63 Reviews

Just made this with the following changes and additions: 3/4 cup splenda, instead of 1 cup, 2 eggs instead of 1 egg, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp baking powder, 2 tsp sugar free smuckers caramel sundae syrup (squeeze bottle), NATURAL peanut butter (ingredients are just peanuts and maybe salt...nothing else) and 2 tbsp flax seed. These turned out awesome. They really weren't as crumbly as I feared they would be, which is why I added the flax (not to mention the omega-3's and fiber you're getting from it). Slightly crumbly on the outside and chewy on the inside. Turned out AWESOME. I think i'm going to add maybe another tsp of caramel or drizzle some on top before baking to give it a different texture and flavor. I would flatten them out a bit before baking because they pretty much retain the same shape and size that they originally were in throughout the baking process. I would definitely make these again with my alterations. Haven't tried the original recipe and quite honestly, I can say that since egg and peanut butter both get crumbly when they are cooked in dry heat, which is why it is important to add an extra egg. The natural oils from the natural peanut butter and flax seed give it that chewiness it needs. I would strongly recommend not using commercial grade crap peanut butter like skippys or jif. Smucker's has a natural peanut butter out there too if natural peanut butter is hard to find.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
darkheart April 29, 2009

Yummy for sweet baked good cravings when you're not eating carbs. I substituted about 1/3 of the peanut butter with ricotta and they held together great and had a smoother texture. I also added 1/2 teaspoon baking powder.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csqared March 26, 2010

These are a tasty alternative for those on a low carb diet. That said, I have made them three times now and every time they are crumbly. They are still very tasty though! I have been thinking of making some more to crumble on purpose, and use as a crust of sorts for a low carb cheesecake. :) Thanks! ~Lana~

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Lana~ September 02, 2003

I used to make these with sugar for a friend with celiac. Now I made them for my diabetic husband who loved them. I used 3/4 cup splenda, made the cookies into balls, and flattened them with a fork before baking. They didn't crumble and came out great!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chasidar October 20, 2008

I've made these a few times. They are very good, but still too high in carbs for my diet plan. If you make them with unsweetened soy nut butter, the total carbs go from 12.5 grams to 2 grams.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan29nj September 19, 2012

First let me say that we have eliminated wheat from our diet and it has been difficult for me because I love baked goods. SO when I saw this recipe I got excited and read several reviews. I altered the recipe a little based on the reviews. I added and extra egg, used "whey low" sugar for diabetics this is the only sweetener I will because I hate the after taste of the rest, 1 tsp of cinnamon and 2/3 cups flaxseed meal. They are delicious!!!!!! Moist, and defiantly a recipe to keep and use again...Next time maybe I'll try sunflower or almond butter. Thanks P_Town Ruth for posting this one! :9

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jewel October 30, 2011

For someone actually on a true low carb diet..these cookies are awesome! I would be careful though as the carb count in these still add up especially since they are sooo tasty that you won't want to just have one! Yes, these are crumbly but for a cookie with no sugar and no flour...they are fantastic. I will take crumbly over no cookie at all any day. You probably could cut back on the splenda as it does seem like a lot. I might try some sugar free caramel like the one reviewer suggested...sounded great. Overall these are easy to make, inexpensive and very tasty. If you are not a low carber, you may not appreciate these as much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kylienkate September 15, 2009

I followed the recipe and had no problems. I must have made them a little smaller because I ended up with 22 cookies. I probably could have baked them in one shot because the cookies barely spread during baking. I didn't have any problems with the dough being too crumbly even though I used crunchy peanut butter. I took the cookies to work (my taste testers) . Everyone liked them and couldn't believe that they were sugarless and that there was no flour in them. Thank you for posting this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm May 19, 2009

If you're low carb dieting, and you're dying, this WILL save you :) These are special little treasures, that melt in your mouth. Yum Yum! Thank you for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dobermanmom August 02, 2008

okay I tweaked these a lil, I added half a cup of unsweetened cocount and instead of the vanilla I used Davinici SF caramel suryp, i also used chunky peanut butter, but i can honestly say...... best peanut butter cookie..... EVER!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aydensfolks January 26, 2008
Low Carb Peanut Butter Cookies