Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Carb Pumpkin Sausage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Carb Pumpkin Sausage Soup

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2010

      Made this last night with a few changes and everyone loved it. It is very thick and rich even without the cream, maybe because I added 1/3 of a can of coconut milk I had leftover from another recipe and my chicken stock was homemade and I didn't de-fat it very well. I used hot Italian sausage and added a few Tbsps of pesto because I was out of the Italian seasoning. I also added some hot pepper flakes and about 3 cups of shredded kale. Very forgiving soup - it lets you adjust things as you like. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      This goes straight into my Best of the Best Cookbook! I used hot Italian sausage, home made chicken broth, and a can of 2% evaporated milk instead of cream. Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      VERY GOOD! Quite Spicy the way I made it but we love spicy.

      - didn't add the mushrooms
      - didn't have Italian Seasoning so made my own using the recipe http://www.food.com/recipe/italian-seasoning-82770
      (minus the parsley as didn't have it).
      - We don't have Jimmy Dean here. Used hot Italian sausage links and just took the casings off and cooked it crumbled.
      - deglazed the pot with a little bit of water.
      - added extra onion....about 3/4 cup total
      - used 1 cup half and half instead of the cream and water
      - added just under 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
      - added about 1/4 tsp of nutmeg to it and may try a bit more next time for more nutmeg flavour.
      - didn't add any salt and pepper. Forgot about it actually until we were 1/2 way through but it didn't need it.

      This has become our favourite soup and will definitely be making it again...and again! Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      This Soup was amazing! The only change I made was to chop some bacon and sweat the onions in that before adding it to the sausage. I also added a little cayenne pepper to my bowl of soup. (I like things to have a little kick) This really added another element to an already great soup, and it's low-carb to boot!!! Wife loved the soup as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      Absolutely fantastic! I was pretty nervous about making this soup b/c I'm not a huge fan of pumpkin. It isn't overly pumpkin-y though. Everyone that had it at my dinner party wanted the recipe before we even started the next course! It has a great flavour and re-heated great the next day. I Cooked the sausage/onion/garlic/mushrooms the night before to save myself some prep time (was making 5 courses for the party). It was super easy and tasted great. No other changes to the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      Very good soup! We really enjoyed it and it seems pretty flexible for personal preferences. I made a couple of modifications for what I had on hand. I used 6 oz of Jimmy Dean Habanero flavored sausage. I didn't have Italian seasoning, so I added oregano, basil, a tiny pinch of sage and rosemary. The mushrooms I had were baby Bellas and I used about 4 cups! Because we'd rather skip the cream, we did not use it. I can see where it would improve this even further, and I would do that for company. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      This should be one of the recipes of the year! It is one of our family's favorites. I love to make for after skiing dinner! We always use spicy italian sausage instead of the jimmy dean and only add the cream sometimes. It is rich and thick without it!

      Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      delicious!! wasn't sure if my dieting husband would care for this but he loved it as did my teenage sons. added frozen corn instead of mushrooms, half and half instead of cream and water. would definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      WOW!!! This soup is phenomenal! Excellent for low carbers and an added bonus-pumpkin is one of the top 10 Superfoods. My very "country" husband was shocked: He was only going to "taste it"...2 bowls later he was full and happy. I was not expecting it to be as good as it was. This soup hits the spot even for breakfast. It is hard to find something satisfying for breakfast when you seek a low carb life style. I will make this again and again. I did use hot sausage and 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream(I accidently grabbed whipping cream at the store:)I didnt add the water because the 1/2 and 1/2 seemed runny enough. Oh and on some servings we grated mozzarella over the top. Pure Yumminess!! Dont be scared!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Holy cow! I made this soup for dinner last night, and all I could think about this morning was getting to lunchtime so I could snag the leftovers. So easy to make, and such a great meal for winter hibernation. To cut down the fat without giving up the cream (use the cream, it makes all the difference!) I added chicken sausage instead of pork. Al Fresco brand sweet apple and maple chicken sausage complimented the pumpkin nicely. I also added a dash of chili garlic sauce (sriracha) for a little heat. I can't wait until I have company over so I can play gourmet hostess with this soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2014

      This is the best pumpkin soup! My family loves it. It is a Halloween and Thanksgiving tradition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2014

      I was surprised at how good this was! I did make some changes--didn't add mushrooms, Italian sausage instead of Jimmy Dean, used about a teaspoon of the Italian herbs, added some nutmeg and used evaporated milk instead of cream. (Sounds like a lot of changes but the soul of the recipe was there)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2014

      Made this with minor variations and fresh roasted pumpkin. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      Followed the recipe to the letter and it was delicious. My husband said it was the best soup he has ever eaten and wants me to make it again (it's only been 3 days!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      Wow!!! This is so good! My daughter wouldn't eat it because she saw me put the can of pumpkin in it. She said, ' I am not eating pie soup!" Ugh! Nine year olds. At first my husband said it was okay and then he said it was really good. Very rich! I put 3 gloves of garlic and put 1/2 a cup of extra water. Took some to my neighbor and she loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      This soup was FANTASTIC! I saw some notes about the italian seasoning being too strong so I left it out and we also so left out the mushrooms. I cooked a fresh sugar pumpkin and pureed with a little chicken broth and used that instead of the canned. My oh my... this was amazing. I'm going to make it in a huge batch and freeze it to take out on cold winter days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      This was pretty good. I don't recommmend using all that italian seasoning! I used about half and it was still too strong. Other than that it was a great soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      This recipe was a huge hit and made the whole house smell wonderful while it was cooking! It's hearty and filling but isn't too heavy. We weren't sure at first about mixing pumpkin and sausage but this will be a new staple in our fall/winter cooking. I used our favorite spicy pork sausage but I think we'll also try chicken or turkey sausage next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      This recipe had a lot of good flavors, and I like the creaminess of the soup. Like many others, I used hot pork sausage. However, I thought the Italian seasoning was overwhelming, and I will use probably only a teaspoon the next time. I also added some sea salt and some McCormick fiery 5 pepper to the soup to give it more flavor. My mushrooms had gone bad, so I left out the mushrooms, and I like a thicker soup so I added only the heavy cream and no water. It turned out a perfect thickness for my tastes. Overall, a very warming, comforting soup. I would just recommend slightly less Italian seasoning since it's such a strong flavor. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      Great recipe! I did add 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I doubled the pumpkin but only used 12 oz sausage. I used 6 cups of broth, 4 cups chicken 2 cups beef, and used coconut milk instead of cream and didn't add any water. I also added 1/2 tsp sage. So fabulous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Carb Pumpkin Sausage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (355 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 346.0
     
    Calories from Fat 260
    75%
    Total Fat 28.9 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 12.2 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 67.4 mg
    22%
    Sodium 964.2 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes