husband loves Rueben's and he asked when could I make that again :). I did make just half it's just him and I so it was enough for tonight and leftovers for us one evening. YUM!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Citydwellers June 10, 2011

I cut this in half and did not use the topping. Instead I layered the corned beef, then the sauerkraut. Sprinkled with caraway seeds (thanks to other review) and topped with thousand island dressing, sprinkled with brown sugar, then the topped with the cheese. Baked and served DH's on toasted, buttered hamburger rolls and mine on a plate. In my opinion the brown sugar is not needed at all. DH got two sandwiches, I had a portion about the size of a deck of cards with another deck-size portion left over for lunch tmrw. We were quite happy with this but I will for sure leave out the brown sugar next time. Great idea for a quick St. Patty's dinner on a busy work night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA March 17, 2011

This was really good. I added a little caraway seeds on top of the sauerkraut to give it a "rye bread taste". But other than that I kept it the same. I found that it became watery as it baked so I had to drain the pan, but it didn't take away from the flavor. Excellent low carb recipe!! Thanks Jovigirl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princesslisa of a galaxy far far away January 27, 2006
Low-carb Reuben Casserole