180 Reviews

This is AWESOME! I have made it about 4 times now, but last night's was the best yet. I did make a bunch of alterations to find the perfect version and here it is. First, I added oregano, minced garlic, chives & red pepper flakes to the egg mixture to give it some more flavor. Next, after I spread the mozzerella cheese onto the bottom of the pan, I stuck that in the oven for about 5 minutes. By doing this, I found that at the end of everything, the bottom came out to be a PERFECT crust!!! Next, I used Contadina marinara sauce (very low in sugar and carbs) and added plenty of oregano, garlic powder, minced garlic, red pepper flakes, and parsley, and let it simmer for the entire time that the pizza was cooking. This is the absolute essential step - use a large round pan!! I've done it all different ways, and by spreading the "dough" out on such a large surface, it was the perfect texture and had a great crunch to it, just like real pizza! To the top, I added mozzerella cheese and made half of the pizza with peppers and onions, and the other half with bacon bits. My hubby LOVED it - and he's a true skeptic of low carb "mock" dishes!!

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toucansam418 April 14, 2008

This is a great recipe! I made mine into a white pizza, followed the directions for the crust, then sprinkled 1 cup of feta, some chopped spinach, and topped with a little extra mozzarella. I also added some grilled chicken breast. It was yummy from bottom to top :)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gracie D. May 04, 2010

If you read no other review, read this one. I'm writing this after a long week and, really, all I wanted was an adult beverage and pizza. I'm going to bed happy; before I do, however, I'm writing my first online recipe review, ever. The pizza was that good. You need to know 3 things:<br/><br/>1. This recipe is amazing; trust the reviews. I'm not a great cook and the final product turned out better than I anticipated. Quite frankly, low carb or not, this was one of the best pizzas that I've ever had (and I'm a foodie!). I made a primal guttural sound when I took my first bite.<br/><br/>2. The "dough" will be soupy before you cook it. I was doubtful, but see above :)<br/><br/>3. Follow the advice of "Chef #464581": (1) add extra spices to the dough," including red pepper flakes, (2) put the "bottom-of-the-pan mozzarella" in the pan and place the pan in the oven for a few minutes before baking the egg/cream cheese/spice mixture on top of the cheese, (3) use a round pizza pan, it works wonders, and (4) spice up the tomato sauce!<br/><br/>I'm not kidding. DO IT!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RebelAthena March 16, 2013

I've been making this for awhile now and it's very good and easy to make. Think of it as a pizza quiche. The only things I do differently are to add 1 Tble. dried oregano(more pizza taste) and use a deep, round pyrex pie plate. It's also good for low carb eaters who don't want meat. I make it during lent on Thursday, remove meat on Friday and it microwaves great for my husband's lunch at work.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janis Eschbach March 09, 2004

This was fantastic, I tweaked a bit....here's what I did: First, after spraying PAM on a 16" pizza pan, I sprinkled about 4 T of Bob's Red Mill coarse ground corn meal before the Mozzarella. This makes more of a 'pizza hut' type crispy crust in the end. Then I added 2 T of soy flour and 2 T of golden flax meal (golden flax has a milder taste) and 1/2 tsp of xanthan gum (to bind so it wouldn't be crumbly). These elements added a 'crust' effect I felt was missing the first time I tried the recipe. I used a 16" pizza pan and put the cheese in for 5 minutes (before adding egg mixture) as previous reviewers have. To understand low carb baking, you must know that you have to replace gluten when cooking with low carb flours (flax, soy, almond, etc). You may do this by any number of methods, the lowest carb being eggs or xanthan gum. You need an extremely small amount of xanthan gum (1/4-1/2 tsp) to achieve this, or eggs, or a combination of the two. I used all the eggs called for in this recipe PLUS 1/4 tsp of xanthan gum with the additional flours. Next time I'm using almond flour and soy flour and I'll let y'all know how it goes! THANK YOU for this recipe!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mckick19 February 23, 2011

First, let me start off by saying that this is the low carb pizza recipe that best approximates actual pizza. I executed mine slightly different from the instructions and used tips from other reviewers. My tweaks resulted in a pizza that resembled a Sicilian or Pizza Hut pizza. I was pleasantly surprised by how delicious the pizza and crust were. Additionally, I was able to pick it up and eat it like normal pizza. The crust was nice and crisp on the bottom and sides, but had a softer, spongy texture on the inside. I used 3 eggs, 1/2 cup of grated Parmesan, and doubled the seasoning (I also included salt) for the crust. I used a smaller square pan, maybe 8x8, and cooked on parchment paper in a toaster oven. I baked the cheese separately for 5 min before I added the cheese mixture. I cooked the crust for about 40 min - until the top was browned and the inside was cooked through. I did have to puncture the top layer with a knife as it did rise during the baking process. Then let the crust cool down for a bit before I added my toppings. I cut the square pie into four slices and was full from one slice. I even refrigerated and reheated a slice the next day and I could not tell the difference between this pizza and a normal carb loaded slice. Next time, I will try the thin crust version but I am absolutely amazed at how closely this approximates real pizza. Mind you, this is coming from a person who ate pizza 2-3 times a week. I am extremely particular about the taste, consistency and texture of the pizza I eat, especially the crust. I've tried so many recipes - all of them failures. I most recently tried a similar recipe which included almond flour and was very disappointed in the grainy consistency of the crust. I can't thank you enough for sharing your recipe!!! The lack of pizza in my low carb/high fat diet left a huge void in my life. I also believe in keto sticks and this recipe keeps me comfortably in ketosis.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoneyLove May 13, 2015

I have made this many times, and it is fantastic. I have baked it in a jellyroll sized pan to make a really thin crust, it's best if you let it brown a bit before you put on the toppings. Love it with italian sausage, turkey pepperoni and lots of mozzarella and parm.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamonroller August 30, 2010

It's TRUE! This made my anti-lowcarb food hubby happy! I waited until he said he loved it to tell him what crust was. It took a little time to assemble but well worth it. Like others I plan on making this weekly and experiment! I tried Grace D's white pizza last night and added portable mushroom, spinach, yellow bell pepper slices, chopped artichoke hearts and black olive. OMG, so excited for leftovers tonight. I used a jelly roll pan (no rimmed round pizza pan yet)- and it worked fine. Did the recommended bake just the cheese first, then added egg mixture. I baked mine on convection at 350 for 23 minutes. The egg portion (before toppings) gets pretty browned but that is fine! the crust looked pretty realistic leaving an edge showing when I put toppings on. Thank you thank you to the developer of this! With the egg ingredients I may experiment with a breakfast pizza- sausage, etc!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susanmkc April 07, 2015

Honestly, this is the best gf/low-carb pizza I've ever tried, and I've tried a lot. My boyfriend liked it too. Although, I have to say, he's been a test rat for many of what I call my "experiments". The only thing I did differently is I added 4T protein powder to the egg mixture and cooked the whole thing on a smallish cookie sheet. It was awesome. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jojomr2 December 14, 2013

Made this last night...absolutely fabulous. I added pepperoni, fresh mushrooms and sausage crumbles. Pizza turned out great. Will definitely add this to my recipe box as a favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nelsonwd October 06, 2013
Low Carb Pizza