Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Carb Pumpkin Sausage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Carb Pumpkin Sausage Soup

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-55 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2007

      I don't know what Jimmy Dean is and have never seen canned pumpkin! So I used two very spicy sausages taken out of their casings and mashed pumpkin and left out the mushrooms. Was out of Italian seasoning so used some oregano, basil and a lot of coarse black pepper and thickened the soup with cornflour - it was spicy, peppery and hearty, just the way we like it! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      Pretty good! I used fresh pumpkin and italian mushrooms. Reading the reviews, it looks like a lot of people added seasonsings or used hot sausage - which might give this soup some extra kick. I will make it again with hot sausage. Overall, this was a good wintery soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      Tried this soup tonight, wonderful!! My kids were eating it right out of the pot. I did make it with fresh pumpkin and had to omit the mushrooms (didn't have them) but i will add them next time. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      This soup is so easy yet so good!! I used leftover beef instead of sausage, 1% milk instead of cream (both of which helped cut out a lot of the calories) and skipped the onions and the Italian seasoning (didn't have either) and it was still great. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg as well as lots of shredded mozzarella on top, which really helped *make* this soup! The cheese made it tastier and the soup was fun to eat with gooey strings of cheese. Yum! Definitely making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      Just about everybody loves this soup! OK...Some of the pickiest ones I know at least tried it!! I have made a few more adjustments since my last posting. I love to make this recipe with JD hot sausage. I also add Portabella mushrooms and leeks for even more beneficial veggies. I tried with chunks of red potato, but the starch not only adds carbs but takes away some of the fresh pumpkinny taste. You will notice if you use half and half the soup is noticeable thinner. I love cream to make the ultimate soup-thick and satisfying. One bowl will do-ya!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      I thought it was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      Wonderful recipe! Very easy and very tasty...low-carb eaters or not, you have to try this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      I am not a big fan of spicy, but I really enjoy the combination of the hot sausage and the cream. The flavors balance each other. This is a definate favorite

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      This is not at all what I expected, but I loved it. I used italian sausage and subbed milk for the cream. I thoroughly enjoyed every bite. It will become a regular part of my low carb diet, thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      WOW - what an incredible soup - I used hot sausage and just a dash of hot sauce - absolutely amazing and freezes very well. Even my "eww low carb again" kids LOVED it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      I have been hearing about how fabulous this soup is for months (in my low carb circle) I finally made it today and it is excellent! I also used Jimmy Dean's hot sausage. Definite keeper, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2006

      I was pleasantly surprised by the flavor of this soup. I too used hot sausage. I omitted the mushrooms (don't really care for them) and used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream. Thanks for sharing - it's hard to find low carb soups

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      I guess I have to rate this one high because my husband really liked this one. He claimed the leftovers for himself and he has only done that with 2 other dishes. So this one is definitely a keeper. Very simple to make as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2005

      This is really good, I've made it several times. I always use 1 cup of carb countdown milk instead of the cream and water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      Would like to add to my review of this that I use the Jimmy Dean "hot" sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Carb Pumpkin Sausage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (355 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 346.0
     
    Calories from Fat 260
    75%
    Total Fat 28.9 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 12.2 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 67.4 mg
    22%
    Sodium 964.2 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites