8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Simply one the of the best low-carb desserts I've ever made, and so easy! I modified it by putting the crust in the freezer for 10 minutes, then cooking it empty for 10 min at 400 before filling, and used 2 cups pecans instead of 1.5 cups... Not at all liquidy, and crust was nice and firm...

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vineyarder2 November 24, 2011

I made this pie using a regular pastry crust rather than the almond, so my rating is for the filling only which I found to be less sweet than a normal pecan pie, but very tasty none the less. I stock two kinds of sugar-free maple syrup...E.D. Smith which is sweetened with Splenda, and is suitable for baking, another which is sweetened with aspartame, and is not appropriate for baking...I used the former, and my filling was thick enough to slice neatly and easily. I wonder if the problem with a watery filling reported in a review may have been the result of the syrup choice, rather than the recipe, since mine turned out well.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo September 02, 2007

I made this for a guest on Atkins and both he and DH thought it tasted just like regular pecan pie. The only thing I'd do differently next time is maybe cook the crust first. It was a little too crumbly. I'll be making this again for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarefootandpregnantintheKitchen January 24, 2009

When calculating the net carbs, I counted half the carbs from sugar alcohols. I cut the pie into 8 pieces, not 6 as in the recipe. I also used Sweetzfree (0 carbs) instead of granular Splenda. With Sweetzfree, the pie has 60 net carbs (7.5 net carbs each at 8 servings). If you use granular Splenda, add 24 to make 84 net carbs (10.5 net carbs each at 8 servings). If you use a Splenda quickpack, add only 8 net carbs to make it 68 (8.5 net carbs each at 8 servings). I ate this for breakfast this morning.... I hope you enjoy it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neuro_naut February 05, 2007

Simply the BEST! Easy to make and very tasty

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyfulCook February 26, 2006

I made the recipe almost exactly as written, with two exceptions.....I first baked the crust empty and I used two cups of pecans. I loved it, however, my dinner guests did not. They were expecting this low carb version to taste exactly like the sickening sweet regular pecan pie recipe. Oh well, can't please everyone. Since I had a lot left over, I cut up the pie and froze the individual slices. I hope it freezes well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan29nj September 29, 2014

I made this as a diabetic dessert and it was surprisingly good. I reduced the Splenda by half because I find it's overly sweet and shortened the cooking time by 5 minutes because it looked done. I also took another commenter's suggestion and used 2 cups of pecans. This is definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vinca November 29, 2013

I made one-third of this recipe to test it out before the holidays (made it in a muffin pan). I followed the instructions exactly except I did not make the crust. My comments: This is pretty easy to make and the overall flavor is good. However, my final product was very soggy and runny-when I took it out of the pan, it sat in a pool of its own water. When I poked it with a fork, it crumbled into a soggy, crumbly, watery mess. The texture was not smooth as you would expect in a pecan pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin' from scratch November 11, 2006
Low Carb Pecan Pie