8 Reviews

To answer another reviewer's concern: the cocoa is the flour in this cake. Technically, flour is the powder yield from grinding any seed or grain or starchy root. I made this and the other quick low carb chocolate cake - I prefer this because it has a richer chocolate taste. What I did change was the followiong: the amount of baking powder - 1/4 tsp is all I found this needs and I use oil rather than butter. Also, I cook it until it just starts to rise over the edge of the mug - then it's still liquid in the very center and not as rubbery as a microwave-oven baked goodie can get.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
One Happy Woman November 18, 2009

Loved it! Just adjusted the Splenda to 5 packets, with 3 it was a bit bitter for me. Hubby loved it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rs1990 June 17, 2015

Awful tasting, sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ChiSox#1 February 23, 2014

Perfect for those "must have chocolate" cravings! The texture is a little spongy, but it is very yummy regardless! I topped mine with squirt of redi-whip (it just seemed like it needed something on top...haha) Next time I'm going to throw in a few semi-sweet chocolate chips before zapping it in the microwave for an extra-decadent melted-chocolate touch. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taximomuv3 April 17, 2013

Followed the recipe but subbing vegetable oil & 1/4 tsp baking powder per another reviewer and came out great!
A good fast fix for a chocolate craving on a low carb diet!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mawaite7815 July 24, 2011

I made it in my blender with stevia and 1/4 walnuts. Topped with whipped cream. Good for a low-carb dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Chef 27 June 24, 2010

i didn't have any cocoa, so i will get some and try it with it soon. what i did instead was subbed unsweetened baking chocolate for the 2 TBSP of cocoa. i grated it first and then finely ground it with my processor (but if you grate it with a smaller hole, you will get the same consistency). i didn't have vanilla so i subbed almond extract. it was good, but i bet the vanilla would make it better. did 5 tsp of splenda to equal the 5 drops of liquid. it was pretty good i must admit. i used one happy woman's recommendation of 1/4 tsp. baking powder and my cake still rose. the first time my cake was super super moist, so i added 1/4 cup of almond flour (finely ground in my processor) and it came out great! not rubbery, not too moist, and just the perfect texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christineallegra January 04, 2010

This recipe has no flour in it.. A flourless mini cake?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lotusland November 11, 2009
Low Carb-One Minute Chocolate Mini-Cake for One!